University of Hartford Libraries

Earth and General Sciences Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Encyclopedia of Earth
electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.

Guide to Gems
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsgems]
Illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones.

Guide to Global Hazards
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsglobalhaz]
Illustrated guide to the large-scale disasters that affect life on earth.

Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsminerals]
Identification guide to minerals, rocks, and fossils of the world.

Guide to Seashells of the World
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsseashells]
Identification guide to seashells of the world.

Guide to the Oceans
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/philipsoceans]
Illustrated guide to the world's oceans and seas.

Rivers of North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estrivers]
Exploratory guide to the physical, chemical, biological, and environmental aspects of North America's rivers.


Biographies

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmsciencedict]
Dictionary of all major concepts of science.

Dictionary of Physical Geography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bkphsgeo?institutionId=4005]
Terminology related to geography, geology, and earth sciences.

Illustrated Dictionary of Science, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andidsci]
Illustrated dictionary covering all the major scientific disciplines.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414428840&contentSegment=9781414428840]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estvolcano?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive source of information on geoscience-related aspects of volcanism


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced]
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/]
Includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

Coldregions Bibliography
[http://www.coldregions.org/vufind/Search/Advanced]
Covers all disciplines related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

Public Library of Science
[http://www.plos.org/]
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

Science Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=sch]
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Websites

General Resources

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Geologic Hazards Team (US Geological Survey)
[http://geohazards.cr.usgs.gov/]
Information and links to additional sources on landslides, earthquakes, geomagnetism and other phenomena. Includes interactive maps and news.

Hubble Site
[http://hubblesite.org/newscenter/newsdesk/archive/releases/2000/07/]
Hubble Telescope has sent back the first images after being serviced.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

SciCentral
[http://www.scicentral.com/]
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Tapestry of Time and Terrain
[http://pubs.usgs.gov/imap/i2720/]
Contains information about topography and geology of the continental United States along with geologic time.

US Geological Survey
[http://www.usgs.gov/]
Provides information in the areas of hazards, natural resources, environment, and information management. Striking images.

Virtual Earthquake
[http://www.sciencecourseware.org/virtualearthquake/]
Interactive online simulations of the earth.

Web Soil Survey
[http://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/HomePage.htm]
Provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.


Dictionaries

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Earth and General Sciences