University of Hartford Libraries

Dance Subject Guide


Books

Biographical Dictionary of Dance
By Barbara Naomi Cohen-Stratyner. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1785 A1 C67]

Core Collection in Dance
Edited by Mary E. Edsall. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1594 E38 C67]

Dance Encyclopedia
Compiled by Anatole Chujoy. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C55 1967]

International Dictionary of Ballet, 2 vols.
Edited by Martha Bremser. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I57 1993]

International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Edited by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I572 1998]

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Edited by Selma Jeanne Cohen. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 I58 v.1-6]

The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance
By Nihon Bikuta Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MX1627 J32 v.1-30]

The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas
By Horoaki Ohta, Katsumori Ichikawa, Yuji Ichihashi, and Nihon Bikuta Kabushiki Kaisha. Allen Library A/V [MVML 3549 J3 v.1-6]

Oxford Dictionary of Dance
By Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1585 C74 O93]

Tap Dance Dictionary
By Mark Knowles. Allen Library Dance Reference [REF GV1794 K66 T3]


Call Numbers

GV1587
Dance notation

GV1589
Dance education

GV1600 - GV1619
Dance - by period

GV1620 - GV1728
Dance - by country

GV1785
Biographies

GV1787
Ballet

M1520
Ballet music (full scores)

M1523-M1526
Ballet music (piano scores)
(Music may also be in other places. Consult the library catalog or a librarian.)

ML3400 - ML3465
History and Criticism--Dance Music

MT95 - MT100
Stories and Plots, etc.

RC
Dance Therapy


Databases

Streaming Video

Dance in Video
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/daiv]
Watch hundreds of dance videos online, covering the areas of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational, and more.


Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=worldcat&done=referer]
Available through FirstSearch, lists the holdings of over 9,000 libraries worldwide. University of Hartford registered library borrowers may place requests through WorldCat for items not held by University Libraries.


Periodical Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h,psyh]
Search CINAHL with Full Text and Psycinfo at the same time!

Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
[http://www.ndeo.org/content.aspx?page_id=1106&club_id=893257]
Provides citations for thousands of dance resources, focusing on dance education. Includes journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

JSTOR
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, life sciences, mathematics, music, performing arts, philosophy, political sciences, sociology, statistics, and more. No current issues available; generally excludes last two to five years. Historical coverage varies; JSTOR generally includes journals back through their inception (pre-1950 in many cases).

Music Index Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mah]
Years Covered: 1973-Present
Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, music industry, and reviews. Allen Library also has printed volumes: 1949-1998, [Ref] ML113 M9. UH access only.

Music Periodicials Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals; IIMP)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/iimpft?accountid=11308]
Identifies articles in over 400 music journals, including scholarly, applied, music education, and popular topics. Has full article descriptions 1996-present. Has brief descriptions for some journals back to their inception. Includes full text for many articles. UH access only.

RILM
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=rih]
Years Covered: 1967-Present
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) describes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including dance. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages. The Allen Library also has printed volumes from 1967-1994.


Periodicals

Ballet Review

Contact Quarterly

Dance Chronicle

Dance International

Dance Magazine

Dance Perspectives

Dance Research Journal

Dance Teacher

Dancing Times

JOPERD: Journal of Physical Ed., Recreation & Dance

Journal of Dance Education

Journal of Dance Medicine and Science

Performing Arts Journal (online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3dedspub%26AN%3dedp54561%26site%3dpfi-live]

Performing Arts Journal (print)

Performing Arts Review

Pointe

Research in Dance Education


Subject Headings

Ballet

Ballet Dancers

Ballet History

Ballet pictorial works

Ballets piano scores

Choreography

Dance

Dance 17th Century [or 18th Century, 19th Century, etc.]

Dance History

Dance Notation

Dance study and teaching

Dance Therapy

Dance United States [or other countries]

Dancers

Folk dance music

Jazz dance

Modern Dance

Movement notation

Movement Therapy

Performing arts
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:performing+arts]


Websites

Comprehensive Sites

Alliance of Artists Community
[http://www.artistcommunities.org]
Service organization for the field of artists' communities. Lists residences in the performing and media arts and opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration; offers workshops, research, financial resources, and advocacy.

Dance Links
[https://dancer.com/ballet-info/online-resources/]
Site includes links to dance companies, schools, and organizations throughout the world. It also includes links to dance-related newsgroups, publications, and FAQs.

EUDRID
[http://www.c3.hu/~dienesbu/]
Information about dance in Europe, organized by country.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia
[http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/encyclopedia]
Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Includes collections, databases, online presentations, exhibits, and finding aids.

Renaissance Dance
[http://www.rendance.org/]
Includes list of primary and secondary sources online as well as companies, workshops, teachers, etc.

Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
[http://www.sapphireswan.com/dance/]
Directory of dance resources on the web including sites that have information about areas of dance, sites of dance organizations and individual dancers, and links to jobs and competitions.


Costume

Costume Page
[http://www.costumepage.org/]
A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links. There are well over 2,000 unique links listed on these pages.


Dance Collections

American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/dihtml/dihome.html]
This site presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress. This online presentation also includes a significant number of antidance manuals, histories, treatises on etiquette, etc.

Australian Dance Collection: a Directory of Resources
[http://www.nla.gov.au/australia-dancing-leaps-into-trove]
The collection has moved to Trove, the National Library's discovery service. The original Catalog of the National Library of Australia has been archived. Entries had two components: a historical note/brief biography and a descriptive list of individual items for that entry. These included film and video; oral history/audio items; manuscript materials; pictorial/photographic materials; programs, etc.

Library of Congress Present Music, Theatre and Dance
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/perform/ihas]
Guide to musical, theatrical, and dance collections available at the Library of Congress. Use the advanced search to find dance materials in a variety of formats, including databases, online presentations, videos, exhibits, and finding aids.

New York Public Library: Jerome Robbins Dance Division
[http://www.nypl.org/locations/lpa/jerome-robbins-dance-division]
Provides access to their catalog as well as dance resources on the internet, including festivals, competitions, schools, periodicals, research resources, grants, and computer applications for dance.


Dance Companies

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
[http://www.alvinailey.org/]

American Ballet Theatre
[http://www.abt.org/]
The ABT's homepage includes information about their New York season, their Repertory Archives, dancer biographies, and pictures.

Full Force Dance Theatre
[http://www.fullforcedance.org]
Directed by Katie Stevinson-Nollet, the FFDT has presented modern dance since 1992. Site includes its workshops and audition dates.

Mark Morris Dance Group
[http://markmorrisdancegroup.org/]

Merce Cunningham Trust
[http://www.mercecunningham.org/]

New York City Ballet
[http://www.nycballet.com/]
Site has detailed information about repertory and dancers, and reference tools including bibliographies, discographies, workout books, and links. Includes schedule and ticket information.

New York Live Arts (includes the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Dance Company)
[http://www.newyorklivearts.org/]

Royal Ballet
[http://www.roh.org.uk/about/the-royal-ballet]

San Francisco Ballet
[http://www.sfballet.org/]


Dance Organizations

American Dance Therapy Association
[http://www.adta.org/]
Includes information about the association, educational programs, and links to related sites.

Congress on Research in Dance
[http://www.cordance.org/]
Includes information about awards, conferences, and CORD news as well as archives, their newsletter, and links to dance sites.

Connecticut Dance Alliance
[http://www.ctdanceall.com/]
Connecticut's state-wide dance organization provides performance opportunities, marketing, support for professional development, an e-newsletter and calendar.

Dance Heritage Coalition
[http://www.danceheritage.org/]
A coalition of major dance collections that focuses on access to materials, documentation of dance, preservation of existing documentation, and education. Includes many helpful links.

Dance Notation Bureau
[http://www.dancenotation.org/]
Information about the Labanotation system of dance notation

Dance/USA
[http://www.danceusa.org/]
Provides information about companies, jobs and auditions, presenters, service organizations, summer festivals, community programs, publications, meetings.

Explore Dance (from SHAPE America)
[http://www.shapeamerica.org/exploreDance.cfm]
Provides resources for teachers of dance and movement in the school setting, including pedagogy, performance practices and technology, standards and assessments, curricular and professional development, teacher preparation, and healthy practices.(Formerly was the National Dance Association site.)

Society of Dance History Scholars
[http://www.sdhs.org/]
Provides information about the society, including membership, publications, conferences, awards, and online resources.


Dance Videos

Dance Video Archive
[http://dancevideos.childgrove.org/]
This archive displays videos of dances from the member organizations of the Country Dance and Song Society (CDSS). It includes videos of contra dance, English country dance, Morris dance, and square dance. Some videos are accompanied by the dance instructions.

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
[http://danceinteractive.jacobspillow.org/]
A valuable resource for dance videos, including dance performances; talks, lectures, and forums with choreographers, dancers, and more; artist interviews; Master Classes; and more. (Formerly Virtual Pillow)


Employment

Current Jobs for Graduates
[http://www.graduatejobs.com/]
National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.


Funding

Alliance of Artists Community
[http://www.artistcommunities.org/residencies]
Lists residences in the performing and media arts.

National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
[http://www.nasaa-arts.org/]

National Endowment for the Arts
[https://www.arts.gov/]

New England Foundation for the Arts
[http://www.nefa.org/]
News and information on grants, job opportunities, and the arts in New England.


Medicine & Health

Alexander Technique
[http://www.life.uiuc.edu/jeff/alextech.html]
Includes a full description of the technique, recommended publications, and links to societies.

International Association for Dance Medicine & Science
[http://www.iadms.org/]
Information and links related to the medical, scientic and educational activities of dancers.

Performing Arts Medicine at Ithaca College
[http://www.ithaca.edu/hshp/depts/pt/facstaff/nquarrie/performingartsmed/]
Developed by Ithaca College's School of Health Science and Human Performance and the School of Music, this site has links to various topics of interest.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Dance