University of Hartford Libraries

International Business Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

1000 CEOs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkceos]
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

ACH Rules: A Complete Guide to Rules & Regulations Governing the ACH Network
Mortensen Library Reference HG2321 .A28 (University Affiliated patrons may get online Password from Mortensen Reference Office)

Africa Development Indicators
[http://go.worldbank.org/U4SNSH1FC0]
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Career Opportunities in Casinos & Casino Hotels
Mortensen Library Reference HV6711 .F54 2000

CIA World Factbook
[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/]
Statistical information on every country of the world.

Competitive Alternatives (KPMG)
[http://www.competitivealternatives.com/]
Detailed comparison of comparative business costs in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Covers 17 industry operations in 11 countries.

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.

Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998

Information Economy Report
[http://unctad.org/en/Pages/Publications/InformationEconomyReportSeries.aspx]
Annual report for the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, analyzing trends and issues regarding information and communication technologies and their use for, and effect on, trade and development.

North American Industry Classification System, United States
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
Searchable and printable full text of the current and older codes back to the 2002 report.

OECD Main Economic Indicators
Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .O68 (current 2 years)

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005

Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Mortensen Library Reference HG4961 .S78 I4

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)

World Economic and Social Survey
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html]
Full Text of current World Economic Social Survey by the United Nations. Library has (1994-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC59 .A16

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/external/ns/cs.aspx?id=29]
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979

World Economic Situation and Prospects
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/wesp.html]
United Nations information on World Economics Full Text from 1947-present.

World Economy: Historical Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HF1359 .M333 2003

World Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HD2757.15 .W67


Dictionaries

Business French Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusfr]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of business: insurance, stock exchange, accounting, finance, and computing.

Business German Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusger]
Essential business vocabulary of German and English, with translations into the other language.

Business Spanish Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusspa]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Includes many entries providing comprehensive coverage of all aspects of general business, such as invoicing, insurance, and computing.

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Campbell R. Harvey's Hyptertextual Finance Glossary
[http://www.duke.edu/~charvey/Classes/wpg/glossary.htm]
Brief definitions of over 3,600 terms, with links to related terms and to terms in definitions.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

A Dictionary of Diplomacy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/macdiplom?institutionId=4005]
Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene.


Directories

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gdl/infomark.do?serQuery=Locale(en,,):FQE=(JX,None,59)%22Encyclopedia+of+Associations:+International+Organizations%22$&queryType=PH&CPUBValue=2MOX&tabID=T023&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GDL¤tPosition=1&type=pubIssues&version=1.0&source=gale]
Covers multinational and national organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership.

International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554

Encyclopedia of Public Choice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprpubchoice]
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations
Mortensen Library Reference G63 .K874 2002

Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Mortensen Library Reference HV12 .E54 2006

Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpewt]
This is the definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcintrel]
Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prewe]
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.


International - Statistics

OECD in Figures
[http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search?option1=titleAbstract&option2=&value2=&option3=&value3=&option4=&value4=&option5=&value5=&option6=&value6=&option7=&value7=&option8=&value8=&option9=&value9=&option10=&value10=&option11=&value11=&option12=&value12=&option13=&value13=&option14=&value14=&option15=&value15=&option16=&value16=&option17=&value17=&option18=sort&value18=&form_name=quick&option22=excludeKeyTableEditions&value22=true&value1=oecd+in+figures]
Full text for 2000-current available.


Statistics

Least Developed Countries Report
[http://www.unctad.org/en/Pages/ALDC/Least%20Developed%20Countries/The-Least-Developed-Countries-Report.aspx]
Reports from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development discussing economic development and poverty reduction in least developed countries.

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


Databases

General Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

Checkpoint (RIA)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://checkpoint.riag.com/login?iploc=univofhart]
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization: Laborsta Internet)
[http://laborsta.ilo.org/]
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

World Bank Open Data
[http://data.worldbank.org/]
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.


Statistics

Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
[http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/marketsdata.html]
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.


Periodicals

OECD Economic Outlook
[http://www.oecd.org/findDocument/0,3770,en_2649_34109_1_119660_1_1_1,00.html]
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18


Websites

General Resources

Asia-Pacific Research and Training Network on Trade
[http://www.unescap.org/tid/artnet/]
A cooperative project of the UNESCAP, UNCTAD, the WTO, and trade research and academic institutions from 15 member nations, provides resources for policy makers and researchers on East, South, and Southeast Asia on international trade policy and facilitation.

ASIL Electronic Resources Guide (International Law)
[http://www.asil.org/resources/eresources]
American Society for International Law Resource Guide is designed to simplify searching for difficult aspects of International Law.

Background Notes (US State Department)
[http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn]
Periodically updated information on countries and international organizations.

Bank for International Settlements
[http://www.bis.org/]
The aim of BIS is "to promote the cooperation of central banks and to provide additional facilities for international financial operations." See especially "Publications" for full text reports. Requires Adobe Acrobat.

Bank Information Center
[http://www.bicusa.org/]
Information on the projects, policies and practices of the World Bank and other development banks. Includes publications and "toolkits" for those working with the banks. Multilingual.

Currency Converter (OANDA)
[http://www.oanda.com/converter/classic?user=pathfinder2]
View the exchange rate between any two currencies for any date since January 1,1990.

Deloitte: International Tax and Business Guide
[https://dits.deloitte.com/]
International tax information for over 126 countries.

Development Experience Clearinghouse (US Agency for International Development)
[https://dec.usaid.gov/dec/home/Default.aspx]
Database of international developments published by USAID. The most recent reports are available for downloading, older ones may be ordered online.

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations (Worldbank)
[http://www.doingbusiness.org/]
Free access to information on many countries in several different languages.

Drucker Archives (Claremont Graduate University)
[http://www.druckerinstitute.com/project/drucker-archives/]
Biographical information and a searchable database of materials in the personal papers of the "father of management." Also includes bibliographies of his books and a few articles about Drucker.

E-Business Forum (Economist Intelligence Unit)
[http://www.ebusinessforum.com/]
Wide variety of information on global e-commerce Includes daily news, best practices, research, country backgrounders, etc. Links to other EIU resources.

Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean (United Nations)
[http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN]
The public records of ECLAC, including press releases, speeches, and pdf versions of most publications. Available in Spanish and English.

EconPapers
[http://econpapers.repec.org]
Index of downloadable economics research papers, working papers, journal publications, etc. Some papers may have a fee attached for downloading.

EDGAR Database (SEC)
[http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml]
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.

efinancial News
[http://www.efinancialnews.com/]
Online edition of the Newspaper. European focus. Free registration expands information available.

ELDIS: Electronic Development Information
[http://www.eldis.org/go/topics]
Gateway to information sources on various global topics.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Ernst and Young International
[http://www.ey.com/]
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

EU Business
[http://www.eubusiness.com/]
Information for doing business in the European Union and its member nations.

Euromoney World Link
[http://www.euromoney.com/]
International finance and business information. Access to Euromoney and WorldLink magazines. Search or browse.

The European Union in the US
[http://www.eurunion.org/]
Access to publications, web sites and other information.

Eurostat
[http://ec.europa.eu/eurostat]
Eurostat’s mission is to provide the European Union with a high-quality statistical information service.

Export.gov
[http://export.gov/]
Searchable database of market research reports by industry, country, etc. for US businesses seeking to operate abroad. Free registration required.

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
[http://www.state.gov/s/cpr/rls/fco/]
Directory, by country, of consular offices, across the country. Also links to information about chanceries and embassies in Washington.

FOREX NEWS: The Online Source for Foreign Exchange Information
[http://www.forexnews.com/]
News and analysis of events affecting foreign exchange markets around the world. Includes political issues as well as currency trading.

Free Trade Area of the Americas
[http://www.ftaa-alca.org/alca_e.asp]
Official documents, reports, etc. of group working toward a single hemispheric free trade area.

FT.com (Financial Times)
[http://www.ft.com/home/us]
International news, including searchable 30 day archive; London financial news and stock prices (20 minute delay). Free registration required.

GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994 (Stanford University)
[http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home]
Provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, which promoted international commerce and reduction of trade barriers during its years of operation.

Global Investor
[http://www.globalinvestor.com/]
Directory of links to financial information around the world. Also comparative data on different markets, and financial news updates.

globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
[http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp]
Links to sources worldwide for country information, news, company directories, stock exchanges, etc.

Globalization in Focus (Foreign Policy in Focus)
[http://fpif.org/tag/globalization/]
Frequently updated information and opinion on globalization, the WTO, the IMF, the World Bank, etc.

IAMOT: International Association for Management of Technology
[http://www.iamot.com/]
Large collection of valuable links for MOT. MOT Index leads to even more. Click on "Resources".

Industry Canada
[http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ic1.nsf/eng/home]
General business information from Industry Canada.

Institute of Development Studies
[http://www.ids.ac.uk/]
Research on development issues. Includes links to research reports, a weekly newsletter, and information on publications (many online for free downloads).

International Business Etiquette, Manners,
[http://www.cyborlink.com/]
Provided by the International Business Center and staffed by University of Texas MBA students, this resource pulls together information to help communication flow for International business.

International Economics Network
[http://www.internationaleconomics.net/]
Directory of links to all aspects of international economics and related fields. Includes links to research papers, statistical sources, news, industry information, etc.

International Institute for Sustainable Development
[http://www.iisd.org]
News and publications on topics related to sustainable development, including international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change, and natural resource management.

International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/]
Includes access to searchable database of publications, with selected text online.

International Organization Web Sites: Index Page
[http://www.uia.org/website.htm]
Link to home-pages of over 3,500 organizations, arranged by name or by subject area.

International Trade Administration (US Department of Commerce)
[http://www.trade.gov/]
Regional, country and industry information, as well as international trade statistics and other information of value for international business.

Joint External Debt Hub
[http://www.jedh.org/]
Latest available data on external debt or developing and transition countries. Arranged by country and updated quarterly. Tables also available in PDF or compressed Excel format.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

LatinFocus
[http://www.latin-focus.com/]
The Online Source for Latin American Economies - News and commentary, economic briefings and forecasts, and economic indicators for the region and selected countries in Latin America.

MBendi Information Services
[http://www.mbendi.co.za/index.htm]
Global business and commercial information including country, industry, and company information.

Ministry of Economy Trade and Industry (Japan_
[http://www.meti.go.jp/english/]
Official statements and English language publications on current economic and trade policies from the Japanese government agency.

NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
[https://ustr.gov/trade-agreements/free-trade-agreements/north-american-free-trade-agreement-nafta]
Full text and other information for NAFTA.

The National Bureau of Asian Research
[http://www.nbr.org/]
Conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia.

OECD
[http://www.oecd.org/]
Issue briefs, statistics, publications, and basic information on the OECD and its members.

The Office of Economic and Business Affairs (US State Department)
[http://www.state.gov/e/eb/]
Clearing house of information to support doing business overseas. Includes breaking news as well as background information.

Organization of American States
[http://www.oas.org/]
Links to member countries and with special emphasis on political, economic, and social issues.

Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
[http://www.opic.gov/]
US government agency which helps US businesses invest overseas and fosters economic development in new and emerging markets.

Portals to the World (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html]
Carefully selected links to information on nations and other areas of the world.

PriceWaterhouse Coopers Global
[http://www.pwc.com]
Information on doing business around the world. See especially "Countries Online" for detailed information on specific countries, including the economics climate, business regulations, etc.

ReliefWeb
[http://reliefweb.int/]
Source for timely, reliable and relevant humanitarian information and analysis

Riskinstitute.ch (IFCI)
[http://archive.is/riskinstitute.ch]
Watch (International Finance and Commodities Institute) - Introduction and guide to key concepts in financial risk management. Includes links to regulatory documents and a glossary. International.

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
[http://www.sedar.com/]
Financial documents filed with the Canadian Securities Administrators. Also includes company profiles and web links.

SICE: Foreign Trade Information System (Organization of American States)
[http://www.sice.oas.org/]
Information, including full text of agreements and statistics, on trade in the Western Hemisphere.

State of World Population (United Nations)
[http://www.unfpa.org/swp/]
Online version of annual reports focusing on special topics related to world population trends and problems.

Tax World
[http://www.taxworld.org/]
More than tax code. Check "Tax Policy and Comments" for discussion of issues.

Transparency International
[http://www.transparency.org/]
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.

US International Trade Commission
[http://www.usitc.gov/]
Reports, publications, statistics, tariff schedules, etc. from the agency that advises the legislative and executive branches of government. Trade Resources leads to lots of useful links.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (U.S. Agency for International Development)
[http://www.usaid.gov/]
Database of international developments published by USAID. The most recent reports are available for downloading, older ones may be order ed online.

World Bank
[http://www.worldbank.org/]
Economic information, research and statistics from the World Bank, its subsidiaries and member nations.

World Trade Organization
[http://www.wto.org/]
Information by and about the WTO.


Atlases

UC Atlas of Global Inequality (Univeristy of CA, Santa Cruz)
[https://ccrec.ucsc.edu/news_item/uc-atlas-global-inequality-0]
Searchable database and maps looking at the interaction between globalization and inequality (mortality, economics, health issues, etc.). Includes glossary and bibliography.


Directories

Chamber of Commerce International Directory
[http://chamber-of-commerce.com]
Searchable database of information from and about Chambers of Commerce and cities/states/provinces around the world.


News

Wall Street Journal - Opinion - Asia
[http://online.wsj.com/public/page/opinionasia.html]
Opinion - Asia Op. Ed. from the Wall Street Journal


Statistics

Access to ILO Databases (International Labour Organization)
[http://www.ilo.org/public/english/support/lib/dblist.htm]
Access to a variety of databases on labor and labor law, including ILO documents and publications since 1919, and international labor standards.

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
[https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/cis-sic.nsf/eng/home]
Searchable database of market research reports for international businesses.

Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS)
[https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/cis-sic.nsf/eng/home]
Searchable database of market research reports for international businesses.

Country Briefings (Economist Intelligence Unit)
[http://www.economist.com/countries/]
Recent articles from the Economist, as well as new, background, forecasts, and statistics. Some information only available for a fee.

Country Reports
[http://www.countryreports.org/]
Current information, primarily statistical, on countries around the world.

Development Experience Clearinghouse (US Agency for International Development)
[https://dec.usaid.gov/dec/home/Default.aspx]
Database of international developments published by USAID. The most recent reports are available for downloading, older ones may be ordered online.

European Governments On-line
[http://europa.eu/abc/european_countries/index_en.htm]
Links to official sites for members of the European Union as well as most other European nations.

Eurostat
[http://ec.europa.eu/eurostat]
Searchable database of statistics on the European Union. Daily updates. Charge for access to a few reports.

Foreign Trade Statistics (US Census Bureau)`
[https://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/index.html]
Trade figures by one digit SITC code between the US and other nations.

FreeLunch.com (Economy.com)
[http://www.economy.com/freelunch/]
Economic and financial data presented as charts or tables. Most data coming from U.S. government publications. Search or browse by category.

IMF Staff Country Reports in Full Text
[http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm]
In depth reports on economic and related information for selected countries. Very large .pdf files load and print slowly. Scroll down on right hand column to find all of the years for the reports and much more.

Index Mundi
[http://www.indexmundi.com]
Find statistics on regions and countries around the world, including cross national and historical comparison tables. Based on data from the CIA World Factbook.

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
[http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/]
Links to sources of social, economic and general data. International list arranged by country and by topic.

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.

UN Comtrade (International Merchandise Trade Statistics)
[http://comtrade.un.org/]
This web site provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).


Statistics- International

Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean (United Nations)
[http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN]
The public records of ECLAC, including press releases, speeches, and pdf versions of most publications. Available in Spanish and English.

International Data Base
[https://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/]
Statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world. Maintained by US Bureau of the Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=International Business