University of Hartford Libraries

Environmental Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405070&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.

American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ghael]
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.

Career Opportunities in Conservation and the Environment
Career Services Shelves S945 .G74 2008

Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414406268&contentSegment=9781414406268]
Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.

EPA New England Topics
[http://www2.epa.gov/aboutepa/epa-region-1-new-england]
Links to helpful PDF's on construction and architectural design of Green buildings specifically pertinent to New England and branching out Nationally.

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
Mortensen Library Shelves TD9 .W43 2000

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyenvsci]
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management from Abatement to Zooplankton.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.

Photonics Dictionary
[http://www.photonics.com/Directory/Dictionary/Default.aspx]
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.


Directories

Environmental Guidebook: a Selective Reference Guide to Environmental Organizations and Related Entities
Mortensen Library Reference TD171 .S76 2002


Encyclopedias

Building the World: an Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History
Mortensen Library Reference T56 .I44 2006

The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bkeeem]
Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.

Encyclopedia of Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estenergy]
Provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy

Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414418858&contentSegment=9781414418858]
Provides information on the scientific aspects of various types of disasters including: blizzards, earthquakes, flooding, tornadoes, volcanoes, and wildfires.

Environmental Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3404899999&q=a23uh]
Search 2 volumes of the 2003 encyclopedia, providing in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Provides current status, analysis and suggested solutions whenever possible. UofH only.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced]
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GREENfile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=8gh]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/hero/]
Sources dealing with risk assessment of humans and ecosystems deemed important by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Websites

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (USDE)
[http://energy.gov/eere/office-energy-efficiency-renewable-energy]
US Department of Energy. Contains consumer friendly information on the latest energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies.

Energy Information Administration
[http://www.eia.doe.gov/]
EIA is an independent statistical and analytical agency within the US Department of Energy. Site maintains comprehensive data and information relevant to energy resources, Web links, production, demand and technology.

Environmental Design Library
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/]
Links to useful resources for Architecture, City Planning, Environmental Planning, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design

Environmental Network News
[http://www.enn.com/]
ENN covers environmental issues all over the globe. Their categories includeA: wildlife, agriculture, energy, polluntion, health and more. The archive goes back to 1970.

Environmental Planning Online (UC Berkeley)
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/environmentalplanning_links.html]
A selection of websites pertaining to environmental planning, supporting landscape architecture, environmental planning, and city planning programs at the University of California, Berkeley.

Fuel Economy (US Department of Energy)
[http://www.fueleconomy.gov/]
Information on mileage, emissions, safety, etc. for new and used cars and trucks. Provides additional information on fuel economy and advanced technology, as well as links to related sites.

Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/]
Independent nonprofit think tank that carries out initiatives in education, research and practice, in the spheres of environment, urban, community and information, and at scales that are effective.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

Green Design; Sustainable Architecture: Resources
[http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/GreenAll.html]
UC Berkeley Environmental Design Library extensive bibliography on sustainable design of buildings. Links to additional research guides on solar design, daylighting, and other design topics.

International Spill Control Organization
[http://www.spillcontrol.org/]
Aims to raise worldwide preparedness and co-operation in response to oil and chemical spills, to promote technical development and professional competency, and to provide a focus for making the knowledge and experience of spill control professionals available to IMO, UNEP, EC and other organisations. Has International Directory for Spill Responses on page.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

ToxMap: Environmental Health e-Maps
[http://toxmap.nlm.nih.gov/toxmap/main/index.jsp]
Interactive, searchable maps linked to data from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and the Superfund National Priorities List. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

Urban Environmental Management from The Global Development Research Center
[http://www.gdrc.org/uem/]
Articles, links and information on aspects and issues with urban environmental management.

US Environment Protection Agency Information
[http://www.epa.gov/]
Users can search or browse over 6,000 EPA documents.

World Wildlife Fund (WWF)
[http://www.panda.org/]
Extensive information on endangered animals.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Environmental Engineering