University of Hartford Libraries

Curriculum- Multicultural Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupteacheng]
Guide to the central areas of applied linguistics and language studies with particular reference to TESOL. It looks at the current state of TESOL as well as at what is likely to happen in the future.

Dictionary of Education (Greenwood)
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .G68 2011

Key Concepts in Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuked]
Contains essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/spredev]
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .D483 2015

Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Mortensen Library Reference LC1099 .D53 1997


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LB17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Education
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Edited by James W.Guthrie, this 2003 edition includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403299999&q=a23uh]
Search the full eight volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) Encyclopedia, intended to provide comprehensive information on education in the US and around the world. UofH only.

Worldwide Education Encyclopedia: a Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide
Mortensen Library Reference LB15 .W87 2002


United States - Statistics

Almanac of American Education
Mortensen Library Reference LA217.2 .A45 2011


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ERIC (Proquest)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=11308]
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database has abstracts of articles from over 775 journals. ERIC also indexes education research in books and contains a massive collection of ERIC documents, with full text online or in microfiche. (Univ. of Hartford has micro going back to 1980).

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

ProQuest Education Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/education?accountid=11308]
Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=trh]
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.


Websites

Connexions: Sharing Knowledge and Building Communities
[http://cnx.org/]
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Our Content Commons contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals — organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses. All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons "attribution" license.

Docs Teach
[http://docsteach.org/]
An excellent Teaching Resource for History and the Social Sciences. Has ideas on lesson plans incorporating primary sources as well as links to many National Archives primary sources.

Education World
[http://www.educationworld.com/]
With more than 120,000 educational sites in its database, this megasite is designed to support K-12 school administrators and teachers by providing information on lesson plans, curriculums, books in education, school administration, special themes, and educational website reviews.

EnglishClub.com
[http://www.englishclub.com/]
Help for both students of English as a Second Language and their instructors. Lessons on grammar, pronunciations, business English and more. Lesson plans and ESL projects for faculty. Caution! British English!

EverythingESL
[http://www.everythingesl.net/]
This attractive site is a nice resource for any teacher with second language students. It offers teaching tips with classroom activities and a select annotated list of books, CD-ROMS, and Websites.

The Teachers Page (Library of Congress)
[http://www.loc.gov/teachers/]
Classroom materials and ideas for teachers, resources to help teachers use primary sources, and links to help with professional development.

University of Pittsburgh Global Studies Center
[http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/global/]
The University of Pittsburgh Global Studies Center is a US Department of Education recognized center for international studies. It offers resources for students and faculty in 'interdisciplinary, cross-cultural research and learning on issues of global concern in four broadly defined areas: global health, global security, global economy and global society.'


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Curriculum- Multicultural