University of Hartford Libraries

Dissertations - Music Subject Guide


Databases

Dissertations and Theses Abstracts + Full Text (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/pqdthss?accountid=11308]
Describes over 2 million dissertations from institutions around the U.S. (and some international), with citations from 1861 to the present. Includes full text for many of the Humanities and Social Sciences dissertations as well as most UH dissertations 1997-present. Many of the other dissertations are available through interlibrary loan .

EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
[http://ethos.bl.uk/Home.do;jsessionid=7C95873E96955E1A65301A0C37844FC4]
Search over 380,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.ndltd.org/resources/find-etds]
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations and includes links to other databases of electronic theses and dissertations.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
[http://www.oatd.org/]
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.


Websites

Archive of Dissertation Abstracts in Music
An international listing of dissertations in music, both completed and in progress. Contains links to abstracts.
Website (http://goldenpages.jpehs.co.uk) is down as of June 19, 2017. Check back later for availability.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
[http://www.ams-net.org/ddm/]
International database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, and related disciplines.

Music Theory Online: Dissertation Index
[http://mto.societymusictheory.org/docs/diss-index.html]
Sponsored by the Society for Music Theory, this site includes announcements of completed and in-progress dissertations that have appeared in Music Theory Online.

PhD Theses and Doctoral Dissertations Related to Music Information Retrieval
[http://www.pampalk.at/mir-phds]
Chronological listing, including abstracts.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Dissertations - Music