University of Hartford Libraries

Economics Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

1000 CEOs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkceos]
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

Africa Development Indicators
[http://go.worldbank.org/U4SNSH1FC0]
Current Africa Development Indicators for download with access to statistics from 1965 to present. Have print (2002) Mortensen Library Reference HC800 .A475

Budget of the United States Government
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionGPO.action?collectionCode=BUDGET]
Full text of proposed budget, available for viewing and printing in PDF. Selected documents are searchable

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Cities of the United States: a Compilation of Current Information on Economic, Cultural, Geographic, and Social Conditions
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414437590&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information on America's top cities--those fastest-growing, as well as those with a particular historical, political, industrial, and/or commercial significance. City-specific profiles organize pertinent facts, data, and figures related to demographic, economic, cultural, geographic, social, and recreational conditions.

Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HC79.C6 G665 2003

Dun and Bradstreet/Gale Industry Reference Handbooks
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .D78 1998

E-Commerce and Development Report 2001- Current (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development)
[http://unctad.org/en/pages/publications/E-Commerce-and-Development-Report-(Series).aspx]
Analysis and information about and for developing nations in particular on the impact of electronic commerce on economic development.

Economic Indicators (Forbes)
[http://www.investopedia.com/university/releases/]
Current Economic Indicator through Forbes web site including "Beige Book"

Economic Indicators (United States GPO)
[https://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current plus archive back to 1998 of United States Economic Indicators. Library has print (1967-1993, 1995-1997) Mortensen Library Periodicals HC101 .A186

Economic Report of the President Transmitted to Congress
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Current plus archive back to 1996 of Economic Report of the President. Library has print (1951, 1954-1975, 1978-1991, 1993-1994) Mortensen Library Shelves HC106.5 .A27

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarfe?institutionId=4005]
Reference guide to feminist economics.

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.

Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecs]
The book examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, including Arthur Andersen LLP, the Enron auditor that collapsed after it was accused of obstructing justice.

Guide to Economic Indicators
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpeei]
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, from Average Weekly Earnings to Value of the Dollar, as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Handbook of Economic Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/preconsoc]
The definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures. It is a must read for all faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates doing work in the field.

Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of its Member Nations
Mortensen Library Reference HF1746 .H36 1998

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/gwindicators]
Information on economic indicators and how they are calculated.

How Much is that in Real Money? A Historical Price Index For Use as a Deflator of Money Values in the Economy of the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HB235.U6 M39 1992

Index of Economic Freedom
[http://www.heritage.org/Index//]
Years Covered: 2006 - Present
For over a decade, The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Washington's preeminent think tank, have tracked the march of economic freedom around the world with the influential Index of Economic Freedom.

Index to USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
[https://pubs.nal.usda.gov/sites/pubs.nal.usda.gov/files/aer.htm]
This 2002 Internet-based index includes listings for printed USDA Agricultural Economic Reports and links to full-text USDA Agricultural Economic Reports on the Internet.

An Introduction to Investment Theory
[http://viking.som.yale.edu/will/finman540/classnotes/notes.html]
Hyper-text book on the foundations of investment decision-making by William N. Goetzmann of Yale's School of Management.

Key Concepts in Work
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukwork]
Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work in social, political and economic contexts.

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarnobel?institutionId=4005]
Careers and main published works of the Nobel laureates in economics. Also own print Mortensen Library Shelves [HB76 .V36 2005]

North American Industry Classification System, United States
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
Searchable and printable full text of the current and older codes back to the 2002 report.

OECD Main Economic Indicators
Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .O68 (current 2 years)

The Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .P82

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

QFinance: The Ultimate Resource
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/qfinance]
Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges, up-to-date country and industry data, summaries of the most popular finance titles, and, biographies of important people in the world of finance.

Schaumís Outline of Microeconomics
Mortensen Library Reference QA182.S3 S35 2006

Social Security Handbook
[http://ssa.gov/OP_Home/handbook/handbook-toc.html]
Basic Guide to the Social Security Programs

Social Trends & Indicators USA
Mortensen Library Reference HN60 .S62 2003

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and Regional Exchanges
Mortensen Library Reference HG4907 .S72

The ultimate business library : the greatest books that made management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyultbuslib]
Summary of resources that have had the most significant impact on management thinking.

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)

The Value Line Investment Survey (online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://research.valueline.com/secure/research]
The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driverís seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.

World Economic and Social Survey
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/index.html]
Full Text of current World Economic Social Survey by the United Nations. Library has (1994-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC59 .A16

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/external/ns/cs.aspx?id=29]
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979

World Economic Situation and Prospects
[http://www.un.org/esa/policy/wess/wesp.html]
United Nations information on World Economics Full Text from 1947-present.

World Economy: Historical Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HF1359 .M333 2003


Biographies

A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgardiss?institutionId=4005]
Historical biographies of non-traditional economists.

A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarwe?institutionId=4005]
Historical biographies of women economists.

Exemplary Economists: Europe, Asia and Australasia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgareeeaa]
A selection of autobiographical essays written by significant economists whose work is generally recognized to be at the forefront of the discipline as we enter the twenty-first century.

Exemplary Economists: North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgareena]
Focuses on leading economists who were born, or have spent the greater part of their lives, in America.

Making of Modern Economics: The Lives and Ideas of Great Thinkers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpemodecon]
Provides an accessible introduction to the major economic thinkers of the past 225 years - including little-known and often amusing facts about their personal lives.

Who's Who in Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgarwwe]
Authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Connecticut

Connecticut Municipal Profiles
Mortensen Library Reference HN79.C8 C6


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Campbell R. Harvey's Hyptertextual Finance Glossary
[http://www.duke.edu/~charvey/Classes/wpg/glossary.htm]
Brief definitions of over 3,600 terms, with links to related terms and to terms in definitions.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Collins Dictionary of Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsecon]
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in the business world.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

A Dictionary of Econometrics
Mortensen Library Reference HB139 .D358 1994

Dictionary of Economics, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyecon]
supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge more than 2,200 economics-related terms.

Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/barronsfin]
Financial terminology.

The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgareq?institutionId=4005]
Thoughts and opinions of hundreds of individuals on issues relating to the economy.

Encyclopedia of the European Union
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/lrpenceu]
The Encyclopedia of the European Union provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.

Eponymous Dictionary of Economics: a Guide to Laws and Theorems Named After Economists
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E66 2004

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinecon?institutionId=4005]
Terminology of economics.

Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007

Wall Street Words: An A to Z Guide to Investment Terms for Today's Investor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmwsw]
Contemporary finance terminology.

Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileynwfid]
Terminology relevant to the finance industry.


Encyclopedias

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcamerecon?institutionId=4005]
History of the American economy.

Business Cycles and Depressions: an Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HB3711 .B936 1997

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414435015&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.

Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgarke]
features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes.

An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarke?institutionId=4005]
Major concepts and contributors in the field of Keynesian economics.

Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
[http://encyclo.findlaw.com/]
Extensive bibliographies, literatures, reviews, and huge web resource list on legal and economic issues worldwide. Joint project of Edward Elgar (publisher) and the University of Ghent.

An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarme?institutionId=4005]
Terms, concepts, and ideological approaches to macroeconomics.

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554

Encyclopedia of Public Choice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprpubchoice]
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prewe]
From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.


International - Statistics

OECD in Figures
[http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search?option1=titleAbstract&option2=&value2=&option3=&value3=&option4=&value4=&option5=&value5=&option6=&value6=&option7=&value7=&option8=&value8=&option9=&value9=&option10=&value10=&option11=&value11=&option12=&value12=&option13=&value13=&option14=&value14=&option15=&value15=&option16=&value16=&option17=&value17=&option18=sort&value18=&form_name=quick&option22=excludeKeyTableEditions&value22=true&value1=oecd+in+figures]
Full text for 2000-current available.


Statistics

Financial Services Fact Book (Insurance Information Institute)
[http://www2.iii.org/financial/]
Overview, discussion and statistics on the financial services industry.

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 H68

The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: the Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers
Mortensen Library Reference HD2769.2.U6 N47 2002


Statistics- International

OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics
[http://new.SourceOECD.org/factbook]
Access to statistics and graphs from the Organisation for Economic Co-ooperation and Development.


United States - Statistics

Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .H57 2006

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734

Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 S73 1999


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Women Working, 1870-1930
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/]
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.


Periodicals

OECD Economic Outlook
[http://www.oecd.org/findDocument/0,3770,en_2649_34109_1_119660_1_1_1,00.html]
Current full text online. Selected full text for previous issues. Library has print Mortensen Library Periodicals HC10 .O18

Scandinavian Working Paper Series in Economics (Stockholm School of Economics)
[http://swopec.hhs.se/hastef/]
Biblio graphic database project, supported by National Science Foundation . Searchable listings of publications, data sets and web sites


Websites

General Resources

A.M.Best: The Insurance Information Source
[http://www.ambest.com/]
Searchable database of basic ratings, company information and news on insurance companies and the industry. Registration required.

ABI World: American Bankruptcy Institute
[http://www.abiworld.org/]
News, statistics, legislation, etc. Regional as well as national coverage of bankruptcy issues.

AIER Cost-of-Living Calculator
[http://www.aier.org/#cost-of-living]
Enter a dollar amount and years to convert that amount between. Uses Consumer Price Index to calculate cost of living changes.

America Antitrust Institute
[http://www.antitrustinstitute.org/]
Website dedicated to promoting antitrust as integral to national and international competition in business.

American Banker Online
[http://www.americanbanker.com/]
Up to date news and information on the financial services industry.

AmosWeb Economic Glossarama
[http://www.amosweb.com/cgi-bin/awb_nav.pl?s=gls]
Searchable glossary of economic terms. Definitions include links to related terms.

The Annual Reports Library
[http://www.zpub.com/sf/arl/]
Suggestions and advice on how to find and read annual reports. Also, guidance on how to create a good annual report, as well as educational resources and links to related information.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Background Notes (US State Department)
[http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn]
Periodically updated information on countries and international organizations.

Bank for International Settlements
[http://www.bis.org/]
The aim of BIS is "to promote the cooperation of central banks and to provide additional facilities for international financial operations." See especially "Publications" for full text reports. Requires Adobe Acrobat.

Bloomberg Online
[http://www.bloomberg.com/welcome.html]
Latest news and analysis. International coverage includes stocks, currency markets, bonds, etc. Some information restricted to subscribers.

BusinessUSA.gov
[http://business.usa.gov/]
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

Census of Agriculture Historical Archives
[https://agcensus.mannlib.cornell.edu/AgCensus/homepage.do]
Site serves as a public archive of Census publications published prior to 1987 frpm the USDA. These publications are primarily scanned print material now available in PDF format.

Chicago Mercantile Exchange
[http://www.cmegroup.com/company/cme.html]
In addition to rapidly updated futures price information, find advice on getting started, background information, and an extensive collection of Educational Resources - research papers by and about CME and futures trading.

Commodity Charts & Quotes - Free
[http://tfc-charts.w2d.com/]
Free source of daily, weekly and monthly commodity futures and financial market information. Includes short course introducing commodity trading.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Congressional Budget Office
[http://www.cbo.gov/]
Link to full text of documents from CBO, including cost estimates, committee testimony, and other studies and reports.

Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/site/default.asp]
Information for the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs all of which are designed to enhance Connecticut's communities and business and housing environments.

The Corporate Library
[http://www.corporatelibrary.com/]
The American Corporation and the Economy. Includes a searchable library, research tools, and extensive links to more information.

DividendDiscountModel.com
[http://dividenddiscountmodel.com/]
Access to the popular model used to value stocks. Quick calculations for specified company.

Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations (Worldbank)
[http://www.doingbusiness.org/]
Free access to information on many countries in several different languages.

EconPapers
[http://econpapers.repec.org]
Index of downloadable economics research papers, working papers, journal publications, etc. Some papers may have a fee attached for downloading.

EDGAR Database (SEC)
[http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml]
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.

efinancial News
[http://www.efinancialnews.com/]
Online edition of the Newspaper. European focus. Free registration expands information available.

ELDIS: Electronic Development Information
[http://www.eldis.org/go/topics]
Gateway to information sources on various global topics.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Ernst and Young International
[http://www.ey.com/]
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

The European Union in the US
[http://www.eurunion.org/]
Access to publications, web sites and other information.

Export.gov
[http://export.gov/]
Searchable database of market research reports by industry, country, etc. for US businesses seeking to operate abroad. Free registration required.

FDIC Industry Analysis
[http://www.fdic.gov/bank/index.html]
Financial and structural information on FDIC insured institutions. Updated quarterly

Fed in Print
[http://www.frbsf.org/publications/fedinprint/index.html]
Search by keyword, author, title, regional bank or date to identify economic research publications from the Federal Reserve. Some publications available online, others in print only.

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
[http://www.bos.frb.org/]
Regional information on economics, financial services, etc. Includes full text of selected publications, including statistical reports.

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
[http://www.ny.frb.org/]
Regional information on economics, financial services, etc. Includes full text of selected publications, including statistical reports.

Federal Reserve Board
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/]
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

Federal Reserve System Beige Book 2009
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/FOMC/BeigeBook/2009/]
"Summary of commentary on current economic conditions by Federal Reserve Abstract". Provides regional analysis.

Federal Reserve System's National Information Center of Banking Information
[http://www.ffiec.gov/nicpubweb/nicweb/nichome.aspx]
Information on banks, savings and loans, credit unions, etc. regulated or supervised by the Fed. Includes financial information and corporate structure.

Finance Resources on the Web (New York University Stern School)
[http://pages.stern.nyu.edu/~igiddy/]
Annotated links to a variety of carefully selected sources in finance and economics.

FindLaw Investigations: Enron
[http://news.findlaw.com/legalnews/lit/enron/]
Rapidly growing collection of documents (most in PDF format) related to the Enron scandal, as well as some news and analysis as the case develops.

FOREX NEWS: The Online Source for Foreign Exchange Information
[http://www.forexnews.com/]
News and analysis of events affecting foreign exchange markets around the world. Includes political issues as well as currency trading.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
[http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/]
Historic economic statistical publications, releases and documents some dating back to 1896. Use with FRED to obtain complete economic data series.

GenderNet (World Bank)
[http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/gender]
Information about programs run by the World Bank designed to reduce gender disparities and enhance women's participation in economic development. Includes statistics, policy documents, and links to related sites.

Global Investor
[http://www.globalinvestor.com/]
Directory of links to financial information around the world. Also comparative data on different markets, and financial news updates.

Globalization in Focus (Foreign Policy in Focus)
[http://fpif.org/tag/globalization/]
Frequently updated information and opinion on globalization, the WTO, the IMF, the World Bank, etc.

Gloria-Mundi
[http://gloria-mundi.com/]
Comprehensive source on one method of financial risk management.

IDEAS (University of Connecticut)
[http://ideas.repec.org]
Searchable database of research papers in economics. Many papers available to download

Index Funds Online
[http://www.indexfunds.com/]
Searchable database of information on index mutual funds. Also links to analysis.

Inomics
[http://www.inomics.com/]
Search engine as well as employment and conference information, aimed specifically for economists. Some European slant.

International Economics Network
[http://www.internationaleconomics.net/]
Directory of links to all aspects of international economics and related fields. Includes links to research papers, statistical sources, news, industry information, etc.

Investment Adviser Public Disclosure (Securities Exchange Commission)
[http://www.adviserinfo.sec.gov/IAPD/Content/IapdMain/iapd_SiteMap.aspx]
Search for an investment advisor firm and view their Form ADV, which provides information about the firm's operations.

InvestorGuide
[http://www.investorguide.com/]
Information for all aspects of investing and personal finance.

InvestorWords
[http://www.investorwords.com/]
Easy to use, comprehensive glossary of financial terms. Lots of cross references between definitions.

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
[http://www.jointcenter.org]
Reports and statistics on public policy issues of special concern to black Americans and members of other minorities.

Labour Economics Gateway
[http://laboreconomicsgateway.wikidot.com/reading-room]
Links to sources of information for labor economists. International coverage includes statistics, journals, conferences, etc.

LatinFocus
[http://www.latin-focus.com/]
The Online Source for Latin American Economies - News and commentary, economic briefings and forecasts, and economic indicators for the region and selected countries in Latin America.

Library of Economics and Liberty
[http://www.econlib.org/]
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.

Ministry of Economy Trade and Industry (Japan_
[http://www.meti.go.jp/english/]
Official statements and English language publications on current economic and trade policies from the Japanese government agency.

Morningstar.com
[http://www.morningstar.com/]
Stock and mutual fund analysis by one of the best names in the business. Free registration required for some special services.

The Motley Fool
[http://www.fool.com/]
Claims to be a more relevant and realistic index for the 21st century market.

NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement)
[https://ustr.gov/trade-agreements/free-trade-agreements/north-american-free-trade-agreement-nafta]
Full text and other information for NAFTA.

National Bureau of Economic Research
[http://www.nber.org/]
Searchable database of research - working papers, reports, etc. Papers can be ordered and downloaded ($5 per title) using a credit card.

Optionetics Trading Education Center
[http://www.optionetics.com/education/]
Articles and guide to information on options trading. Wide range of topics at basic and advanced topics. "Investor relations" leads to additional Web sources.

Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC)
[http://www.opic.gov/]
US government agency which helps US businesses invest overseas and fosters economic development in new and emerging markets.

Public Register's Annual Report Services
[http://www.prars.com/]
Fill out a form to have selected company's annual reports mailed to you. US mail address required.

Qualistream: Banking and Finance
[http://www.qualisteam.com/]
Index of bank websites worldwide. Links to stock exchanges, even a banking and finance bookstore. Note that Applets slow loading.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
[http://www.repec.org]
International database of bibliographic records with links to working papers, journal articles, software components, and other resources related to economics

Resources for Economists on the Internet
[http://rfe.org/]
Hypertext, continuously updated version of printed guide to sources.

Riskinstitute.ch (IFCI)
[http://archive.is/riskinstitute.ch]
Watch (International Finance and Commodities Institute) - Introduction and guide to key concepts in financial risk management. Includes links to regulatory documents and a glossary. International.

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)
[http://www.sedar.com/]
Financial documents filed with the Canadian Securities Administrators. Also includes company profiles and web links.

Unemployment and Recovery Project
[http://www.urban.org/urban-wire/highlights-urban-institutes-unemployment-and-recovery-project]
Builds knowledge about the nationís social and fiscal challenges, practicing open-minded, evidence-based research to diagnose problems and figure out which policies and programs work best, for whom, and how.

United for a Fair Economy
[http://www.faireconomy.org/]
Website devoted to corruption awareness in the economy, government, and community.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (U.S. Agency for International Development)
[http://www.usaid.gov/]
Database of international developments published by USAID. The most recent reports are available for downloading, older ones may be order ed online.

Wachowicz's Web World
[http://web.utk.edu/~jwachowi/wacho_world.html]
Collection of links to financial management web sites. Arranged as a companion to Van Horne and Wachowicz's Fundamentals of Financial Management (11th ed., 2001).

Will Yancy's Home Page
[http://www.willyancey.com/]
Comprehensive links to tax and accounting information. Maintained by a professor at Texas Christian University.

World Bank
[http://www.worldbank.org/]
Economic information, research and statistics from the World Bank, its subsidiaries and member nations.

World Trade Organization
[http://www.wto.org/]
Information by and about the WTO.

Yahoo! Finance
[http://finance.yahoo.com/]
News, company and industry information, tutorials, and personal finance information.


Connecticut

CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
[http://www.curenet.org/]
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.

Hartford Economic Development Commission
[http://www.hedco-ghbdc.com/]
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.


Dictionaries

Mathematical Programming Glossary
[http://glossary.computing.society.informs.org/]
Glossary of Mathematical, Computer and Electronic words. Access is free from INFORMS Computing Society


International News

Wall Street Journal - Opinion - Asia
[http://online.wsj.com/public/page/opinionasia.html]
Opinion - Asia Op. Ed. from the Wall Street Journal


Statistics

ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
[http://alfred.stlouisfed.org/]
Economic data from specific dates in history. Use with FRED to get a comprehensive picture. From the St. Louis Federal Reserve.

BigCharts
[http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/]
Easy to use service creates charts to track US stocks, mutual funds, and major market indexes.


Statistics- Connecticut

Connecticut Market Data
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/cwp/view.asp?a=1106&q=251002]
(Dept. of Economic and Community Development) Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in PDF format.

CT Dept of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd]
Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in pdf format.


Statistics- International

BBC News Country Profiles
[http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/]
Descriptive information on all countries of the world include history, politics, and economy. Also provides links to audio or video clips from the BBC archives.

Bureau of Economic Analysis, US Department of Commerce
[http://www.bea.gov/]
Major statistical source. Some files require Adobe Acrobat. Others require subscriptions (Not available at UofH)

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/]
Full text of book length studies of some 100 countries. Includes analysis of political, economic, social, and national security systems.

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.

Foreign Trade Statistics (US Census Bureau)`
[https://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/index.html]
Trade figures by one digit SITC code between the US and other nations.

FreeLunch.com (Economy.com)
[http://www.economy.com/freelunch/]
Economic and financial data presented as charts or tables. Most data coming from U.S. government publications. Search or browse by category.


Statistics- United States

American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/acs/www/]
Annual estimates of demographic, housing, social and economic characteristics for all states, cities and counties with more than 65,000 people, based on survey. Includes details on the survey.

American Fact Finder (US Bureau of the Census)
[http://factfinder2.census.gov/main.html]
Quick and easy way to find demographic data from Census publications. Includes map generation capability.

Bureau of Economic Analysis, US Department of Commerce
[http://www.bea.gov/]
Major statistical source. Some files require Adobe Acrobat. Others require subscriptions (Not available at UofH)

County Business Patterns
[http://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp.html]
Detailed statistics, arranged by state, on business - employment, payroll, number of establishments, etc. Requires Adobe Acrobat.

Economic Indicators of the United States
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the US Census Bureau.

Economic Report of the President
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Searchable text of the annual report on economic conditions. Available since 1996.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current Federal economic indicators from a number of agencies.

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.

EPI DataZone (Economic Policy Institute)
[http://www.epi.org/resources/research_data/]
Tabular presentation of economic statistics. Some tables can be downloaded as spreadsheets.

Federal Reserve Board
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/]
Background, text of reports, selected statistics and other publications.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/Releases/]
Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually released data from the Fed, gathered in one place. Selected historical statistics also available.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
[http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/]
Historic economic statistical publications, releases and documents some dating back to 1896. Use with FRED to obtain complete economic data series.

FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
[https://research.stlouisfed.org/]
Portal to economic information designed for librarians and students. Includes research reports, economic indicators, and links to a wide variety of additional information sources.

FREDII: Federal Reserve Economic Data
[http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred2/]
Historical and current economic data. See Information About FRED for instructions on downloading.

FreeLunch.com (Economy.com)
[http://www.economy.com/freelunch/]
Economic and financial data presented as charts or tables. Most data coming from U.S. government publications. Search or browse by category.

State Government Finance Data, by State
[http://www.census.gov/govs/state/]
Information on revenues, expenditures, indebtedness, etc. of the 50 state governments. Annual since 1992.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.

Statistical Abstract of the US
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
Statistics on social, economic and international subjects. Separate links for most popular data. Most tables require Adobe Acrobat. Data back to 1878 edition available.

Statistics on Depository Institutions (FDIC)
[http://www3.fdic.gov/sdi/]
Detailed financial reports on financial institutions. Select predefined reports, or create a custom report.

US Economy at a Glance (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
[http://stats.bls.gov/eag/]
Easy to navigate site summarizing economic data for US regions, states, selected metropolitan areas. Current as well as older statistics available.

US State Fact Sheets
[http://www.ers.usda.gov/statefacts/]
Demographic and economic statistics for all 50 states, gathered from numerous federal agencies.


United States

Economic Report of the President
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Searchable text of the annual report on economic conditions. Available since 1996.


United States - Statistics

Census Data (2000)
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
All encompassing website for the data from the 2000 United States Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Economics