University of Hartford Libraries

Environmental Sciences Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405070&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.

American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghael]
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.

Career Opportunities in Conservation and the Environment
Career Services Shelves S945 .G74 2008

Energy Alternatives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189184&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses development of renewable energy sources such as wind, solar, and geothermal power.

Environmental Debate a Documentary History, with Timeline, Glossary, and Appendices
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghed]
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414406268&contentSegment=9781414406268]
Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.

Field Guide to Rivers of North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estrivers]
Describes North America's most significant rivers in a reader-friendly, concise format. The guide is organized by geographic regions - each section begins with a map showing the relationship of rivers within one territory and a summary of the region's most important elements

Global Warming
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189214&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the many negative effects of rising temperatures on earth, and prevailing theories on what is causing the rise.

Guide to Global Hazards
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsglobalhaz]
Illustrated guide to the large-scale disasters that affect life on earth.

Handbook of Environmental Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/gwenvsoc?institutionId=4005]
provides overviews of key topics in the field, summarizing and synthesizing existing research.

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgargep?institutionId=4005]
Dynamic and energetic debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.

A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarhgep?institutionId=4005]
Provides a state-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy National Government Interventions in a Global Arena
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgarhgep]
State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

Living Planet Report (WWF)
[http://www.worldwildlife.org/publications/living-blue-planet-report-2015]
Report analyzes environmental data in conjunction with global consumption patterns to calculate the cumulative effect humankind has on the earth's ecosystem. Enhanced site requires Macromedia Flash and RealPlayer.

Princeton Guide to Ecology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prge]
Covers everything from the fundamentals of ecology to its applications to conservation biology, climate change and implications for ecosystems, as well as general problems of managing the biosphere and fisheries management. There also are several chapters on ecological economics, a new and rapidly developing field that examines the interplay between ecology and economics.

Rivers of North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estrivers]
Exploratory guide to the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental aspects of North America's rivers.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmsciencedict]
Dictionary of all major concepts of science.

Collins Dictionary of Biology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbiology]
Dictionary of all major concepts of biology.

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyenvsci]
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management from Abatement to Zooplankton.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.


Directories

Environmental Guidebook: a Selective Reference Guide to Environmental Organizations and Related Entities
Mortensen Library Reference TD171 .S76 2002


Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bkeeem]
Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.

Encyclopedia of Ecotourism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cabiecotour]
Includes definitions and other contextual material, regional perspectives, venues, impacts, planning and management considerations, and issues associated with ecotourism businesses, research and training.

Encyclopedia of Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estenergy]
Provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy

Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403999999]
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414428840&contentSegment=9781414428840]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Encyclopedia of Water Science - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693985&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Topics covered include lakes and streams, oceans, aquatic animals, weather and climate, glaciers, wetlands, ecology, hydropower, commercial fishing, acid rain, recreation, pollution, economics, water conservation, international water law, global warming and much more.

Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414418858&contentSegment=9781414418858]
Provides information on the scientific aspects of various types of disasters including: blizzards, earthquakes, flooding, tornadoes, volcanoes, and wildfires.

Endangered Species
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780787692995&contentSegment=9780787692995]
Color photographs and maps provide further illustrate the many species threatened by extinction, including amphibians, birds, crustaceans, fish, insects, mammals, mollusks, reptiles, and more.

Environmental Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3404899999&q=a23uh]
Search 2 volumes of the 2003 encyclopedia, providing in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Provides current status, analysis and suggested solutions whenever possible. UofH only.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routenvpol?institutionId=4005]
Essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore many topics in international environmental politics.


Statistics- International

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Agricola
[http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/]
One of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced]
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/]
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

Coldregions Bibliography
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/Search/Advanced]
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GREENfile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=8gh]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/hero/]
Sources dealing with risk assessment of humans and ecosystems deemed important by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

PrimateLit
[http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu]
Research in primatology, covering ecology, biology, psychology, health sciences and other fields. Citations of articles in journals dating since 1940. Managed by the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, with funding from the National Institutes of Health. Bibliography.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

Public Library of Science
[http://www.plos.org/]
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

Science Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=sch]
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Periodicals

Applied and Environmental Microbiology
[http://aem.asm.org/]
Free full-text journal available through PubMed.


Websites

General Resources

AirNow
[http://www.epa.gov/airnow/]
Contains information about air pollution and its effects on health.

American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/icuhtml/]
Photographs documenting natural environments in the US at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth century.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Best Environment Directories
[http://www.ulb.ac.be/ceese/meta/cdscom.html]
Extensive list of environmental directories and Internet sites, arranged in subject order.

Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
[http://www.scorecard.org/]
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.

Climate Analysis Branch
[http://www.cdc.noaa.gov/psd1/]
Includes a broad overview of climate diagnostics to research summaries on interseasonal/interannual climate variability.

Earth Island Institute
[http://www.earthisland.org/]
Develops and supports projects that counteract threats to the biological and cultural diversity that sustain the environment.

ELDIS: Electronic Development Information
[http://www.eldis.org/go/topics]
Gateway to information sources on various global topics.

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (USDE)
[http://energy.gov/eere/office-energy-efficiency-renewable-energy]
US Department of Energy. Contains consumer friendly information on the latest energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies.

Energy Information Administration
[http://www.eia.doe.gov/]
EIA is an independent statistical and analytical agency within the US Department of Energy. Site maintains comprehensive data and information relevant to energy resources, Web links, production, demand and technology.

ENN Online (Environmental News Network)
[http://www.enn.com/]
Timely presentation of news, information, and resources on the environment.

Envirofacts Warehouse
[http://www3.epa.gov/enviro/]
Provides the public with a single source for Environmental Protection Agency information, pollution levels, grants, toxic waste handlers, and related WWW sites.

Environmental Diseases from A to Z
[http://www.niehs.nih.gov/health/topics/atoz/]
Beyond the "alphabet diseases" is a site rich with suggested lesson plans, grades k-12, in environmental diseases, their causes, and some preventative measures.

Environmental Network News
[http://www.enn.com/]
ENN covers environmental issues all over the globe. Their categories includeA: wildlife, agriculture, energy, polluntion, health and more. The archive goes back to 1970.

Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley)
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/environmentalplanning_links.html]
A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley.

EVE Online
[http://eve.enviroweb.org]
EVE (Ecofeminist Visions Emerging) Online is an important site for the international ecofeminist community providing essays on the subject and links to other related sites as well as a bibliography of important books.

The Extension Toxicology Network
[http://extoxnet.orst.edu/]
Searchable information database on pesticides, written for the nonexpert.

Fuel Economy (US Department of Energy)
[http://www.fueleconomy.gov/]
Information on mileage, emissions, safety, etc. for new and used cars and trucks. Provides additional information on fuel economy and advanced technology, as well as links to related sites.

Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/]
Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective.

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

Green Design; Sustainable Architecture: Resources
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/GreenAll.html]
UC Berkeley Environmental Design Library extensive bibliography on sustainable design of buildings. Links to additional research guides on solar design, daylighting, and other design topics.

Gulf of Mexico Studies (Harte Research Institute)
[http://www.harteresearchinstitute.org/]
Encourages long-term sustainability and conservation of the Gulf of Mexico.

Indoor Air Quality
[http://www.epa.gov/iaq/]
Information on common sources and health effects of indoor pollution.

International Spill Control Organization
[http://www.spillcontrol.org/]
Aims to raise worldwide preparedness and co-operation in response to oil and chemical spills, to promote technical development and professional competency, and to provide a focus for making the knowledge and experience of spill control professionals available to IMO, UNEP, EC and other organisations. Has International Directory for Spill Responses on page.

National Council for Science and the Environment
[https://www.ncseglobal.org/]
Provides free unbiased information on a wide range of environmental issues.

National Digital Library (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service)
[http://digitalmedia.fws.gov/]
Browse or search for images of animals, bodies of water, environmental issues, habitats/landscapes, biological management, and plants. Many images are in the public domain.

North American Association for Environmental Education
[https://naaee.org/eepro/resources]
This resource list for environment education presents information and ideas to help educators and students.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

Resources for the Future
[http://www.rff.org/]
Links and information on environmental and public health issues.

Science.gov
[http://www.science.gov/]
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Tapestry of Time and Terrain
[http://pubs.usgs.gov/imap/i2720/]
Contains information about topography and geology of the continental United States along with geologic time.

ToxMap: Environmental Health e-Maps
[http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov/toxmap/main/index.jsp]
Interactive, searchable maps linked to data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and the Superfund National Priorities List. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP-WCMC)
[http://www.unep-wcmc.org/]
Purpose is the location and management of information on the conservation and use of the world's living resources. Site provides statistics, maps, national biodiversity profiles, and lists of threatened animals and plants (plants are available for Europe only).

Urban Environmental Management from The Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/uem/]
Articles, links and information on aspects and issues with urban environmental management.

US Environment Protection Agency Information
[http://www.epa.gov/]
Users can search or browse over 6,000 EPA documents.

US Geological Survey
[http://www.usgs.gov/]
Provides information in the areas of hazards, natural resources, environment, and information management. Striking images.

US Long Term Ecological Research Network
[http://www.lternet.edu/]
Consortium of scientists and students investigating ecological processes operating at time scales and over broad spatial scales.

Virtual Earthquake
[http://www.sciencecourseware.org/virtualearthquake/]
Interactive online simulations of the earth.

Web Soil Survey
[http://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/HomePage.htm]
Provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.


Statistics

NRCSE - National Research Center for Statistics and the Environment
[http://www.stat.washington.edu/NRCSE/]
EPA funded cross-disciplinary research organization, specializing in statistical methodology.

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.


Statistics- International

National Statistics (UK)
[http://www.statistics.gov.uk/]
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.


Statistics- United States

FedStats
[http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/]
Easy to use search or browse access to statistics from over 100 government agencies. Selected regional as well as comprehensive national statistics.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Environmental Sciences