University of Hartford Libraries

Health Sciences Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Acne
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188705&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the causes of acne, who is at risk to have acne, how it is diagnosed, and the treatment options that are available.

AIDS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188712&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A fact book on AIDS and HIV, written for young adults. Explores milestones in the history and treatment of AIDS including new drug therapies.

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkbrain]
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupage]
Provides comprehensive, accessible and authoritative accounts of all the key topics in the field ranging from theories of ageing, to demography, physical aspects of ageing, mental processes and ageing, nursing and health care for older people, the social context of ageing, cross cultural perspectives, relationships, quality of life, gender, and financial and policy provision.

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupphm]
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Cambridge World History of Food
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupfood]
History of food.

Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
Career Services Shelves TP248.2 .F737 2008

Career Opportunities in Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R690 .F54 2002

Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007

Complete Health Resource - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693138&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues.

Criminal Poisoning: an Investigational Guide for Law Enforcement, Toxicologist, Forensic Scientists, and Attorneys
Mortensen Library Reference RA1228 .T74 2007

Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007

Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659008&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Articles on the nature of addiction and its roots include advertising, genetics, families, and personal problems.

The Everything Guide to Careers in Health Care: Find the Job That's Right for You
Career Services Shelves R690 .Q36 2007

The Everything Guide to Careers in Health Care: Find the Job That's Right for You
Career Services Shelves R690 .Q36 2007

Genetics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189207&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents basic scientific principles and how genetics is used determining and modifying the genetic code, predicting and curing disease, and solving crimes.

Gray's Anatomy (Bartleby, 1918)
[http://www.bartleby.com/107/]
Full text with 1247 engravings from the classic 1918 edition of Gray's Anatomy. Search or browse.

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estaging?institutionId=4005]
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.

Handbook of Forensic Services
[https://ucr.fbi.gov/lab/handbook-of-forensic-services-pdf]
The material presented here describes the process by which forensic examinations are conducted at the FBI Laboratory.

Headaches
[http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9781590188743&contentSegment=9781590188743]
Discusses traditional and alternative headache treatments, the challenges of living with headaches, and the direction of future research.

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Hemophilia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188750&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses what hemophilia is and how advances in understanding blood clotting and genetics have helped develop new treatments and a more normal lifestyle for hemophiliacs.

Human anatomy and physiology
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 H8 2001

Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukms]
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology.

Key Concepts in Public Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukph]
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007

Medical School Interview: Secrets and a System for Success
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves R838.4 .F54 2006

Medicine, Health, and Bioethics: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414406244&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Mesothelioma: From Discovery to Treatment
[http://www.mesothelioma.com/ebooks/mesothelioma-from-discovery-to-treatment.pdf]
This short ebook offers insight into the history of mesothelioma, current treatment options, and the prognosis for patients.

Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbyherbs]
Provides the busy health care provider with detailed information for approximately 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements.

The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hupwh?institutionId=4005]
Complete information on women's health concerns, physical and behavioral.

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659909&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history.

One Hundred and One Careers in Nursing
Mortensen Library Reference RT82 .A15 2003

Opportunities in Chiropractic Careers
Career Services Shelves RZ236 .S32 2004

Opportunities in Eye Care Careers
Career Services Shelves RE72 .A37 2004

Opportunities in Osteopathic Medicine Careers
Mortensen Library Reference RZ341 .S23 2001

Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers
Career Services Shelves RS122.5 .G3 2004

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008

Psychedelic medicine: new evidence for hallucinogenic substances as treatments
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves (Ask at Circulation Desk) RM315 .P7423 2007

Report of the Legislature on the Principal Findings from the Epidemiology of Autism in California (2002)
[http://www.dds.ca.gov/Autism/docs/study_final.pdf]
This State of California report of 2002 is one of the most important studies conducted on the increased incidence of Autism Spectrum Disorders. Includes bibliography.

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009

The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rsmmeds]
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.

SARS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188774&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the symptoms and rapid infection rate, the initial cover-up by the Chinese government, and the response of health care workers and researchers from many nations.

Sexually Transmitted Diseases
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188781&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the impact of STDs on individuals and society, the research for new cures and treatments, and methods to prevent the spread of STDs by altering sexual behavior.

State of Health Atlas: Mapping the Challenges and Causes of Disease
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .O3 2008

Understanding Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference RS164 .H276 2005

West Nile Virus
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188798&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
West Nile virus had never been seen in the Western Hemisphere before 1999. Now, it's everywhere in the United States. Find out more about this new health threat and what's being done about it.

World of Microbiology and Immunology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677770&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Addresses current ethical, legal and social issues with special emphasis given to biological warfare and terrorism. Topical and biographical entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced.

Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007


Biographies

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/whdictnutr]
Nutrition and food technology terminology.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Black's Veterinary Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbvet?institutionId=4005]
An invaluable first reference source for all involved with, or interested in, animals.

Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuphbe]
Study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

The Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupdisease]
History and description of the worlds major diseases of yesterday and today.

Collins Dictionary of Biology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbiology]
Dictionary of all major concepts of biology.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/wileydevbio]
Dictionary of terms, research, history, and notable people in the field of developmental biology and embryology.

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Genetic Terms: Talking Glossary
Recorded audio clips elaborate on the words' pronunciations and meanings.

Illustrated Dictionary of Science, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andidsci]
Illustrated dictionary covering all the major scientific disciplines.

International Dictionary of Homeopathy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/idoh]
Clear and up-to-date definitions and interpretations of concepts related to the principles and practice of homeopathy.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mactox]
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbymed]
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Mosby's Emergency Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmed]
Definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know.

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.

Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pmd]
Covers the gamut of pharmaceutical medicine from drug discovery, development, trials, regulatory approval and marketing.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: An International Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcalc?institutionId=4005]
History of alcohol and its social impact.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupchilddev]
Authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development.

Encyclopedia of Aging
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028658797&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005

Encyclopedia of Cancer (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476018&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Diets - Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429946&contentSegment=9781414429946]
Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health.

Encyclopedia of DNA and the US Criminal Justice System
Mortensen Library Reference RA1057.55 .P34 2004

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science: a Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction
Mortensen Library Reference HV8073 .C595 2002

Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476056&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprmedanth]
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403999999]
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414428840&contentSegment=9781414428840]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/esthumanbrain]
Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this encyclopedia contains peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world.

Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyhg]
Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as ethics and the law, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.

Encyclopedia of Women's Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprwh]
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, the Encyclopedia offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

The Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/dkbody?institutionId=4005]
Encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information.

Human Diseases and Conditions
Mortensen Library Reference RC81.A2 H75 2000

Human Diseases and Conditions
Mortensen Library Reference RC81.A2 H75 2000

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

Nutrients A to Z
Mortensen Library Reference QP141 .S56 2004

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.

World of Forensic Science
Mortensen Library Reference HV8073 .W674 2006


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Alcohol Studies Database
[http://www.scc.rutgers.edu/alcohol_studies/alcohol/]
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
[http://www.dartmouthatlas.org/]
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Hartford (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdtlocal1006624?accountid=11308]
Dissertations by University of Hartford students. Includes full text for most, especially those published after 1996.

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

FAOSTAT (Food and Agricultural Organization statistics)
[http://faostat.fao.org]
Years Covered: 1961-present
free and easy access to data for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the most recent year available.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/hero/]
Sources dealing with risk assessment of humans and ecosystems deemed important by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment.

HighWire Press
[http://highwire.stanford.edu]
Database of articles primarily in the sciences, including from Medline. Includes both freely accessible and subscription only titles. UofH does not subscribe.

Household Products Database
[http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/]
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
[http://nccam.nih.gov/]
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds]
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.

OTseeker (Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence)
[http://www.otseeker.com]
Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials related to occupational therapy. Provides ratings to assist in evaluating validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. In early stages of development, so currently limited in size.

PEDro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
[http://search.pedro.org.au/search]
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying validity and interpretability. Includes link to a Tutorial. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, and maintained at the University of Sydney.

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pilots/advanced?accountid=11308]
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

PrimateLit
[http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu]
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.

ProQuest Biology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/biologyjournals?accountid=11308]
The database includes over 300 biology titles, with more than 265 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/psychologyshell?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=pdh]
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh,pdh]
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh]
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
[http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/]
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.

SPIN (InfoEd International)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://spin.infoedglobal.com/Home/Search]
Searchable database of funding opportunities. Continuously updated. "Jump to GENIUS" to create a custom profile for updates. Made available by Office of Grants and Contracts, University of Hartford.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Periodicals

Applied and Environmental Microbiology
[http://aem.asm.org/]
Free full-text journal available through PubMed.

Arthritis Research and Therapy
[http://arthritis-research.com/home]
Free online journal from July 1999 - present. Focuses on research on arthritis and treatments and therapies for arthritis.

Biology of Reproduction
[https://academic.oup.com/biolreprod]
Free full-text online journal (April 1969 - present).

BMC Veterinary Research
[http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcvetres/]
Free, online, full-text journal of original research articles in all aspects of veterinary medicine.

British Medical Journal: BMJ
[http://bmj.com/]
Contains free full text articles from January 1994 to current.

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations

Genetics
[http://www.genetics.org/content/by/year]
Free, online access to full-text of a peer-reviewed journal. Print available in Mortensen Library. Online coverage is from 1916 - 3 months ago.

Genetics, Selection, Evolution
[http://www.gse-journal.org/]
Free full-text online journal. Coverage is from 2000 to one year ago.

Genome Research
[http://www.genome.org/contents-by-date.0.shtml]
Free, full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1997 - six months ago.

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

PLoS Medicine (Public Library of Science)
[http://www.plosmedicine.org/home.action]
Monthly, peer reviewed, scholarly, open access journal. Issues available since October 2004. Sign up for free monthly email alerts.

Population Reports
[http://www.k4health.org/toolkits/INFO-publications/population-reports]
International overview of important developments in family planning and related health issues. Includes statistics and bibliography.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

ADDA National Attention Deficit Association
[http://www.add.org/]
Information on attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Includes basic material; treatment information, research, ADD and school, family issues, career and work, and legal issues.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
[http://www.ahcpr.gov/]
Research, statistics, news, etc. on health care policy. Searchable. Formerly Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (HHS).

AIDS Economics
[http://www.iaen.org/]
To increase the understanding of the economics of public policy surrounding HIV/AIDS.

AIDS Info
[http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/]
Free NIH site dealing with issues concerning AIDS, it's prevention, alleviation of symptoms and discussions concerning the disease.

AllAllergy.net
[http://www.allallergy.net/]
Resources on allergies, asthma, and food intolerance.

Alzheimer's Association
[http://www.alz.org/]
General information about Alzheimer's disease.

American Cancer Society (ACS)
[http://www.cancer.org/]
American Cancer Society

American Heart Association
[http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/]
American Heart Association

American Medical Association
[http://www.ama-assn.org/]
Dedicated to improving the health of Americans.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
[http://www.asha.org/]
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 166,000 audiologists, speech-language pathologists, speech, language, and hearing scientists, audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel, and students.

America's Health Rankings
[http://www.americashealthrankings.org/]
Analyzes national health on a state-by-state basis.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Asperger Syndrome, from Autism Speaks
[https://www.autismspeaks.org/what-autism/asperger-syndrome]
This description and guide to Asperger Syndrome from the website Autism Speaks discusses diagnosis, services and support, and advocacy options for people with Asperger Syndrome.

Autism Information Center
[http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism]
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Autism Resources
[http://www.autism-resources.com/]
General information about autism. Links include book lists and lists of other web sites, as well as information for parents.

Autism Society of America (ASA)
[http://www.autism-society.org/]
Links to general information about autism, as well as news, conference information, and resources for families with autistic children.

Autism Speaks.org
[http://www.autismspeaks.org/index.php]
Site includes general information about autism symptoms, treatment and research, as well as links to recent publications.

Bioethics Internet Project (U. of Pennsylvania)
[http://www.bioethics.upenn.edu/]
The Center for Bioethics contains timely special reports, an extensive virtual library, and a Bioethics for Beginners Website with educational tools to help students learn more about what bioethics means and how to engage in bioethics research.

BioMed Central
[http://www.biomedcentral.com/]
Provides rapid identification and reporting of research in biological sciences and clinical medicine. Provides service for authors wishing to publish research reports using either full peer-review process or a pre-print non-peer-reviewed deposition.

Biomedical and Health Care Ethics Resources on WWW
[http://www.ethicsweb.ca/resources/bioethics/]
Interdisciplinary research for the advancement of applied ethics in the fields of health care and biomedical.

The Body
[http://www.thebody.com/index.html]
Site acts as a clearing house for the exchange of information for anyone interested in or living with AIDS or HIV.

Cancer Care
[http://www.cancercare.org/]
Easy to understand medical information. Site has information regarding insurance, support groups, causes, treatment, and prevention.

Cancer Genome Anatomy Project
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncicgap/]
National Cancer Institute has established CGAP to utilize interdisciplinary research teams to achieve a comprehensive molecular characterization of normal, precancerous, and malignant cells.

Cancer News on the Net
[http://www.cancernews.com/]
Current information on cancer diagnosis, treatment and prevention.

Center for Clinical Ethics and Humanities (University of Buffalo)
[http://wings.buffalo.edu/faculty/research/bioethics/index.htm]
http://www.buffalo.edu/news/releases/1996/10/4028.html

Center for Disease Control
[http://www.cdc.gov/]
Resources on diseases, health risks, prevention, guidelines and strategies information.

CHADD: Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder
[http://www.chadd.org/]
This site provides information on disability issues, online fact sheets of strategies for dealing with ADD, and links to documents from the US DE. Membership and chapter information also available.

Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
[http://www.scorecard.org/]
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.

Connecticut Department of Public Health
[http://www.dph.state.ct.us]
State of Connecticut Health Statistics and Information.

ConsumerLab.com
[http://www.consumerlab.com/]
The leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.

Country Health Profiles (Pan American Health Organization)
[http://www.paho.org/english/country.htm]
Data and analysis on health and related sociological factors in the nations of the Americas.

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)
[http://ergo.human.cornell.edu/]
Faculty and student research focused on enhancing usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.

Department of Health and Human Services
[http://www.hhs.gov/]
HHS has created a searchable database of selected HHS Internet resources, with brief descriptions and addresses to make it easier to find information.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
[https://www.dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/index.jsp]
DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Disability Information and Resources
[http://www.makoa.org/]
This directory of resources for the disabled includes links to fact sheets about spinal cord injuries and disabling conditions, books, resources for equipment, support groups, travel information, and government sources.

Drug Information Portal
[http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp]
Easily comprehensible and reliable up to date Drug Information from the National Library of Medicine

Drugs Fact Sheet (DEA)
[http://www.justice.gov/dea/druginfo/factsheets.shtml]
Provides information about effects and use of individual drugs. Includes statistics on illicit drug use in the US.

Drugs@FDA
[http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/drugsatfda/index.cfm]
A database listing most brand name and generic drug products approved by the Food and Drug Administration since 1939, including prescription and over-the-counter human drugs currently approved for sale in the U.S., as well as discontinued drugs.

ELDIS: Electronic Development Information
[http://www.eldis.org/go/topics]
Gateway to information sources on various global topics.

Employment and Disability (Catherwood Library, Cornell)
[http://www.ilr.cornell.edu/library/research/SubjectGuides/employmentAndDisability.html]
Carefully selected and annotated links to information for disabled workers and for employers.

The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
[http://www.npr.org/programs/death/trns.html]
Transcripts and audio of the acclaimed series segments.

Environmental Diseases from A to Z
[http://www.niehs.nih.gov/health/topics/atoz/]
Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.

The Extension Toxicology Network
[http://extoxnet.orst.edu/]
Searchable information database on pesticides, written for the nonexpert.

Food Safety - CDC
[http://www.cdc.gov/foodsafety/]
Food-related diseases affect tens of millions of people and kill thousands. Tracking single cases of foodborne illness and investigating outbreaks are critical public health functions in which CDC is deeply involved.

genome.gov
[http://www.genome.gov/]
Official site of the National Human Genome Research Institute.

H1N1 Searchable Information Center
[http://h1n1.ebrary.com/home.action]
Regularly updated web site on current information regarding the H1N1 influenza.

Health hotlines : toll-free numbers from the National Library of Medicine's DIRLINE database
[http://healthhotlines.nlm.nih.gov/]
The National Library of Medicine is pleased to offer this online database of health-related organizations operating toll-free telephone services. The database also includes information on services and publications available in Spanish.

Healthfinder
[http://www.healthfinder.gov/]
A gateway to selected federal and nonfederal health information resources. Its intention is to organize and identify reliable consumer-level health information.

The Heart: The Engine of Life
[https://www.fi.edu/heart-engine-of-life]
Virtual exploration of the heart which includes development, structure, blood and blood vessels, and heart sounds.

HIV InSite
[http://www.hivinsite.com/]
Comprehensive text book on HIV disease. Additional chapters will be posted. Clearinghouse for AIDS related information for practitioners, patients, and others. Includes resources, social issues, state statistics, US map. Searchable.

HIV/AIDS Information - SIS - Specialized Information Services - from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health
[http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/hiv.html]
This government site contains information on HIV/AIDS treatment, drug information, clinical trials, and consumer health information. Book and journal article information link the user to MEDLINE, PubMed, and other reliable sources.

Hospice Net
[http://www.hospicenet.org/]
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.

Human Anatomy Online
[http://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html]
Interactive anatomy of ten systems of the human body: muscular, digestive, skeletal, endocrine, lymphatic, cardiovascular, nervous, reproductive (male and female), and urinary. Users must enable Java in their browser to use the site.

InteliHealth
[http://www.intelihealth.net/]
Partnership of Aetna with the Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine provides quality consumer health care information including access to articles on various health issues.

Internet Addiction Guide
[http://psychcentral.com/netaddiction/]
In this article, John M. Grohol, Psy. D., presents "an objective source of information about Internet addiction, overuse, and pathology online.

Johns Hopkins ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides
[http://www.hopkinsguides.com/hopkins/ub]
Delivers comprehensive, reliable and timely sources of information for ABX, HIV/AIDS, and Diabetes care providers.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Orthopaedics
[http://www.hopkinsbayview.org/ortho/index.html]
Contains a comprehensive listing of orthopedic links, Real Media video clips on surgery, patient services and updated news.

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
[http://www.jointcenter.org]
Reports and statistics on public policy issues of special concern to black Americans and members of other minorities.

Lesbian and Gay Aging Issues Network (LAIN)
[http://www.asaging.org/lain]
This site quotes works to raise awareness about the special challenges that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) elders face as they age, and about the unique barriers these often invisible populations encounter in gaining access to housing, healthcare, long-term care and social services."

Library and Information Services Gateway (Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University)
[http://bioethics.georgetown.edu/]
Offers information on the ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of healthcare.

Lyman (UConn Health Center)
[http://library.uchc.edu/]
Access to all holdings of the Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.

Merck
[http://www.merck.com/]
Provides free full text access to the Merck Manual and a variety of other sources and products for both the health care professional and consumer.

National Cancer Institute - U.S. National Institutes of Health
[http://www.cancer.gov/]
about different types of cancer, clinical trials, research, and statistics on the disease and its treatment.

National Institutes of Health
[http://www.nih.gov/]
Under Health Information - resources for cancer, AIDS, bone marrow transplants, clinical alerts, etc.

National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
[http://bioethics.georgetown.edu/nrc/]
Specialized collection of materials relevant to medical ethics and biomedical research.

National Women's Health Information Center
[http://www.womenshealth.gov/]
A project of the U.S. Public Health Services Office on Women's Health, this site provides government data, journal abstracts, and information related to women's health issues.

NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
[http://www.drugabuse.gov/]
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

NLM Locator Plus
[http://locatorplus.gov/]
Search the catalog of the National Library of Medicine. Also links to Medline.

Nutrition.gov
[http://www.nutrition.gov/]
This USDA web site contains information about nutrition, food safety, consumer information, healthy eating, and physical activity. Users can perform basic and advanced searches, browse topics by subject, and view news.

Nutritional Genomics
[http://nutrigenomics.ucdavis.edu/]
This site focuses on providing information and news on issues related to diet and nutrition and how they influence human health.

OBGYN.net
[http://www.obgyn.net/]
Comprehensive, peer reviewed, international resource for professionals in obstetrics and gynecology, the medical industry, and the women they serve.

PandemicFlu.gov
[http://www.pandemicflu.gov/]
Comprehensive information compiled by the National Institutes of Health, on avian flu and the dangers of a worldwide flu pandemic.

Population Services International
[http://www.psi.org/]
Site provides country fact sheets explaining health problems addressed by PSI. Includes recent health research and evaluation, employment and internship opportunities.

Profiles in Science
[http://profiles.nlm.nih.gov/]
Focuses on the major scientific achievements of the twentieth century.

PSNet: Patient Safety Network
[http://psnet.ahrq.gov/]
Current issues in patient safety.

Quackwatch
[http://www.quackwatch.org/]
Website dedicated to "combating health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct" in the Health Sciences and Health Community.

Resources for the Future
[http://www.rff.org/]
Links and information on environmental and public health issues.

SciCentral
[http://www.scicentral.com/]
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.

Science.gov
[http://www.science.gov/]
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

SearchMedica
[http://www.searchmedica.co.uk/]
Access hundreds of high-quality Web sites. One time user registration is required, but site is free to use.

State Health Profiles (National Center for Health Statistics)
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/stateprofiles/usmap.htm]
Statistical information by state for mortality, health concerns, disease, etc. Data is provided in Excel spreadsheet.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Supercourse: Epidemiology, the Internet and Global Health
[http://www.pitt.edu/~super1/]
Global training program in public health.

TeenAIDS.org
[http://teenaids.org/]
Organization devoted to AIDS prevention in youth. Resources available on this site include a glossary of HIV/AIDS related terms, content in 14 languages, interactive forums, blogs, and personal stories from teens. TeenAIDS.org uses teen volunteers to help promote AIDS awareness and prevention in that age group.

Theoretical Models for Delivering Health Care
[http://www.amsa.org/AMSA/Homepage/About/Priorities/HCFA/DeliveringHC.aspx]
Explains basic concepts related to various health care payment models.

Tobacco Information and Prevention Source
[http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/index.htm]
Includes Surgeon General's reports, research and data on tobacco and smoking, guides on how to quit, as well as educational materials.

ToxMap: Environmental Health e-Maps
[http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov/toxmap/main/index.jsp]
Interactive, searchable maps linked to data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and the Superfund National Priorities List. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
[http://www.teacch.com/]
Division TEACCH provides general information about autism, an overview of different educational and communication approaches, as well as information on research and professional training opportunities

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

UNAIDS
[http://www.unaids.org/]
Main advocate for global action on HIV/AIDS. Country-specific estimates and data available. Full text of report from Thirteenth International AIDS Conference.

US Department of Health and Human Services
[http://www.hhs.gov/]
United States Health Statistics and Information.

USP (US Pharmacopeia)
[http://www.usp.org/]
Searchable database of descriptions, precautions and side effects of over 750 generic drugs. Contains information on standard development for drugs and dosage, accidental poisoning, understanding medications, tampering tips, etc.

Vesalius
[http://vesalius.com/]
A detailed collection of anatomical images and surgical techniques.

Virtual Autopsy
[http://www.le.ac.uk/pathology/teach/va/titlpag1.html]
Site presents seven real autopsies that allow user to click through the autopsy and arrive at cause of death. Clinical case histories and images with descriptions of various organs and system are provided.

Visible Human Project
[http://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html]
Digitized images of male and female human cadavers which are scanned using CAT and MRI techniques.

Web of Addictions
[http://www.well.com/user/woa/]
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.

Web Path
[http://www-medlib.med.utah.edu/WebPath/webpath.html]
Offers more than 1,900 images with texts and self-directed tutorials on various topics in basic pathology.

Web Site for Internal Medicine
[http://www.acponline.org/]
Meta site of selective annotated internal medicine topics. Includes selected articles from Annals of Internal Medicine and ACP Observer.

What is Autism? - From Autism Society of America (ASA)
[http://www.autism-society.org/site/PageServer]
Overview of autism and related disorders, including information on: characteristics, causes, diagnosis, and prevalence. Also includes an online course on autism (free).

WISER - Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
[http://webwiser.nlm.nih.gov/getHomeData.do]
This web-based version of the system designed for emergency responders using PDA technology enables users to search for toxic substances by physical characteristics, symptoms of patients, and gives treatment information.

World Health Organization
[http://www.who.int/en/]
Resources on organization, activities; WHO Gopher, WWW index and search engine.


Connecticut

2-1-1 Connecticut (Connecticut's community resources database)
[http://www.211ct.org/]
Information for approximately 4,600 health and human service providers and 48,000 service-sites to help meet your needs.

CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
[http://www.curenet.org/]
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.


Dictionaries

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.

Medi Lexicon
[http://www.medilexicon.com/]
Indexes over 10,000 pharmaceutical acronyms and abbreviations and their definitions.

The On-Line Medical Dictionary
[http://www.online-medical-dictionary.org/]
Brief definitions of terms in medicine and the sciences. Search or browse by word or topic. Be aware of British spelling and terminology.


Directories

American Hospital Directory
[http://www.ahd.com/]
Selected data on hospitals that treat Medicare patients. Data supplied by HCFA. More comprehensive information available only to (fee paying) subscribers.


Encyclopedias

Medical Encyclopedia via Medline
[http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/encyclopedia.html]
Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.


Statistics

HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
[http://hcupnet.ahrq.gov]
Easy access to national statistics on hospital stays. Searchable by diagnostic or procedure, then by outcome or other measure to generate statistics.

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/default.htm]
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
[http://www.statehealthfacts.org/]
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.

WISQARS: Web-based Inquiry Statistics and Report
[http://www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars/index.html]
Database produces custom reports on injury mortality, by cause, state, age, race, etc.


Statistics- International

National Statistics (UK)
[http://www.statistics.gov.uk/]
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.


Statistics- United States

FedStats
[http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/]
Easy to use search or browse access to statistics from over 100 government agencies. Selected regional as well as comprehensive national statistics.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.

Vital Statistics of the United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/data_access/Vitalstatsonline.htm]
Tables break down data on births, birth rates, and fertility rates by race, age, state and region, residency status, marital status and other indicators. Many tables include data from previous years some back to 1909.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Health Sciences