University of Hartford Libraries

Judaic Studies Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Book of Bible Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bbq]
English Language Quotations from the Bible.

Critical Terms for Religious Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/uchicagors]
Essays dealing with all aspects of religion.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003


Atlases

Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andatbib]
Geographical treatment of the Bible.


Biographies

Who's Who in the Old Testament, Routledge
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routwwot]
Guide to the leading men and women of The Old Testament.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thjll]
Information on aspects of Judaism including mythology, practices, customs, and laws.

MacMillan Dictionary of the Bible
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/macdbib]
Quick reference guide to the Bible.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Judaica
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028660974&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures

Encyclopedia of Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659978&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659879&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routwriting]
This comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/nyupencyjud]
Encyclopedia of all things Judaica.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
[http://aleph.nli.org.il/F/BYPQLU49KIMCXPM6QLR8VGM9CD2XBIGIICLRPE94VGJVFPYE97-04577?func=find-b-0&con_lng=eng]
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.


Websites

General Resources

Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory
[http://www.jewish-studies.com/]
A key academic gateway to online library catalogs, specialized databases, and other Judaica resources.

American Jewish Historical Society
[http://www.ajhs.org/]
Scholarly resource with extensive collections (in excess of 40 million documents) and archival holding relating to American Jewish social, cultural, and religious life.

Biblical Archeology
[http://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/library/]
Biblical archaeology site that focuses on the peoples and cultures of the Levant

A Cybrary of the Holocaust
[http://remember.org/]
Text and image resources which emphasize the moving accounts of Holocaust survivors.

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
[http://dss.collections.imj.org.il/]
Access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.

The Holocaust History Project
[http://holocausthistoryproject.blogspot.com/]
Extensive archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust.

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/jewish/jewishsbook.html]
Superb and comprehensive resource that features extensive full-text primary source documents for Jewish history and culture. Fine supporting links are also a plus in this impressive website.

Jewish Music WebCenter
[http://www.jmwc.org/]
This site provides "a forum for gathering and presenting information on academic, organizational, and personal activities in Jewish music today." It includes links to research, festivals, publishers, places to study, organizations, featured sites, etc.

Jewish Virtual Library
[http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource]
Very well-organized and detailed cyber-library with an expanding wealth of Jewish topics and resources.

Jewishnet
[http://www.jewishnet.net/]
Links to libraries, educational resources, gopher and FTP sites of Jewish interest.

Judaism and Jewish Resources
[http://shamash.org/trb/judaism.html]
An extensive annotated list of Jewish resources that are divided categorically. Jewish learning, communities, and libraries are well covered.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America
[http://www.jtsa.edu/library]
One of the largest collections of Hebraica and Judaica in the world, consisting of 300,000 manuscripts, incunabula, rare books, and archival documents.

Maven Search
[http://www.maven.co.il/]
Pointers to numerous subjects including culture, institutions, country-specific Jewish groups, history and commerce.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

The Nizkor Project
[http://www.nizkor.org/]
This website seeks to combat Holocaust revisionism through extensive use of primary resource documents, war crime trial transcripts, and eyewitness testimonies.

Orion Center for the Study of the Dead Sea Scrolls (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
[http://unixware.mscc.huji.ac.il/~orion/]
Information concerning the Dead Sea Scrolls.

Scrolls from the Dead Sea (Library of Congress)
[https://www.loc.gov/exhibits/scrolls/]
Selected images from the exhibition Scrolls from the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship can be viewed. The Qumran community, its historical importance, and the impact of the scrolls on contemporary Judaism and Christianity are also examined.

Survivors of the Shoah Virtual History Foundation
[http://college.usc.edu/vhi/]
Nonprofit organization founded by cinema director Steven Spielberg dedicated to videotaping and archiving interviews with Holocaust survivors.

A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust
[http://fcit.coedu.usf.edu/holocaust/]
An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through text, documents, photographs, art, and literature. Relevant web links included for middle school and high school use.

US Holocaust Memorial Museum
[http://www.ushmm.org/]
Expanding website devoted to Holocaust Studies, with links to historic photographs and archival resources. Features full text of U.S. efforts to recover gold and other assets stolen in World War II.

Virtual Jerusalem
[http://www.virtualjerusalem.com/]
Wide ranging news and subject resources about "The Jewish World from the Heart of Israel."

Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
[http://virtualreligion.net/vri/]
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.

Yiddish Sources
[http://yiddish-sources.com]
This website is arranged in three main sections: reference, research and events. The Yiddish Studies Bibliography lists relevant scholarly literature in the field of Yiddish Studies.


Encyclopedias

Judaism 101
[http://www.jewfaq.org/]
"Online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs. Includes"A Gentile's Guide to the Jewish Holidays," which provides a "general understanding of ... your Jewish friends' and colleagues' holidays." Searchable and browsable.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Judaic Studies