University of Hartford Libraries

Human Resources and Organization Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HD4973 .A67 (have 2001 and 2015 editions)

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Occupational Outlook Handbook
[http://www.bls.gov/oco/]
Searchable text of the standard source of information about employment prospects for specific fields. Published by US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsocial?institutionId=4005]
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.

Working Americans, 1880-2005
Mortensen Library Reference [HD8066 .D47]


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyconfres]
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbhrmanage?institutionId=4005]
Terminology relating to human resources.

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mactox]
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.


Websites

General Resources

ADA Home Page (US Dept of Justice)
[http://www.ada.gov/]
Americans with Disabilities Act regulations and technical assistance documents as well as other information to assist business in complying with the law.

Affirmative Action and Diversity Project: A Web Page for Research
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=143]
Model resource which explores diverse opinions on affirmative action topics. Extensive coverage of Proposition 209 debates in California with links to policy documents, news reports, editorials pro and con.

Bullying in the Workplace (Canada Safety Council)
[https://canadasafetycouncil.org/node/717]
Defines and describes the problem of workplace bullying, and presents statistics and psychological profiles on the perpetrators and their targets. Includes related links, including to US and UK sites.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations
[http://www.eiconsortium.org/]
Research related to EI topics, including self-awareness, optimism and empathy in the workplace. Includes links to full text of reports, information about model programs, a bibliography and links to related sources.

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)
[http://ergo.human.cornell.edu/]
Faculty and student research focused on enhancing usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.

Disability Information and Resources
[http://www.makoa.org/]
This directory of resources for the disabled includes links to fact sheets about spinal cord injuries and disabling conditions, books, resources for equipment, support groups, travel information, and government sources.

Employment and Disability (Catherwood Library, Cornell)
[http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/library/research/SubjectGuides/employmentAndDisability.html]
Carefully selected and annotated links to information for disabled workers and for employers.

Employment Policy Foundation
[http://www.epf.org/]
Advocacy group providing economic analysis and other research on employment and workplace policies such as family leave, pension plans, etc.

Entrepreneur.com
[http://www.entrepreneur.com/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

Entrepreneurship.org
[http://www.entrepreneurship.org/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

Frequently Asked Questions about Benefits
[http://www.ebri.org/publications/benfaq/]
Short, graphical answers to common questions about major benefit issues and trends. Includes links to more detailed data. From the Employee Benefit Research Institute.

Gender Equality (AFL-CIO)
[https://aflcio.org/issues/gender-equality]
Advocacy, statistics, links, etc. on issues of special interest to working women.

Human Resource Professional's Gateway to the Internet
[http://www.hrprosgateway.com/www/index2.html]
Includes listservs. Covers recruiting, company info, as well as a broad range of HR related info.

Human Resources and the Internet (Catherwood Library, Cornell University)
[http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/library/research/subjectGuides/hrInternet.html]
Large collection of carefully selected links, arranged by topic. Includes government, associations, statistics, listservs, etc.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Minority Business Development Agency
[http://www.mbda.gov/]
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
[http://www.osha.gov/]
Information about the agency's programs and services. Full text of selected publications. Links to related sites.

OSH.net
[http://osh.net/]
Links to a wide variety of information sources on all aspects of occupational safety and health issues.

The Salary Calculator
[http://www.homefair.com/homefair/calc/salcalc.html]
Compare cost of living in US and international cities by entering a salary earned in one city and to calculate what salary would have the same buying power in another.

Sexual Harassment Resources
[https://uncg.libguides.com/c.php?g=83098&p=538310]
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.

SHRM Online
[http://www.shrm.org/]
Searchable collection of information from the Society for Human Resource Management.

Sloan Work and Family Research Network (Boston College)
[http://wfnetwork.bc.edu/]
Resources designed to support researchers, policy analysts, business leaders and others interested in work and family issues.

Society for Human Resource Management
[http://www.shrm.org/about/pages/default.aspx]
SHRM provides resources, global best practices and a network of valuable contacts to more than 5,000 members in over 140 countries, in addition to U.S.-based HR professionals involved in global HR.

Telework (US Department of Labor and Office of Personnel Management)
[http://www.telework.gov]
Studies presented at an October 2000 symposium, providing "the most comprehensive review of the literature on telework now available."

US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
[http://www.eeoc.gov/]
Information about employment discrimination, including enforcement, information for small business, how to file a charge, etc.


Statistics

Employment Characteristics of Families
[http://stats.bls.gov/news.release/famee.toc.htm]
1999-2000 report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, outlining employment statistics by race, sex, marital status, presence of young children, etc.

National Compensation Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
[http://stats.bls.gov/ncs/home.htm]
Data on compensation on national, regional or local level, presented in occupational groups. Most data is in PDF form.


Statistics- International

Access to ILO Databases (International Labour Organization)
[http://www.ilo.org/public/english/support/lib/dblist.htm]
Access to a variety of databases on labor and labor law, including ILO documents and publications since 1919, and international labor standards.


Statistics- United States

Bureau of Labor Statistics Home Page (US Department of Labor)
[http://www.bls.gov/]
Provides access to economic and employment statistics at national and regional levels.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Human Resources and Organization