University of Hartford Libraries

Deaf Education Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Teacher Certification Procedures and Professional Development Opportunities for Career and Technical Education Teachers
[http://www.nrccte.org/resources/publications/alternative-teacher-certification-procedures-and-professional-development]
PDF Full Text of document.

Alternative Teacher Certification: A State-By-State Analysis
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves LB1771 .F45 (Latest); (Earlier) Mortensen Library Shelves LB1771 .F45

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Internet Access in US Public Schools and Classrooms: 1994-2005
[http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/pubsinfo.asp?pubid=2007020]
This report presents data on Internet access in US public schools by school characteristics. Topics covered include the progress of public schools in connecting to the Internet, the ratio of students to instructional computers, and the ways public schools are connected to the Internet.

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .D483 2015

Dictionary of Visual Discourse a Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ashgtvd]
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.

Early Intervention Dictionary: a Multidisciplinary Guide to Terminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV891 .C63 2006

Field Guide to Gestures: How to Identify and Interpret Virtually Every Gesture Known to Man
Mortensen Library Reference BF637.N66 A75 2003


Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
Mortensen Library Reference LC4007 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyse]
A comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs from AAMR, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION ON MENTAL RETARDATION to ZYGOSITY.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

American Sign Language (ASL)
[http://www.nidcd.nih.gov/health/hearing/pages/asl.aspx]
This site is designed to help the user become proficient at finger spelling. It also offers an animated finger spelling converter and an interactive quiz.

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
[http://www.asha.org/]
The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the national professional, scientific, and credentialing association for more than 166,000 audiologists, speech-language pathologists, speech, language, and hearing scientists, audiology and speech-language pathology support personnel, and students.

ASLU (American Sign Language University)
[http://www.lifeprint.com/]
Information with video tutorials and alphabetical dictionary.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

The Deaf Resource Library
[http://www.deaflibrary.org/]
Online collection of reference material and links intended to educate and inform people about deaf culture as well as deaf and hard of hearing related topics.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Deaf Education