University of Hartford Libraries

Early Childhood Education Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/childbooks]
Alphabetised reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children's books from across the world.

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsmch?institutionId=4005]
Essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world.

Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukdp]
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.

Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/sageukecec?institutionId=4005]
For practitioners working with children from birth to the end of the foundation stage, and for students following courses in early childhood education.

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Encyclopedias

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/kidlit]
Comprehensive resource on Children's Literature.

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Mortensen Library Reference BF318 .E53 1992

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University
[http://www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/]
This database indexes abstracts of over 4,000 picture books for children. It is designed as a tool for teachers creating literature-based thematic units for all disciplines.

Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
[http://www.dawcl.com/]
Ten children's book award lists are available on this site. Search options allow the browser to tailor a reading list to a particular child by age, setting, historical period, ethnicity, language, genre, and gender.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.


Websites

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

Homeschool World
[http://www.homeschool.com/]
Oriented in eight major sections, this site is an effective, easy to navigate first stop for anyone wanting an initial look at home schooling with religious orientations.

Jon's Homeschool Resource
[http://www.midnightbeach.com/hs/index.html]
Presented by a home schooler, this site includes internet resources that support parents who choose to home school their children. A valuable resource is the list of local support groups for 45 US states. Support pages also point to state laws.

KIDiddles
[http://www.kididdles.com/]
Almost two thousand kids' song lyrics are available and organized alphabetically and categorically. Patriotic and holiday songs included, too.

Literature for Children
[http://palmm.fcla.edu/juv/]
Literature for Children is comprised of volumes from the Department of Special Collections at several libraries of the State University System of Florida. It is a collection of digitized titles published predominantly in the United States and Great Britain from the 17th through the 20th centuries and is significant for researchers who study historical, cultural, social, and literary aspects of children's literature.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Early Childhood Education