University of Hartford Libraries

Gender Studies Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625389&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns.

The Art of Black American Women: Works of Twenty-four Artists of the Twentieth Century
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 H45 1993

The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/camgwwie]
The book reflects the spread of literacy, the history of colonization and the development of post-colonial cultures using and changing the English language.

Career Options for Women Emerging Opportunities / [DVD Videorecording]
Mortensen Library Circulation Desk DVHF3395 (vol. 14)

Contemporary Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .C66 1999

The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarfe?institutionId=4005]
Reference guide to feminist economics.

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405209&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412610&contentSegment=9781414412610]
Focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Homosexuality and Science: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcbiohome?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive resource exploring the role of science and scientific discovery in the nature versus pathology debate surrounding homosexuality.

Intercollegiate Athletics Status of Efforts to Promote Gender Equity : Report to the Honorable Cardiss Collins, House of Representatives
[http://www.gao.gov/archive/1997/he97010.pdf]
National Report on Gender Equity to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1997.

Key Concepts in Feminist Theory and Research
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/sageukftr?institutionId=4005]
Tool for students taking courses in feminist theory and research methods, and students across the social sciences who are taking courses concerned with issues of gender.

Latin American Women Artists of the United States : the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.H58 H46 1999

The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hupwh?institutionId=4005]
Complete information on women's health concerns, physical and behavioral.

The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rcuswh]
Critical events, issues, and individuals that shaped American women's history.

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pershope?institutionId=4005]
Indispensable compilation of the words that have changed American history.

The Sexual Victimization of College Women
[https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/182369.pdf]
The Department of Justice report offers a comprehensive look into the prevalence and nature of sexual assault occurring at American colleges.

Trends in Educational Equity of Girls & Women
[http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2000030]
This report examines "the extent to which males and females have access to the same educational opportunities." It gives data, primarily from NCES surveys, involving 44 indicators of equality in education opportunities, success, and outcomes.

Women Artists in the United States: a Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .W65 1990

Women's History as Scientists: A Guide to the Debates
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcwoscie?institutionId=4005]
Historical review of the debates surrounding women's contributions to science, with emphasis on access to education, training, and professional careers.


Biographies

African American Women Playwrights: A Research Guide
Mortensen Library Reference [PS153.N5 G29 1999]

A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarwe?institutionId=4005]
Historical biographies of women economists.

An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routwfilm]
Collection profiling many of the women who were crucial in the development of cinema as an industry.

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/macdwb?institutionId=4005]
Biographical information on notable women around the world.

The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penbdw]
Biographical information on notable women around the world.

Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History, Routledge
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/routgayandles]
Gay and lesbian history from antiquity to the middle of the 20th century.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998

Feminist Philosophies A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghfem]
A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy from Abject to Naomi Zack.


Encyclopedias

Black Women in America
Mortensen Library Reference E185.86 .B542 2005

Civil Rights in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 C47 2000

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/gwyouth]
Brings new understanding to the complex and fluid phenomenon of youth culture.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprsg]
A unique reference work for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender.

Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Mortensen Library Reference HV6046 .E56 2000

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estwomen?institutionId=4005]
Discusses psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcwsr?institutionId=4005]
Women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present.

Encyclopedia of Women's Autobiography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcwautob]
This encyclopedia overviews women autobiographers and autobiography from the Middle Ages to the present.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

African Women's Bibliographic Database
[http://www.africabib.org/women.html]
English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
[http://inpress.lib.uiowa.edu/Feminae/default.aspx]
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

Media Education Foundation (MEF) Media Studies & Communication Collection (Kanopy)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://hartford.kanopystreaming.com]
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentaries about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. This site streams full-length films about gender studies and the media.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.

Women Working, 1870-1930
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/]
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.


Periodicals

Women and Music


Websites

General Resources

About-face
[http://www.about-face.org/]
Web site providing resources and suggestions of action to combat negative and distorted images of women in the media. Archive of images from magazines, billboards, TV and newspapers.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
[http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/]
A collection of 52 works by African American women reproduced digitally by the Schomburg Center of the New York Public Library. Included are poetry, fiction, biography, autobiography and essays. Searchable by author, title, genre, and keywords in the text.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

American Women's History: A Research Guide
[http://digital.mtsu.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/women]
A clearly organized research guide providing links to biographical and reference sources, indexes of state and regional history resources, and a subject index. Information on finding primary sources, books , articles and theses is available.

Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.aaa.si.edu/]
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.

Business Women's Network Interactive
[http://www.bwni.com/]
The goal of this site is to provide "women with the real tools for financial success." This site serves business women, women entrepreneurs, and companies marketing to professional women with career information, a news and features section, information about conferences, meetings and seminars, updates on publications and a BWN directory.

A Celebration of Women Writers
[http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/]
Biographical information and links to many full text works of women writers in all fields from every country and historical period, from 3000 B.C. to the present. Searchable by name, date, country or ethnicity

Civil War Women (Special Collections Library, Duke University)
[http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/collections/digitized/civil-war-women]
NEH Award-winning site providing transcripts and scanned images of writing by women during the Civil War period.

Diotima: Women and Gender in the Ancient World (University of Kentucky)
[http://www.stoa.org/diotima/]
Exceptional resource on women in the ancient world, with searchable links on feminist theory and criticism, bibliographical sources, and downloadable visual images.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement (Special Collections Library, Duke University
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/]
Important, expanding website devoted to providing online primary source materials relating to the Women's Movement.

ELDIS: Electronic Development Information
[http://www.eldis.org/go/topics]
Gateway to information sources on various global topics.

EVE Online
[http://eve.enviroweb.org]
EVE (Ecofeminist Visions Emerging) Online is an important site for the international ecofeminist community providing essays on the subject and links to other related sites as well as a bibliography of important books.

Five College Archives Digital Access Project
[http://clio.fivecolleges.edu/]
A developing digital archive of more than 24,000 items dealing primarily with women's history and the history of women's education at the Five Colleges(Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith, UMASS). The materials are primarily textual documents, handwritten manuscripts and printed publications.

Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
[http://glsen.org/]
GLSEN works to eliminate anti-gay bias in schools. Featured on this site are an online resource library, curriculum materials, and an annotated bibliography of children's books with gay and lesbian characters.

Gender Equality (AFL-CIO)
[https://aflcio.org/issues/gender-equality]
Advocacy, statistics, links, etc. on issues of special interest to working women.

GenderNet (World Bank)
[http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/gender]
Information about programs run by the World Bank designed to reduce gender disparities and enhance women's participation in economic development. Includes statistics, policy documents, and links to related sites.

Internet Women's History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
[http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/women/womensbook.html]
A collection of historical texts for educational use covering women from ancient history to modern times. Topics are covered for individual countries within specific historical periods.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Lesbian and Gay Aging Issues Network (LAIN)
[http://www.asaging.org/lain]
This site quotes works to raise awareness about the special challenges that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) elders face as they age, and about the unique barriers these often invisible populations encounter in gaining access to housing, healthcare, long-term care and social services."

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Living the Legacy: The Women's Rights Movement, 1848-1998
[http://www.legacy98.org/]
A resource for planning and researching the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the first women's rights convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19 and 20, 1848.

National Center for Women and Information Technology
[https://www.ncwit.org/]
Promotes women's involvement in IT by providing links to information about training, books, news articles, speakers, etc.

The National Women's Hall of Fame
[http://www.womenofthehall.org/]
The National Women's Hall of Fame seeks to increase the awareness of women's contribution to American history and culture and their struggle for equal rights. This site contains the biographies of the inductees, an extensive bibliography of women's resources and a history of the First Women's Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls.

National Women's Health Information Center
[http://www.womenshealth.gov/]
A project of the U.S. Public Health Services Office on Women's Health, this site provides government data, journal abstracts, and information related to women's health issues.

National Women's History Project
[http://www.nwhp.org/]
This site is sponsored by a nonprofit organization that started the drive for Women's History Month. Its goal is to promote awareness of women's history. Links are provided to speakers and performers, events and celebrations, and other women's history sites . Includes a timeline of women's history.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

NOW - The National Organization for Women
[http://www.now.org/]
Unlimited links to women's resources on the Net, including full text access to the National NOW Times.

OBGYN.net
[http://www.obgyn.net/]
Comprehensive, peer reviewed, international resource for professionals in obstetrics and gynecology, the medical industry, and the women they serve.

Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
[http://clas.uiowa.edu/commstudies/resources]
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa

Planetout
[https://www.facebook.com/PlanetOutcom-109615294080/]
Worldwide online community of gay, lesbian, bi, and trans people.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture (Duke University)
[http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/]
Sponsored by the Small Business Administration, this training site for entrepreneurial women provides access to articles on marketing, finance, management, technology, etc. Message Boards are available for exchanging ideas.

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography
[http://lawevents.rutgers.edu/resources/SSM.php]
Books, Web sites, and articles from scholarly journals on the topic of same-sex marriage are presented. Articles are from 1997 forward.

Sexual Harassment Resources
[https://uncg.libguides.com/c.php?g=83098&p=538310]
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Voices from the Gaps (University of Minnesota)
[http://voices.cla.umn.edu/]
Biographical and bibliographical articles on women writers of color from throughout the US. Searchable in several ways including by ethnic/racial identity.

WGSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites (Association of College and Research Libraries)
[http://www.libr.org/wgss/wgsslinks/index.html]
Final document from the United Nations General Assembly special session "Women 2000." The document is included in full text, along with live and archived webcasts, press releases, background in formation and related links. Real Player needed.

Women in America, 1820-1842
[http://teachinghistory.org/history-content/website-reviews/22774]
A more complete and varied picture of the life of American women. Excerpts from the writings of European travelers of t he period, arranged by topic or author.

Women in Technology International (WITI)
[http://www.witi.com/]
An international resource for women in science and technology. Includes information on career opportunities.

Women in World History Curriculum
[http://womeninworldhistory.com/]
This site primarily is geared toward introducing the concept of women's studies in middle school and high school world history classes. Although this is a commercial site, many of the entries have free sample activities for the unit.

Women's Human Rights Resources
[http://library.law.utoronto.ca/iframe/womens-human-rights-resources-database]
Searchable web site covering twenty-six women's issue s including education, feminist theory and political rights. Each topic area has three sections: articles; documents; some full text and links to other sources.

Women's Legal History Biography Project
[http://womenslegalhistory.stanford.edu/]
A collection of biographical papers by students at Stanford University Law School. The subjects include living and historic women lawyers. The site includes an index to the profiles, articles, research leads, bibliographies, photographs, and links to other sources.

Women's Studies Database: Film Reviews (University of Maryland)
[http://mith.umd.edu/WomensStudies/FilmReviews/]
Full-text of reviews and interviews, mostly by L.L. McAlister, a radio commentator, and C. Fuchs, a college professor.

Women's Studies Librarian's Office
[http://womenst.library.wisc.edu/]
Links to Women's Studies materials on the Intern et, compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the American Library Association.

WomenWatch: The UN Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women
[http://www.un.org/womenwatch/]
This comprehensive site provides a follow-up to Beijing, information on conferences, a news and views section, and statistics and indicators.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Biographies

Biographies of Women Mathematicians
[http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.htm]
Student generated biographies are part of an expanding class project. Provides bibliographical references and in some cases photographs.


Connecticut

Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame
[http://www.cwhf.org/]
This sites provides biographical information on Connecticut women, past and present, who have "broken new ground." It honors the achievements of these women who are considered leaders in their fields.


Statistics

National Women's Health Information Center
[http://www.womenshealth.gov/]
A project of the U.S. Public Health Services Office on Women's Health, this site provides government data, journal abstracts, and information related to women's health issues.

UNECE's Gender Statistics
[http://www.unece.org/stats/gender/]
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe has posted comparative gender statistics from all of its member countries in a database that allows users to create their own tables by selecting relevant criteria. Also included are government policy statements and time use surveys.

Women in the Labor Force: A Databook (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
[http://www.bls.gov/cps/wlf-databook.htm]
Statistical tables on women and work, most covering from the 1970s or 1980s to the present.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Gender Studies