University of Hartford Libraries

French Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005


Dictionaries

Business French Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusfr]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of business: insurance, stock exchange, accounting, finance, and computing.

Collins French Dictionary and Grammar
[http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/collinsfrench]
Complete and up-to-date coverage of all the words and phrases you need in French


Databases

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Dictionary

bab.la (Multi-Language Dictionary)
[http://en.bab.la/dictionary/]
Free online platform for language lovers with 40 dictionaries for 28 languages, a language forum, vocabulary lessons, language games, quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.


Websites

General Resources

ClicNet (Swarthmore College)
[http://www.swarthmore.edu/Humanities/clicnet/]
Award-winning site with numerous links to French language, literature, and cultural resources.

French Language News and Magazines (MIT Libraries)
[http://libguides.mit.edu/c.php?g=176072&p=1158687]
Links to a wide variety of French and French Canadian magazines and newspapers.

French Studies Web (WESSWEB)
[http://wess.lib.byu.edu/index.php/French_Studies_Web]
Maintained by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

On-line French Texts (University of Virginia)
[http://search.lib.virginia.edu/?f[digital_collection_facet][]=UVa+Text+Collection&f[language_facet][]=French&facet.limit=500&id=digital_collection_facet&sort=year_multisort_i+desc&sort_key=published&width=490]
Electronic versions of texts in French; links to many other resources on the Internet.

Paris
[http://www.paris.org/]
Classic, award-winning site combining a photographic tour of Paris with historical comments in French and English.

Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links (University of Tennessee at Martin)
[http://www.utm.edu/staff/bobp/french/french.html]
Second edition of this legendary French links site, with everything from art to business to literature. A Francophone's dream.

Voice of the Shuttle: French Literature (University of California, Santa Barbara)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=961]
Impressive collection of French literature links from the Middle Ages to contemporary writing and criticism.


Dictionaries

WordReference.com
[http://www.wordreference.com/]
Collins Dictionaries from HarperCollins, including English and bilingual.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=French