University of Hartford Libraries

Entrepreneurial Studies Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/guide/guide2/guide2_main.html]
Compiled by business reference specialists at the Library of Congress to help beginners (and established business owners who keep meeting new problems) find sources that can guide them to the right questions and the best answers.

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Researching Private Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HD2771 .H695


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Campbell R. Harvey's Hyptertextual Finance Glossary
[http://www.duke.edu/~charvey/Classes/wpg/glossary.htm]
Brief definitions of over 3,600 terms, with links to related terms and to terms in definitions.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.


Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Entrepreneurship
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.


Statistics - United States

Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
[http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/employment/jobpat-eeo1/]
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

BNA Tax Management Portfolios
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://taxandaccounting.bna.com/btac/]
The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
[http://www.fcpubhub.net/gainknowledge/cnl/contents.html]
Citations for articles, books, media resources and grey literature from the nonprofit sector.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

Entrepreneurship Corner
[http://ecorner.stanford.edu/]
Videos and podcasts related to entrepreneurship sponsored by Stanford University.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.


Websites

General Resources

BPlans.com
[http://www.bplans.com/]
Searchable collection of sample business or marketing plans, as well as planning tools, how tos, information on financing, etc. Purchase of their software not required.

BusinessUSA.gov
[http://business.usa.gov/]
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/site/default.asp]
Information for the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs all of which are designed to enhance Connecticut's communities and business and housing environments.

Connecticut Development Authority
[http://www.ct.gov/]
Provides debt financing and investment capital to help businesses grow in Connecticut.

Edward Lowe Foundation
[http://edwardlowe.org]
Promotes entrepreneurship as a strategy for economic growth and community development.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Entrepreneur.com
[http://www.entrepreneur.com/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

The Entrepreneurial Center (University of Hartford)
[http://www.hartford.edu/cpd/ec/default.aspx]
Information about the Center's work to "help people achieve financial independence through self-employment," including lists of courses and workshops. Also links to regional information sources.

Entrepreneurship Research Portal (Kauffman Foundation)
[http://www.kauffman.org/what-we-do/entrepreneurship]
Extensive collection of links to research sites and reports on all aspects of entrepreneurship.

Entrepreneurship.org
[http://www.entrepreneurship.org/]
Variety of information for entrepreneurs, aimed at growing their businesses.

The European Patent Office
[http://worldwide.espacenet.com/?locale=EN_ep]
Keyword searching of patents world wide. Some available in the original language as full text in PDF form. Most have English abstracts.

GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
[http://www.gemconsortium.org/]
An annual assessment of the entrepreneurial activity, aspirations and attitudes of individuals across a wide range of countries.

Global Entrepreneurship Center (Florida International University)
[http://business.fiu.edu/entrepreneurship/index.cfm]
Links to entrepreneurial information.

inc.com
[http://www.inc.com/welcome.html?destination=http://www.inc.com/]
News, advice, online tools, etc. for the entrepreneur, drawn from Inc magazine.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Minority Business Development Agency
[http://www.mbda.gov/]
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

Patents and Trademark Resources (LSU Libraries)
[http://guides.lib.lsu.edu/ptrc]
Links to information on intellectual property, patents and trademarks. Includes both government and non-governmental sources.

SCORE: Business Resources
[https://www.score.org/]
Web links and other information of particular interest to entrepreneurs and small business. Much is valuable for any business research.

Small Business Administration
[http://www.sba.gov/]
Information and advice for starting and running a small business. Includes information for non-profits.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (U.S. Agency for International Development)
[http://www.usaid.gov/]
Database of international developments published by USAID. The most recent reports are available for downloading, older ones may be order ed online.

USPTO Web Patent Database
[http://www.uspto.gov/patft/]
Search the full text of US patents issued since January 1, 1996. Updated weekly. Also, provides access to a database of a selected AIDS-related patents from the US, Japan and Europe.


Connecticut

Connecticut Economic Resource Center, Inc.
[http://www.cerc.com/]
Gateway to business services offered by state agencies.

CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
[http://www.curenet.org/]
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.

Hartford Economic Development Commission
[http://www.hedco-ghbdc.com/]
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.

State of Connecticut, Department of Revenue Services
[http://www.ct.gov/drs]
State tax forms (download and print using Adobe Acrobat) and other information.


Directories

Chamber of Commerce International Directory
[http://chamber-of-commerce.com]
Searchable database of information from and about Chambers of Commerce and cities/states/provinces around the world.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Entrepreneurial Studies