University of Hartford Libraries

German Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

German Poetry in Song: an Index of Lieder
By Lawrence D. Snyder. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 S6 S57 & Suppl]

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpopger?institutionId=4005]
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.


Dictionaries

Business German Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusger]
Essential business vocabulary of German and English, with translations into the other language.

Collins German Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsgerman]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in German. Also have print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [PF3640 .C68 2007].


Databases

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Dictionary

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.


Websites

General Resources

19th Century German Stories (Virginia Commonwealth University)
[http://germanstories.vcu.edu/]
Texts in English and German, with famous illustrations, commentary; audio and visual selections.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
[http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html]
Hundreds of fairy tales and legends are presented in this site. It is arranged alphabetically by title o r topic. The country of origin is listed, as well, for easy reference.

German Electronic Texts Resources (University of Virginia and University of Trier)
[http://www.mhgta.uni-trier.de/index.html]
Electronic versions of texts in German.

German Language News and Magazines (MIT Libraries)
[http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176072&p=1158603]
Links to a wide variety of German, Austrian, and Swiss magazines and newspapers.

German Studies Trails on the Internet (University of North Carolina, Greensboro)
[http://www.uncg.edu/~lixlpurc/german.html]
Very well organized and maintained Web site covering many facets of German language, literature, art and culture. Fine additional supporting links.

German Studies Web (WESSWEB)
[http://wess.lib.byu.edu/index.php/German_Studies_Web]
Maintained by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this site "is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German studies, including German-speaking countries."

Goethe Institut
[http://www.goethe.de/]
Promotes the study of the German language abroad, including initiatives aimed at international cultural cooperation.

Grimms' Fairy Tales
[https://www.worldoftales.com/fairy_tales/Grimm_fairy_tales.html]
Collections of the Brothers Grimm tales as published in various English language editions, presented by the World of Tales.

Internet Resources for German (University of Sussex, UK)
[http://www.sussex.ac.uk/languages/resources/german]
Links include newspapers and journals on-line, teaching resources, and sources for research.

Projekt Gutenberg-De: Die digitale Bibliothek
[http://gutenberg.spiegel.de/]
Electronic full texts of over two hundred works of classical German literature: poetry, novellae, plays, and criticism. Short biographies of the authors included.

Voice of the Shuttle: German Literature (University of California, Santa Barbara)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=1226]
Extensive collection of German literature links with emphasis on 19th and 20th century writers.


Dictionaries

WordReference.com
[http://www.wordreference.com/]
Collins Dictionaries from HarperCollins, including English and bilingual.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=German