University of Hartford Libraries

Educational Leadership Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Teacher Certification Procedures and Professional Development Opportunities for Career and Technical Education Teachers
[http://www.nrccte.org/resources/publications/alternative-teacher-certification-procedures-and-professional-development]
PDF Full Text of document.

Alternative Teacher Certification: A State-By-State Analysis
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves LB1771 .F45 (Latest); (Earlier) Mortensen Library Shelves LB1771 .F45

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Learning in Adulthood: A Comprehensive Guide
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyla]
It is precisely the focus on adults as learners, however, that unites an otherwise extraordinarily diverse field. It is also the life context of adults and some of the distinguishing characteristics of the adult learning process that differentiate adult education from other kinds of education.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of School Effectiveness and Improvement
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprihsei]
Discusses a series of issues currently at the forefront of educational debate internationally, using works of distinguished authors from many regions of the world.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration
Mortensen Library Reference LB2805 .E527 2006

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007

Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpe?institutionId=4005]
Core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.

Psychology of Classroom Learning
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9780028661704&contentSegment=9780028661704]
Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Professional Development Collection (Education)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=tfh]
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Periodicals

Education Policy Analysis Archives
[http://epaa.asu.edu/ojs/]
This Website offers an archive of Education Policy Analysis, a peer-reviewed, independent, open-access, and multilingual journal published at Arizona State University. Users may browse full-text issues or each issue's abstracts. The entire archives is searchable by keyword.


Websites

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
[http://www.carnegiefoundation.org/]
A great resource for educational leadership, the Carnegie Foundation promotes professional growth of teachers and school administrators. This site includes survey results, an e-library, and links to additional information.

Cash For Your Classroom
[http://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/resources/school-fundraising/]
Fundraisers have a huge impact on both the student and teacher population. Fundraisers give financial stability, give students and teachers alike a chance to get creative and think of fun ways to support their school, and the end result is always rewarding. Accredited Schools Online created this guide to provide teachers and administrators with expert tips to raise funds and build relationships

Center for Research and Reform in Education (CRRE)
[http://education.jhu.edu/research/crre/]
This research center at the Johns Hopkins School of Education offers information on their evaluation services and on evidence-based education reform.

Certification Requirement for 50 States
[https://education.uky.edu/acadserv/pdac/certification-by-state/]
Teacher certification requirements for each state and links to position announcements are provided at this site.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

K-12 Grants - THE Journal
[https://thejournal.com/grants]
Presented here are numerous grants, regularly updated and sorted by due date, for K-12 US institutions.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Educational Leadership