University of Hartford Libraries

Health Care Administration Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Career Opportunities in Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R690 .F54 2002

Directory of Schools for Alternative and Complementary Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .D59 1998

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukms]
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology.

Key Concepts in Public Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukph]
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbymed]
Known for its combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .E534 2007

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

Smoking and Health Resource Library (CDC)
[http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/]
Contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.


Periodicals

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

AcademyHealth
[http://www.academyhealth.org/]
Organization connecting health services researchers, health policymakers, and health providers. Includes publications and links to additional resources

Administrative Simplification
[http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/administrative/]
Proposed national standards to protect personal health information.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
[http://www.ahcpr.gov/]
Research, statistics, news, etc. on health care policy. Searchable. Formerly Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (HHS).

American College of Healthcare Executives
[http://www.ache.org/]
Highlights groundbreaking research, career development, and public policy programs. Promotes professional education.

America's Health Rankings
[http://www.americashealthrankings.org/]
Analyzes national health on a state-by-state basis.

Center for Clinical Ethics and Humanities (University of Buffalo)
[http://wings.buffalo.edu/faculty/research/bioethics/index.htm]
http://www.buffalo.edu/news/releases/1996/10/4028.html

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (HHS)
[https://www.cms.gov/]
Background, research, news, statistics, etc. from the federal agency that administers Medicare and Medicaid. Formerly Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)

The Commonwealth Fund
[http://cmwf.org/]
Research, publications, and other information from a health care policy group. Includes extensive related links.

The End of Life: Exploring Death in America
[http://www.npr.org/programs/death/trns.html]
Transcripts and audio of the acclaimed series segments.

Hospice Net
[http://www.hospicenet.org/]
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.

Hospital Compare
[http://www.hospitalcompare.hhs.gov/]
Patient Survey driven information collected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Institute for Healthcare Improvement
[http://www.ihi.org/ihi]
Organization working to improve the quality of healthcare in the U.S. Provides courses, sponsors conferences and research, includes links to related resources.

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
[http://www.jcaho.org/]
JCAHO accredits nearly 18,000 health care organizations and programs.

Kaiser Family Foundation Online
[http://www.kff.org/]
Surveys, research reports, Web links to additional information on health policy issues.

KaiserEDU
[http://www.kaiseredu.org/]
Resource for health policy analysis and information. Includes reference bibliographies, modules focusing on various policy issues, tutorials, and a syllabus library created by health policy professors

Lyman (UConn Health Center)
[http://library.uchc.edu/]
Access to all holdings of the Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.

Medicare and Medicaid at 40 (Kaiser Family Foundation)
[http://kff.org/medicaid/video/medicare-and-medicaid-at-40/]
Access to reports examining how these important health coverage programs were created and how they have changed over the years.

Medicare: The Official US Government Site for Medicare Information
[http://www.medicare.gov/]
Information for recipients and providers. Includes information, with comparisons, on managed care plans. Provides access to publications. Searchable.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
[http://www.osha.gov/]
Information about the agency's programs and services. Full text of selected publications. Links to related sites.

OSH.net
[http://osh.net/]
Links to a wide variety of information sources on all aspects of occupational safety and health issues.

PandemicFlu.gov
[http://www.pandemicflu.gov/]
Comprehensive information compiled by the National Institutes of Health, on avian flu and the dangers of a worldwide flu pandemic.

State Health Profiles (National Center for Health Statistics)
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp/stateprofiles/usmap.htm]
Statistical information by state for mortality, health concerns, disease, etc. Data is provided in Excel spreadsheet.

Theoretical Models for Delivering Health Care
[http://www.amsa.org/AMSA/Homepage/About/Priorities/HCFA/DeliveringHC.aspx]
Explains basic concepts related to various health care payment models.


Directories

American Hospital Directory
[http://www.ahd.com/]
Selected data on hospitals that treat Medicare patients. Data supplied by HCFA. More comprehensive information available only to (fee paying) subscribers.


Statistics

HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project)
[http://hcupnet.ahrq.gov]
Easy access to national statistics on hospital stays. Searchable by diagnostic or procedure, then by outcome or other measure to generate statistics.

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/default.htm]
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
[http://www.statehealthfacts.org/]
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Health Care Administration