University of Hartford Libraries

Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405070&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
While there is significant discussion of the non-renewable resources now used to meet the majority of the world's energy needs (oil, coal and natural gas), the primary focus of the set is on newer options to meet the ever-growing demand.

ANSI/NISO Z39.18 - 2005 (R2010) Scientific and Technical Reports - Preparation, Presentation, and Preservation
[http://www.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6497/Scientific%20and%20Technical%20Reports%20-%20Preparation%2C%20Presentation%2C%20and%20Preservation.pdf]
This standard outlines the elements, organization and design of scientific and technical reports, including guidance for uniform presentation of front and back matter, text, and visual and tabular matter in print and digital formats, as well as recommendations for multimedia reports.

Architectural Graphic Standards (Ramsey/Sleeper)
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R35 2000

Architectural Graphic Standards for Residential Construction
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84254 2003

ASTM Standards in Building Codes
Mortensen Library Reference TA404.5 .A512 2001

Building Construction Cost Data
Mortensen Library Reference TH435 .B84

Building Design and Construction Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TH151 .B825 1982

Career Opportunities in Aviation & the Aerospace Industry
Mortensen Library Reference HD8039.A23 E285 2005

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA681 .C743 2008

Construction Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R353 1992

CRSI Design Handbook (w/CD-ROM)
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .C78 2008

Design & Construction of Wood Framed Building
Mortensen Library Reference TH1101 .N423 1995

EPA New England Topics
[http://www2.epa.gov/aboutepa/epa-region-1-new-england]
Links to helpful PDF's on construction and architectural design of Green buildings specifically pertinent to New England and branching out Nationally.

Foundation Engineering Handbook: design and Construction with the 2006 International Building Code
Mortensen Library Shelves TA775 .D39 2005

Fundamentals of acoustics
Kinsler, Lawrence E. Mortensen Library Stacks [QC243 F86 2000]

Handbook of Recording Engineering
By John Eargle. Allen Library Stacks [TK7881.4 E16 1996]

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?spaceID=10093&BookID=735]
Seven volumes of searchable data and tables on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other properties of materials. Searchable PDF of the full text of the book, with hyperlinked index and interactive tables. UofH users only.

Knovel Critical Tables
Tables of properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. Regularly updated with new interactive tables. UofH users only.

Lasers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189221&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the scientific discovery and development of the use of high intensity light, called laser, and its use in our daily lives.

Manual of Steel Construction: Allowable Stress Design
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .A47 1989

Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TJ151 .M395 2006

Princeton Companion to Mathematics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prcm]
Surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field.

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.

Reinforced Concrete Designer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA683.2 .R48

Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain
Mortensen Library Reference TA407.2 .R6 1989

Site Details from Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .A84 1992

Smithsonian Physical Tables
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/basic_search/display?_EXT_KNOVEL_DISPLAY_bookid=736]
Fully searchable tables concentrating on a broad range of common physical and chemical data. Hyperlinked index. UofH users only.

Sweet’s Catalog File (Architects, Engineers & Contractors edition)
Mortensen Library Reference TH455 .S7864

Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mharch?institutionId=4005]
One of the most widely recognized and respected resources for architects, engineers, and designers.

Traditional Details for Building Restoration, Renovation, and Rehabilitation: From the 1932-1951 Editions of Architectural Graphic Standards
Mortensen Library Reference TH2031 .R3525 1990

Uhlig’s Corrosion Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA462 .U4 2000

Wood Reference Handbook: a Guide to the Architectural Use of Wood in Building Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves TA419 .W663 2000


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of People in Engineering: From Earliest Records to 2000
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/purduepe]
This work contains the necrologies (names, dates, and a brief biography) up to the year 2000 of people involved in engineering and invention literature.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.


Dictionaries

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/apdst]
Dictionary for Practicing Scientists and Professionals in all scientific fields.

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus
[http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/aat/]
Contributory Thesaurus provided by and updated by members of the Getty Museum. Also own Print 1990 edition at Mortensen Library Reference [Z695.1.A7 A76 1990]

Construction: Principles, Materials, and Methods
Mortensen Library Shelves TH145 .O43 1995

Dictionary of Architecture & Construction
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mhbuilding]
Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.

Dictionary of Architecture & Landscape Architecture
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .C864 2006

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction (Harris - McMillan)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhbuilding?institutionId=4005]
Broad coverage of terms that make up the basic language of architecture and construction.

Dictionary of Communications Technology: Terms, Definitions and Abbreviations, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileycommtech]
Invaluable one-stop reference for IS professionals, consultants and engineers.

Dictionary of Engineering Materials
Mortensen Library Shelves TA402 .K43 2004

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
Mortensen Library Shelves TD9 .W43 2000

Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves SB469.25 .C48 2005

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .E59 1989

High Definition: A-Z Guide to Personal Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmhighdef?institutionId=4005]
Provides answers to these and thousands of other questions about the technology we live with and depend on.

Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .B83 1998

An Illustrated Dictionary of Aviation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/vol/387]
Spans general aviation, commercial airline operations, the military sector, airports, meteorology, avionics, and aviation medicine.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Materials Science
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .M347 2003

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference TH9 .M4 2000

Photonics Dictionary
[http://www.photonics.com/Directory/Dictionary/Default.aspx]
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.

Sturgis’ Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture and Building: an Unabridged Reprint of the 1901-2 Edition
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .S93 1989

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .C44 1995


Encyclopedias

Building the World: an Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History
Mortensen Library Reference T56 .I44 2006

Concise Encyclopedia of Composite Materials
Mortensen Library Reference TA418.9.C6 C635 1994

Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estpolymer?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive overview of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers.

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routt?institutionId=4005]
Up-to-date reference work for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology.

Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA680 .E495 2004

Encyclopedia of Bridges & Tunnels
Mortensen Library Reference TG9 .J64 2002

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .E53 1986

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659916&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA40 .I45 1991


Statistics- International

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
[http://dl.acm.org/dl.cfm]
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

ASCE Research Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ascelibrary.org/]
a comprehensive tool for locating online content across all disciplines of civil engineering. The 630,000-page Research Library contains the full text of more than 73,000 journal articles and proceedings papers, and can be accessed either through a current subscription or by downloading single articles. Approximately 4,000 new papers are added each year.

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://cedb.asce.org/]
Civil engineering database for bibliographic access to ASCE documents (journals, conferences).

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GREENfile
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=8gh]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

HighWire Press
[http://highwire.stanford.edu]
Database of articles primarily in the sciences, including from Medline. Includes both freely accessible and subscription only titles. UofH does not subscribe.

http://isihighlycited.com/
[http://www.isihighlycited.com/]
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

TechXtra Information Search
[http://techxtra.tradepub.com/]
Find articles, websites, books, industry news, and more in the engineering, mathematics, and computer sciences.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Websites

General Resources

AIA (Aerospace Industries Association)
[http://www.aia-aerospace.org/]
Website for aerospace technologies.

All Engineering Schools
[http://www.allengineeringschools.com]
Search for engineering programs at all levels, including online programs. Includes online information request forms.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
[https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html]
Superb collection of American historical links, plus prints, photographic images, and other excellent graphics.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

arcspace.com
[http://www.arcspace.com/index.shtml]
architecture and design magazine that features today's most creative projects as well as the most influential of the past.

Association for Computing Machinery
[http://www.acm.org/]
Sample resumes, careerlines, scholarships, publications. Lynx users go to text-only home page..

Audio Engineering Society
[http://aes.org/]
An excellent comprehensive site which provides information about AES and an extensive list of links to audio research, equipment, companies, music and musical instruments, electronic music, radio and broadcasting, and education.

BitLaw
[http://www.bitlaw.com/]
Information and links on patents, trademark, copyright and internet law issues. Emphasis on software and other technology issues.

Control Engineering Virtual Library (University of Cambridge)
[http://www-control.eng.cam.ac.uk/]
Control groups worldwide, professional societies, journals, control information societies, virtual library engineering sites.

Digital Ditch Unit Converter
[http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/]
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.

Earthquake Engineering (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Based on a text by V.V. Bertero, provides an illustrated introduction to earthquake engineering principles. Features photographs and an overview of recent research.

efunda: Engineering Fundamentals
[http://www.efunda.com/home.cfm]
Essential information for mechanical engineering, divided into six categories: materials, processes, formulas, design, units and constants, and mathematics. Searchable.

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (USDE)
[http://energy.gov/eere/office-energy-efficiency-renewable-energy]
US Department of Energy. Contains consumer friendly information on the latest energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies.

engAPPLETS (Virginia Tech)
[http://www.engapplets.vt.edu/]
Java applets designed to teach various engineering concepts. Divided into categories, usually with instructions on how to use them.

The Engineer's Edge
[http://www.engineersedge.com/]
Practical design and engineering resources for mechanical designers, engineers, or quality and manufacturing professionals. Includes hardware and material specs.

The European Patent Office
[http://worldwide.espacenet.com/?locale=EN_ep]
Keyword searching of patents world wide. Some available in the original language as full text in PDF form. Most have English abstracts.

Fuel Cell Today (Johnson Matthey PLC)
[http://www.fuelcelltoday.com/]
Portal to information on the commercialization of fuel cells. Includes news, industry directory, company information, job listings, etc. Focus on UK and US.

Global Networking: A Timeline
[http://www.ciolek.com/GLOBAL/milestones.html]
Chronology - from cave paintings to IRC - of technological milestones in communications. Includes references and extensive bibliography.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

How Stuff Works
[http://www.howstuffworks.com/]
Illustrated explanations of how things work in the world around us. Clear and easy to understand.

IndustryNet
[http://www.industrynet.com/]
Search for manufacturers or distributors by product and by state. Lists over 440,000 companies.

Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering & Technology
[http://www.lindahall.org/]
An extensive collection of science, engineering, and technology monographs and scientific journals. Strength in the history of science and engineering standards and specifications.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

MatWeb: the Online Materials Information Source
[http://www.matweb.com/index.asp?ckck=1]
Database of materials, including polymers, metals, and ceramics. Information for each material includes physical, mechanical, electrical and thermal properties. Multiple access methods.

National Science Foundation
[http://www.nsf.gov/]
Look under NSF Focus and click on Statistical Reports on Science & Engineering for statistics, reports, etc.

Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
[http://www.onlineethics.org/]
Intended to provide engineers, scientists, and their students with resources "useful for understanding and addressing ethically significant problems that arise in their work life."

Patents and Trademark Resources (LSU Libraries)
[http://guides.lib.lsu.edu/ptrc]
Links to information on intellectual property, patents and trademarks. Includes both government and non-governmental sources.

Reed Construction Data
[http://www.reedconstructiondata.com/]
Information about building products, construction industry news, building codes, architecture firms, and links to trade publications. Some sections require free registration.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

SciCentral
[http://www.scicentral.com/]
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.

Science Tracer Bullets Online (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/tracer-bullets/]
Database of bibliographies of print materials in all areas of science.

Science.gov
[http://www.science.gov/]
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

SOCR: Statistical Online Computational Resource
[http://www.socr.ucla.edu/]
Interactive statistical learning tool. Free access.

Spectroscopy Now
[http://www.spectroscopynow.com/]
The just dedicated spectroscopy portal links to free articles and preprints from peer-reviewed science journals.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

TechTutorials
[http://www.techtutorials.net]
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

USPTO Web Patent Database
[http://www.uspto.gov/patft/]
Search the full text of US patents issued since January 1, 1996. Updated weekly. Also, provides access to a database of a selected AIDS-related patents from the US, Japan and Europe.

Virtual Technical Reports Center (University of Maryland Libraries)
[http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/TechReports/Virtual-TechReports.html]
Links to institutions worldwide which provide free access to full text or extended abstracts of technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses and other research reports.

Why the Towers Fell
[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/wtc/]
Companion to the NOVA program examining the collapse of the World Trade Center and methods to improve building safety. Includes film, photos, transcripts of interviews, links to additional information.

Women in Technology International (WITI)
[http://www.witi.com/]
An international resource for women in science and technology. Includes information on career opportunities.

World Standards Services Network
[http://www.wssn.net/WSSN/]
Links to standards organizations around the world. Includes international, regional and national standardization activities.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
[http://www.writing.engr.psu.edu/]
From scholars at four universities come suggestions for executing the different writing assignments students of the sciences and engineering will encounter. Included are laboratory, design, and progress reports, as well as proposal writing. All with examples.

Writing Technical Articles
[http://www.cs.columbia.edu/~hgs/etc/writing-style.html]
Notes from a Columbia University professor on writing technical papers, especially in computer science and electrical engineering. Guidelines for experimental and conference papers, as well as hints about common mistakes are included.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Transportation
[http://www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp]
Wide variety of information about transportation, including long range plans, bike trails, public transportation, etc

Connecticut Technology Council
[http://www.ct.org/]
Resources for technology-based business, including news, directories, and events calendar.


Dictionaries

Acronym Finder
[http://www.acronymfinder.com/]
Searchable database of over 61,000 acronyms, abbreviations and definitions.

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Engineering