University of Hartford Libraries

Italian Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005


Dictionaries

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.

Collins Italian Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsital]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in Italian


Databases

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Websites

General Resources

The Decameron Web (Brown University)
[http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Italian_Studies/dweb/dweb.shtml]
Enjoyable, well-produced website exploring the world of the Italian Renaissance through an examination of Boccaccio's masterpiece, The Decameron.

Internet Resources for Italian (University of Sussex, UK)
[http://www.sussex.ac.uk/languages/resources/italian]
Italian and English-language sites providing information on Italian history, culture, and geography. Includes links to newspapers, online journals, and teaching resources.

ItaliaMia
[http://www.italiamia.com/]
Enjoyable, broad-based site in Italian and English, with numerous art and popular culture links.

Italian Language News and Magazines (MIT Libraries)
[http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176072&p=1158762]
Links to a wide variety of Italian magazines and newspapers.

Voice of the Shuttle: Italian Literature (University of California, Santa Barbara)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=1449]
Excellent collection of Italian literature links ranging from early Italian poetry to contemporary literature and criticism


Dictionaries

WordReference.com
[http://www.wordreference.com/]
Collins Dictionaries from HarperCollins, including English and bilingual.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Italian