University of Hartford Libraries

Ethnic-American Cultures Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abccanada]
Comprehensive reference that takes readers on a chronological tour of Canada's ethnic history.

A Historical Guide to World Slavery
Mortensen Library Reference HT861 .H59 1998

Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/pershope?institutionId=4005]
Indispensable compilation of the words that have changed American history.


Encyclopedias

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcafatrle?institutionId=4005]
Explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas

Civil Rights in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 C47 2000

Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.S75 E587 2005

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
Mortensen Library Reference E169.1 .E624 2001

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
Mortensen Library Reference E169.12 .E49 2001

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 E574 2000

Encyclopedia of New England: the Culture and History of an American Region
Mortensen Library Reference F4 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403999999]
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.

Racial and Ethnic Relations in America
Mortensen Library Reference E49 .R33 2000


Primary Documents

Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 C57 2004

Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Mortensen Library Reference PS663.M55 V64 1996


Statistics

Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
[http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/employment/jobpat-eeo1/]
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.

The Official Guide to Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 R8 1996

Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference E184.A1 H417 2000


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

ProQuest Social Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/socscijournals?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of social science journals. The database includes over 530 titles, with more than 300 available in full text.


Periodicals

American Ethnologist
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/journal/118902573/home?CRETRY=1&SRETRY=0]
Mortensen Library Periodicals GN1 .A53 (Microfilm 1974-1982; Bound 1983-2008; ONLINE 1997-present)

Ethnomusicology


Websites

Ethnographic Studies Resources
[http://www.loc.gov/folklife/other.html]
A Library of Congress internet resource for information on Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore and Folk life.

Japanese American Exhibit and Access Project (University of Washington Libraries)
[http://www.lib.washington.edu/exhibits/harmony/]
Important online resource for primary documents, archival materials, and photographic images relating to the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Literary Resources on the Net (Rutgers University)
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/%7Ejlynch/Lit/]
All periods and genres of English and American literature; links to texts, bibliographies, scholarly articles and more.

Online Communication Studies Resources: The University of Iowa
[http://clas.uiowa.edu/commstudies/resources]
Extensive listing of all aspects of Communication studies from the University of Iowa

Police Assessment Resource Center
[http://www.parc.info/]
This information clearinghouse tracks the race, ethnicity, and gender of those who are stopped and/or searched by the police.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Voices from the Gaps (University of Minnesota)
[http://voices.cla.umn.edu/]
Biographical and bibliographical articles on women writers of color from throughout the US. Searchable in several ways including by ethnic/racial identity.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Ethnic-American Cultures