University of Hartford Libraries

Curriculum- Multidisciplinary Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .D483 2015


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

The New York Times (nytimes.com)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir]
Full text coverage of New York Times to 1855 with access to New York Times Online Edition. You must create your own account with a valid University of Hartford email address.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Websites

Academic Info: Education Gateway
[http://www.academicinfo.net/ed.html]
A searchable directory of Internet resources selected for the college and university community. The Education Guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field.

Annenberg Media Professional development programming for K-12 teachers
[http://www.learner.org/]
This site has information on professional development and access to some free quality resources via video on demand.

Common Core State Standards in Connecticut
[http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2618&q=322592]
Provided by the Connecticut State Department of Education, this website has links to the Academic Office Newsletter as well as state standards for Common Core changes in mathematics and English language arts for grades K-12. It also includes classroom resources and rubrics for the Tri-State Collaborative (Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island) and a grade-by-grade guide for parents.

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

EDSITEment
[http://edsitement.neh.gov/]
Provides Internet access designed for classroom use in exploring the borders that separate and connect aspects of our national experience. Excellent links to African Studies and the Latin American Network Information Center. K-12.

Educator Labs
[http://educatorlabs.org]
This resource has been compiled by school librarians and media specialists to help educators find the resources they need. In addition to links useful websites, Educator Labs lesson plans on several topics.

Educator's Reference Desk
[http://www.eduref.org/]
This site includes the 2,000 lesson plans, 3,000 value-added pointers to education information and organizations, and 200 question archives previously housed at the Ask ERIC Virtual Library. The ERIC database can be searched from this site, as well.

Exploring Leonardo
[http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/LeoHomePage.html]
Appropriate for grades 4-8, this site is equally suitable for art and science classes researching the work of Leonardo da Vinci.

The Galileo Project (Rice University)
[http://galileo.rice.edu/]
Information on the life and work of Galileo and the science of his time. "Resources" includes a searchable database of 16th and 17th century scientists, a bibliography, and an extensive collection of web links.

The Gateway to Educational Materials
[https://www2.ed.gov/pubs/TeachersGuide/gateway.html]
The Gate way site provides one-stop, any-stop access to high quality lesson plans, curriculum units, and other education resources on the Internet. Pre-K through grade 12.

Intel: Innovation in Education
[http://www.intel.com/education/]
Intel's education website offers unit and lesson plans, uses of technology in the classroom, learning about technology, and professional development topics.

Knowledge Network (The New York Times)
[http://www.nytimes.com/college/kn-index.html]
Stories from the Times of particular interest to college students and faculty. Search. Browse by subject/major. Free registration.

PBS Learning Resources
[http://www.pbslearningmedia.org/]
Monthly curriculum ideas to correspond to PBS broadcasts for preschool and other levels in the areas of social studies, the arts, science, and math.

Pics4Learning: Copyright-friendly images for education
[http://pics.tech4learning.com/]
This site consists of thousands of images for legal use by teachers and students. Pictures can be browsed by topic. The Lessons section contains lesson plans that integrate graphics.

Teachers Helping Teachers
[http://www.pacificnet.net/~mandel/]
This site includes lesson plans from experienced teachers, K-12, in a broad range of subject areas.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
[http://ed.ted.com/]
This offshoot of TED.com showcases lessons for education. The primary focus is on high school and college level learners, and the YouTube videos include quizzes, additional resources and discussion points. Lessons can be customized for assignments.

UDL Connect, National Center on Universal Design for Learning
[http://community.udlcenter.org/]
Presented by the National Center on Universal Design for Learning, UDL Connect offers community membership, original research, and links to resources on curricular development for equal opportunities in learning.

Virtual Schoolhouse
[http://www.ibiblio.org/cisco/schoolhouse/]
This site is a meta-library of K-12 Internet links. Good resources in "classrooms" for student teachers.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Curriculum- Multidisciplinary