University of Hartford Libraries

International Studies- Social Sciences Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Africa
Mortensen Library Reference DT30.5 .E344 2006

Africa Development Indicators
[http://go.worldbank.org/U4SNSH1FC0]
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

African Development Indicators
[http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/COUNTRIES/AFRICAEXT/EXTPUBREP/EXTSTATINAFR/0,,contentMDK:21102598~menuPK:3083981~pagePK:64168445~piPK:64168309~theSitePK:824043,00.html]
World Bank Statistical Information on Africa with other links to further information and data.

A-Z of Social Research
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=www.credoreference.com/book/sageuksr]
The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.

Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abccanada]
Comprehensive reference that takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

Career Opportunities in Casinos & Casino Hotels
Mortensen Library Reference HV6711 .F54 2000

CIA World Factbook
[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/]
Statistical information on every country of the world.

Companion to Hispanic Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderchs]
Provides all the necessary introductory information on the subject and will be especially useful for students who have already started courses in Spanish / Hispanic Studies, or who are considering doing so in the future.

Companion to Latin American Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderlas]
Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

Countries and Their Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028658964&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do.

Country Studies
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html]
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world

Eastern Europe an Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcee]
A contemporary analysis of the people, cultures, and society within the regions that make up Eastern Europe.

Essentials of Global Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderegp]
Essential reference book that guides the reader through these issues and many more, providing an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes.

Financial Times World Desk Reference
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkwdr]
Gives a complete overview of the modern world with hundreds of maps, charts and diagrams, and facts and statistics on the world's nations.

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgargep?institutionId=4005]
Dynamic and energetic debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.

A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarhgep?institutionId=4005]
Provides a state-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998

Information Economy Report
[http://unctad.org/en/Pages/Publications/InformationEconomyReportSeries.aspx]
Annual report for the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, analyzing trends and issues regarding information and communication technologies and their use for, and effect on, trade and development.

Iran's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciran?institutionId=4005]
Documents the origins, evolution, and current status of all major ethnic groups in Iran.

Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcnigeria]
Explores the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria.

North American Industry Classification System, United States
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
Searchable and printable full text of the current and older codes back to the 2002 report.

OECD Main Economic Indicators
Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .O68 (current 2 years)

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005

Philip's World Factbook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/philipswfb?institutionId=4005]
Data on each country in the world.

Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcarabpe?institutionId=4005]
Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpochine?institutionId=4005]
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpopger?institutionId=4005]
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcindpope?institutionId=4005]
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.

Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abclampope?institutionId=4005]
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.

Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcrusspe?institutionId=4005]
A revealing look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.

South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcsafrica]
Traces the fascinating racial history of South Africa before, during, and after the apartheid years.

US Department of State: Human Rights Reports
[http://www.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt/]
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, released yearly by the US Department of State, was designed to give voice to those who have been denied the freedoms and rights provided in the Universal Declaration on Human Rights.

World Economic and Social Survey
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html]
Full Text of current World Economic Social Survey by the United Nations. Library has (1994-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC59 .A16

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/external/ns/cs.aspx?id=29]
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979

World Economic Situation and Prospects
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/wesp.html]
United Nations information on World Economics Full Text from 1947-present.

World Economy: Historical Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HF1359 .M333 2003


Biographies

Marquis Who's Who in the World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/marquisworld?institutionId=4005]
The world's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor. Older print editions in Mortensen Library Oversized [CT120 .W5].

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/macdwb?institutionId=4005]
Biographical information on notable women around the world.

The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penbdw]
Biographical information on notable women around the world.


Dictionaries

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bksoc]
Defines sociological concepts in a lively and sensible way

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsoc]
Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.

A Dictionary of Diplomacy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/macdiplom?institutionId=4005]
Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.

Dictionary of Politics and Government
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acbgovtpol]
Significant number of terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005

Macquarie Dictionary of Australian Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mdpol]
Up-to-date guide to the apparatus of government in Australia.

Poverty: An International Glossary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/zedpoverty]
Seeks to make researchers, students and policy makers aware of the multi-dimensional character of this social condition.


Encyclopedias

Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcbramrle]
Covers the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/gwyouth]
Brings new understanding to the complex and fluid phenomenon of youth culture.

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Fundamental Themes
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estnationala]
Covers fundamental themes from Anthropology to Western Europe.

Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estnational]
covers leaders, movements, and key concepts of nationalism.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659879&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the complete text of this 4 volume encyclopedia on the nations, cultures and peoples of the Middle East and North Africa. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028660868&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
The source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Mortensen Library Reference HV12 .E54 2006

France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcframrle]
Covers the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.

Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgeamrle]
Details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcintrel]
Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry

Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcibamrle?institutionId=4005]
Covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routenvpol?institutionId=4005]
Essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore many topics in international environmental politics.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?source=&etocId=GALE|CX3045399001&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh&tabID=&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchId=&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780028661179&contentSegment=9780028661179&isDownLoadOptionDisabled=true]
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abciramrle?institutionId=4005]
Covers the impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.

Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcopinion?institutionId=4005]
Serves as an important resource to understand how citizens' views are translated into governmental action.


International - Statistics

OECD in Figures
[http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search?option1=titleAbstract&option2=&value2=&option3=&value3=&option4=&value4=&option5=&value5=&option6=&value6=&option7=&value7=&option8=&value8=&option9=&value9=&option10=&value10=&option11=&value11=&option12=&value12=&option13=&value13=&option14=&value14=&option15=&value15=&option16=&value16=&option17=&value17=&option18=sort&value18=&form_name=quick&option22=excludeKeyTableEditions&value22=true&value1=oecd+in+figures]
Full text for 2000-current available.


Statistics

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.

World Factbook (CIA)
[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/]
Background, statistics, maps, etc. Great starting point for doing country research. Browse by country or region.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/perio.htm]
English-language database had indexed over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.

European History Primary Sources
[http://primary-sources.eui.eu/]
Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hev]
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization: Laborsta Internet)
[http://laborsta.ilo.org/]
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories

Population Index on the Web
[http://popindex.princeton.edu/]
"Population Index" is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

World Bank Open Data
[http://data.worldbank.org/]
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.


Periodicals

OECD Economic Outlook
[http://www.oecd.org/findDocument/0,3770,en_2649_34109_1_119660_1_1_1,00.html]
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18

Population Reports
[http://www.k4health.org/toolkits/INFO-publications/population-reports]
International overview of important developments in family planning and related health issues. Includes statistics and bibliography.


Websites

General Resources

ASIL Electronic Resources Guide (International Law)
[http://www.asil.org/resources/eresources]
American Society for International Law Resource Guide is designed to simplify searching for difficult aspects of International Law.

Background Notes (US State Department)
[http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn]
Periodically updated information on countries and international organizations.

Beacon for Freedom of Expression
[http://www.beaconforfreedom.org/]
International database of information on censorship and literature on freedom of expression. Produced by the Norwegian Forum for Freedom of Expression

Center for World Indigenous Studies
[http://www.cwis.org/fwdp/]
The Center for World Indigenous Studies website contains an extensive range of primary documents relating to issues of sovereignty, tribal law, human rights issues.

Constitution Finder (University of Richmond Law School)
[http://confinder.richmond.edu/]
This site offers full text constitutions, charters, and amendments by means of alphabetical listing search keys.

The European Union in the US
[http://www.eurunion.org/]
Access to publications, web sites and other information.

Flags of the World
[http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/flags/]
Comprehensive collection of current and past world flags with graphic images and historical texts.

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
[http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/]
Directory, by country, of consular offices, across the country. Also links to information about chanceries and embassies in Washington.

Foreign Government Resources on the Web (University of Michigan Library)
[http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/foreignnew.html]
Extensive list of links to foreign government information on the web, organized by geographical area.

Institute of Development Studies
[http://www.ids.ac.uk/]
Research on development issues. Includes links to research reports, a weekly newsletter, and information on publications (many online for free downloads).

International Institute for Sustainable Development
[http://www.iisd.org]
News and publications on topics related to sustainable development, including international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, and natural resource management.

NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
[https://ustr.gov/trade-agreements/free-trade-agreements/north-american-free-trade-agreement-nafta]
Full text and other information for NAFTA.

The National Bureau of Asian Research
[http://www.nbr.org/]
Conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia.

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
[http://www.ohchr.org/EN/pages/home.aspx]
Information and publications from the principal UN official responsible for human rights.

Organization of American States
[http://www.oas.org/]
Links to member countries and with special emphasis on political, economic, and social issues.

Political Database of the Americas (Georgetown University)
[http://pdba.georgetown.edu/]
Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America. Searchable database and links to political parties, embassies, and consulates.

Political Science Resources (University of Keele, UK)
[http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/]
Award-winning site which provides links to area studies, data archives, bibliographic tools, official government pages, and much more. A must.

Portals to the World (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html]
Carefully selected links to information on nations and other areas of the world.

PovertyNet: Data on Poverty (World Bank)
[http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/poverty]
Discussion and statistics on poverty around the world. Many links to related pages at the World Bank.

ReliefWeb
[http://reliefweb.int/]
Source for timely, reliable and relevant humanitarian information and analysis

Social Security Programs throughout the World
[http://www.socialsecurity.gov/policy/docs/progdesc/ssptw/]
This site provides the basic provisions of social security legislation and administration in 172 countries.

State of World Population (United Nations)
[http://www.unfpa.org/swp/]
Online version of annual reports focusing on special topics related to world population trends and problems.

Study Abroad Programs Directory
[http://www.studyabroad.com/]
Background information as well as searchable databases of programs available.

Transparency International
[http://www.transparency.org/]
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.

US Department of State: Diplomatic List
[http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/dpl/]
This covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of these missions and their spouses.

US Department of State: International Policy
[http://www.state.gov/misc/list/index.htm]
Provides links to US foreign policy by region and country, as well as detailed analysis of global issues - economic trade practices, environmental concerns, counter terrorism, human rights. Archived prior to January 2001.

WomenWatch: The UN Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women
[http://www.un.org/womenwatch/]
This comprehensive site provides a follow-up to Beijing, information on conferences, a news and views section, and statistics and indicators.

World Health Organization
[http://www.who.int/en/]
Resources on organization, activities; WHO Gopher, WWW index and search engine.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Atlases

UC Atlas of Global Inequality (Univeristy of CA, Santa Cruz)
[https://ccrec.ucsc.edu/news_item/uc-atlas-global-inequality-0]
Searchable database and maps looking at the interaction between globalization and inequality (mortality, economics, health issues, etc.). Includes glossary and bibliography.


Statistics

Country Reports
[http://www.countryreports.org/]
Current information, primarily statistical, on countries around the world.

European Governments On-line
[http://europa.eu/abc/european_countries/index_en.htm]
Links to official sites for members of the European Union as well as most other European nations.

Index Mundi
[http://www.indexmundi.com]
Find statistics on regions and countries around the world, including cross national and historical comparison tables. Based on data from the CIA World Factbook.

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
[http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/]
Links to sources of social, economic and general data. International list arranged by country and by topic.

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.

UNECE's Gender Statistics
[http://www.unece.org/stats/gender/]
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=International Studies- Social Sciences