University of Hartford Libraries

Jazz Subject Guide


Recordings

Listen Online

Jazz Music Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/jazz]
Listen to over 10,000 jazz albums online, including recordings from the Blue Note and Verve Records labels.


Browse Jazz Recordings in the Library

Click links below to browse these items in the library catalog. Below the link is the call number for each format.

Jazz CDs
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MD1361*]
MD1361

Jazz LPs
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MR1361*]
MR1361

Jazz Cassette Tapes (mostly old Hartt recordings)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MA1361*]
MA1361

Jazz DVDs
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MO1361*]
MO1361

Jazz VHS Tapes
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MV1361*]
MV1361


Discographies

These discographies are guides to published jazz recordings.

Find discographies in the Allen Library at: [REF] ML156 J4

The Guide to Classic Recorded Jazz
By Tom Piazza. Allen Library Stacks [ML156.4 J3 P53 1995]

International Bibliography of Discographies, Part 2 Unlimited, 1975.
By David Cooper. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 D61C]

Penguin Guide to Jazz on Compact Disc
By Richard Cook. Allen Library Reference [REF ML156.4 J3 C67]


Fake Books

Fake Books

Jamey Aebersold Play-A-Long Series
Allen Library Shelves [M1361 A323 v.1-133]

The Hal Leonard Real Jazz Standards Fake Book
Allen Library Printed Music Reference [M1630.18 H22]

Just Jazz Real Book
Allen Library Printed Music Reference [M1630.18 J877]

Just Standards Real Book
Allen Library Printed Music Reference [1630.18 J877 S82]

The New Real Book Volume 2, C - Vocal Version
Allen Library Printed Music Reference [M1630.18 N49 V2]

See more fake books
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:fake+books]


Finding the Right Fake Book

The Fake Book Index (seventhstring)
[http://www.seventhstring.co.uk/fbindex.html]
Useful for identifying in which fake book a specific tune can be found. The library does not own all books listed on this site, however.


Improvising

Books

Connecting Chords with Linear Harmony
By Bert Ligon. Allen Library [MT68 L55 C66]

Jazz Improvisation
By Trent Kynaston and Robert Ricci. Allen Library [MT68 K99]

Jazz Theory Resources: Tonal, Harmonic, Melodic, & Rhythmic Organization of Jazz
By Bert Ligon. Allen Library [MT68 L55 J39]

Saying Something: Jazz Improvisation and Interaction
By Ingrid Monson. Allen Library [ML3506 M64 S2]

Sync or Swarm: Improvising Music in a Complex Age
By David Borgo. Allen Library [ML430.7 B67 S9]

Thinking in Jazz: The Infinite Art of Improvisation
By Paul Berliner. Allen Library [ML3506 B47 T]

Vocal Improvisation
By Michele Weir. Allen Library [MT68 W45 V63]


Websites

Jazz Improvisation Primer
[http://www.outsideshore.com/music/a-jazz-improvisation-primer/]


Jazz History

Books

Early jazz: Its Roots and Musical Development
By Gunther Schuller. Allen Library Stacks [ML3561 J42 S3 v.1-2]

Jazz
By Gary Giddins and Scott Knowles DeVeaux. Allen Library [ML3508 G45 J39]

Jazz Styles: History and Analysis
By Mark Gridley. Allen Library A/V [MX ML3506 G8 J 1994]

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Edited by Barry Kernfeld. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 J3 N48 2001] Also available online.

Stormy Weather: The Music and Lives of a Century of Jazz Women
By Linda Dahl. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 D13 1989]


Interviews

Jazz Greats Speak: Interviews with Master Musicians
By Roland Baggenaes. Allen Library [ML385 J399]

Jazzwomen: Conversations with Twenty-One Musicians
By Wayne Enstice and Janis Stockhouse. Allen Library [ML394 E57 J39]

Keeping Time: Readings in Jazz History
Edited by Robert Walser. Allen Library Stacks [ML3507 K43]

Talking Jazz: An Oral History
CD - Allen Library Audio Visual [MD ML394 S537 T35]


Browsing the Shelves

History and criticism of jazz
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(ML3506* or ML3507* or ML3508* or ML3509* or ML3510* or ML3511* or ML3512* or ML3513* or ML3514* or ML3515* or ML3516* or ML3517* or ML3518* or ML3519* or ML3520* or ML3521*))?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML3506 - ML3521


Websites

52nd Street Jazz
[http://www.52ndstreet.com/]
Features large collection of jazz and Latin music reviews, as well as news, discussions and links to purchase recordings online.

African-American Sheet Music, 1850 -1920
[http://library.brown.edu/cds/sheetmusic/afam/index.html]
This collection (searchable by subject, composer, publisher, illustrator, and title) provides access to digital images of 1,305 pieces of sheet music at Brown University dating from 1850 through 1920.

Black Grooves
[http://blackgrooves.org]

DownBeat.com
[http://www.downbeat.com/]
News and information about artists, festivals, albums, and more.

Gerry Mulligan Collection
[http://memory.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/html/mulligan/mulligan-home.html]
This site includes selected manuscript scores and parts, recorded excerpts, and discographies.

Hoagy Carmichael Collection
[http://www.dlib.indiana.edu/collections/hoagy/]
The largest holding of materials pertaining to Hoagy Carmichael in the world. It will eventually include a complete catalog, access to selected digital objects, and supplemental research information.

Jamey Aebersold Jazz, Inc.
[http://www.aebersold.com/]
Includes music, CDs, and DVDs for sale; an online forum for discussion of jazz issues; a calendar of workshops, performances, and clinics; and links to other sites.

Jazz Review
[http://www.jazzreview.com/]
Includes reviews of new releases, photographs, interviews with musicians, biographies, history, and an open forum.
(Note: This site is down as of 10/27/2017.)

Louisiana State Museum Jazz Collection
[http://lsm.crt.state.la.us/collections/jazz.htm]
This site primarily deals with traditional New Orleans jazz. It focuses on photographs and audio recordings of musicians and bands primarily active in New Orleans, and musical instruments from the collections of the Louisiana State Museum.

Red Hot Jazz Archive
[http://redhotjazz.com/]
Includes comprehensive lists of musicians and bands that were active between 1895 and 1929. Includes essays, articles, and sound files.

Satchmo.Net
[http://www.louisarmstronghouse.org/]
The Louis Armstrong House Museum at Queens College contains Armstrong's vast personal collection of photographs, papers, scrapbooks, commercial recordings, private recordings, memorabilia, and musical instruments. The web site includes a tour of the house, changing online exhibits, a biography, and a bibliography and discography.

Sax on the Web
[http://www.saxontheweb.net/]
This page is devoted to saxophone playing, mainly "classical" but some jazz styles as well.

Second Floor Music
[http://www.secondfloormusic.com]
Jazz publisher.

William P. Gottlieb Collection
[https://www.loc.gov/collections/jazz-photography-of-william-p-gottlieb/about-this-collection/]
The William P. Gottlieb Collection, comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, DC


Guide to Finding Jazz

Guide to Finding Jazz in the Library Catalog (PDF)
[http://library.hartford.edu/allenlibrary/finding_jazz.pdf]
This guide will help you find jazz transcriptions and recordings in the library catalog.


Other

Books

Arranging for Large Jazz Ensemble
Allen Library [MT73.5 L68 A77]

The Blues: A Bibliographical Guide
By Mary L. Hart. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B63 H37]

The Jazz Idiom
Allen Library [MT68 C68 J39]

Jazz Lexicon
By Robert Gold. Allen Library Reference [REF ML 102 J42G]

Madame Jazz: Contemporary Women Instrumentalists Press, 1995.
By Leslie Gourse. Allen Library Stacks [ML82 G68 M]

What to Listen for in Jazz
By Berry Kernfeld. Allen Library Stacks [ML3506 K47 W]


Call Numbers

[REF] ML102
Encyclopedias and dictionaries

[REF] ML128 J4
Bibliographies


Periodicals

Annual Review of Jazz Studies
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?kw=Annual+Review+of+Jazz+Studies+&q=switch&sid=76148354&id=8684&SF=Titles&limit=mc-ccode%3APERIODICAL&lang=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Electronic]

Billboard
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Billboard+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Coda
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/166453]

Down Beat
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/159153]

Jazz Times
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/166180]

Journal of Jazz Studies
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/159064]

Keyboard
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?lang=en&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&KW=Keyboard&sid=76148354&id=8684&SF=Titles&ST=Exact&cmdSearchSubmit=Search]


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Jazz