University of Hartford Libraries

Islam Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Critical Terms for Religious Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/uchicagors]
Essays dealing with all aspects of religion.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003

Quran (Koran, English Translation)
The Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632. This is a searchable English translation.

Reformist Voices of Islam: Mediating Islam and Modernity
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharperef]
Introduces the current generation of moderate reformist thinkers and activists within Islam, the intellectual traditions they carry on, and the reasons why reformist movements have been overshadowed by fundamentalist, revolutionary, and jihadist movements in the Islamic world today.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659121&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.

Encyclopedia of Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659978&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659879&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

The Malcolm X Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference BP223.Z8 L571 2002


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology


Websites

Aljazeera.Net
[http://english.aljazeera.net/]
English language reporting of Arab and world news, including both objective news reporting and opinion. Companion to Arabic satellite news channel.

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html]
Wide-ranging resource on Islamic history and culture with a wealth of primary documents and extensive supporting links.

Islamic Heritage Project (Harvard University)
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ihp/]
Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvardís renowned library and museum collections.

Islamic Studies (University of Georgia)
[http://www.uga.edu/islam/]
Superb website with detailed discussions and supporting links on Islam, Islamic culture, and current political issues.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
[http://virtualreligion.net/vri/]
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Islam