University of Hartford Libraries

Criminal Justice Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

A Broken System: Error Rates in Capital Cases 1973-1995
[http://b.3cdn.net/ncadp/c2c493b8dfab81a0ed_9adm679fe.pdf]
"The Liebman Study" is a ground breaking report examining every capital conviction and appeal from 1973-1995. Full text of report is available in HTML. Adobe Acrobat is needed. Note: Not all appendices are available online. The Justice Project hopes to have them available soon.

Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupvba]
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research and thinking about the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007

Correctional Boot Camps: Lessons from a Decade of Research
[https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/197018.pdf]
The report presents data analyzing whether boot camps are successful in reducing recidivism, prison populations, and operating costs.

Countering the Changing Threat of International Terrorism
[http://www.fas.org/irp/threat/commission.html]
Controversial report written in the wake of 1998 Bombing of US Embassies in Africa. Full text is available. Adobe Acrobat needed.

Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414405063&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Covering the evolution of the American criminal justice system throughout history, Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library explores everything from juvenile justice to organized crime.

Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414412603&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.

Criminal Poisoning: an Investigational Guide for Law Enforcement, Toxicologist, Forensic Scientists, and Attorneys
Mortensen Library Reference RA1228 .T74 2007

Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773 .S3547 2004

Deadly Lessons: School Shooters tell Why
[http://powerreporting.com/shoot.pdf]
This two-part, seven-article series from the Chicago Sun Times uses research done by the Secret Service to examine the phenomenon of random school shootings.

Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013

Great American Court Cases, Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/greatcourts]
This resource from Gale, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents.

Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Mortensen Library Reference KF8742 .W567 2004

Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estforensic?institutionId=4005]
Provide professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings, or to better their understanding of the issues and debates in forensic psychology.

Handbook of Forensic Services
[https://ucr.fbi.gov/lab/handbook-of-forensic-services-pdf]
The material presented here describes the process by which forensic examinations are conducted at the FBI Laboratory.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003

Legalized Gambling
Mortensen Library Reference HV6715 .H385 2006

National Survey of State Laws
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410500&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.

The Oxford Handbook of Criminology
Mortensen Library Reference HV6025 .O87 2007

The Sexual Victimization of College Women
[https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/nij/182369.pdf]
The Department of Justice report offers a comprehensive look into the prevalence and nature of sexual assault occurring at American colleges.

Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414407722&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Profiles major U.S. Supreme Court decisions that have made a significant impact on American society. Each volume is organized by broad legal principles such as individual liberties, criminal justice, equal protection, and business and government law.

Terrorism: A Documentary History
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .T4594 2003

Terrorism: A Guide to Events and Documents
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K698 2004

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414406220&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.

World of Criminal Justice, Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/worldcrims]
Explains in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice.

Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007

Youth Violence: A Report of the Surgeon General
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK44294/]
Full text of the report, as well as links to additional resources.


Careers

Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry
Career Services Shelves KF297 .E245 2007 and Mortensen Library Reference KF297 .E245 2002

Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security & Protective Services
Career Services Shelves HV8143 .E34 2006 and Mortensen Library Reference HV8143 .E34 2006


Connecticut

Connecticut Law Enforcement Handbook: the Connecticut Penal Code
Mortensen Library Reference KFC4161.A29 C66


Dictionaries

The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .C48 2004

Collins Dictionary of Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinslaw]
The constant companion for all law students, and the essential reference guide for laymen, particularly business people, and all who desire a reliable guide to the law's special terminology (from abandonee to zero tolerance), including that of European union law.

The Dictionary of Criminal Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV7411 .R87 2011

Dictionary of Culprits and Criminals
Mortensen Library Reference HV6245 .K64 1995

Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willanfp]
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system, designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.

Dictionary of Law, A&C Black
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acblaw]
Provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law.

Dictionary of Policing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willanpolicing]
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system and designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.

Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willandpp]
Contemporary prison practice faces many challenges, is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized, influenced by the new National Offender Management Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established prisons and penal lexicon.

Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willandpom]
Emphasizes a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.

Dictionary of Spanish Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdspalaw]
Provides coverage of British, American, and Spanish law, including criminal, civil, commercial, and international law.

Dictionary of Youth Justice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willanyouthj]
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organizational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.


Encyclopedias

9/11 Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcne]
Details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal.

Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1865-1986
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 1988

Assassinations and Executions: an Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1900 through 2000
Mortensen Library Reference HV6278 .L45 2002

The Encyclopedia of American Prisons
Mortensen Library Reference HV9471 .S54 2003

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV6017 .E52 2002

Encyclopedia of DNA and the US Criminal Justice System
Mortensen Library Reference RA1057.55 .P34 2004

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science: a Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction
Mortensen Library Reference HV8073 .C595 2002

Encyclopedia of Intelligence & Counterintelligence
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpint]
Provides a unique background perspective for viewing history and current events. In easy-to-understand, non-technical language, it explains how espionage works as a function of national policy; traces the roots of national security; profiles key intelligence leaders, agents, and double-agents; discusses intelligence concepts and techniques; and profiles the security organizations and intelligence history and policies of nations around the world.

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States: from Capone's Chicago to the New Urban Underworld
Mortensen Library Reference HV6446 .K43 2000

The Encyclopedia of Police Science
Mortensen Library Reference HV7901 .E53 2012

Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law
Mortensen Library Reference KF9325.A68 M33 2006

Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Mortensen Library Reference HV6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estpeace]
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.

Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Mortensen Library Reference HV6046 .E56 2000

Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcguns?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive single source of information on the gun issue to help readers educate themselves.

Legal Systems of the World: a Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference K48 .L44 2002

The Mafia Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HV6441 .S53 1999

Violence in America: An Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HN90.V5 V5474 1999

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693732&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full text of the 13 volume, 2005 edition of this comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of American law and the legal system. UofH only.

World of Forensic Science
Mortensen Library Reference HV8073 .W674 2006


Statistics- United States

Uniform Crime Reports
[https://ucr.fbi.gov/ucr-publications#Crime]
Uniform crime statistics for the United States (1995-present) including Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistic, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and other individual reports. Statistics can be searched back to 1960 at http://www.ucrdatatool.gov/.


United States - Statistics

Injury Facts (National Safety Council)
Mortensen Library Reference HA217 .A4


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Checkpoint (RIA)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://checkpoint.riag.com/login?iploc=univofhart]
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

CourtListener
[https://www.courtlistener.com/]
the site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Each day, the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit are added, as well.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Military & Government Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=mth]
Formerly Military Library FullTEXT. Full text of over 320 history, political science and military related periodicals and general interest magazines, with abstracts of articles from an additional 300 plus titles.

Public Library of Law
[http://www.plol.org/Pages/Search.aspx]
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.

The Supreme Court Database
[http://scdb.wustl.edu/]
Searchable online information for Supreme Court documents, decisions and opinions from 1953 to present.


Websites

General Resources

ABA approved law schools
[http://www.americanbar.org/groups/legal_education/resources/aba_approved_law_schools/in_alphabetical_order.html]
Alphabetical Listing of and links to ABA approved law schools.

Institute for Biosecurity - St. Louis University School of Public Health
[https://www.slu.edu/public-health-social-justice/research/centers_institutes/institute_bsdp.php]
links to web sites, articles, government documents, and research reports from credible sources, such as academic institutions and professional organizations. Useful for those in the health professions, biology, and sciences.

Citeus Legalus
[http://citeuslegalus.com/]
The Legal Citation Generator for lazy law students.

Copnet
[http://www.copnet.org/]
Wide variety of sites dealing with law enforcement and criminology in North America.

Drugs Fact Sheet (DEA)
[http://www.justice.gov/dea/druginfo/factsheets.shtml]
Provides information about effects and use of individual drugs. Includes statistics on illicit drug use in the US.

General Statutes of Connecticut
[http://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/statutes.htm]
Website that holds the Connecticut Statutes.

Government Accountability Office
[http://www.gao.gov/]
Reports and testimony from the investigative arm of Congress.

Identity Theft Resource Center
[http://www.idtheftcenter.org/]
Information and resources for individuals to prevent and recover from identity theft.

Internet Law Library
[http://www.priweb.com/internetlawlib/1.htm]
Access to federal, state, and other nations' laws, to treaties and international law, and other legal information. Includes search engines for US Code and Code of Federal Regulations.

JUSTNET: Justice Technology Information Network
[http://www.justnet.org]
Comprehensive site dealing with law enforcement and corrections technology issues. Includes interactive topic board used for the exchange of information, questions and comments.

Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
[http://www.law.cornell.edu/]
The US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, opinions of federal and state courts, state constitutions and codes, and more. All accessible through an easy-to-use search engine.

The Lock-Up Society
[http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org/features/lockup/]
"As the new millennium began, the number of Americans behind bars passed two million -- five times the inmate population in 1972. In these reports, American Radio explores some of the causes and ramifications of this unprecedented experiment in mass incarceration." RealAudio required.

Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
[http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/]
This site contains extensive reports on the state of drug enforcement and awareness in the United States.

Police Assessment Resource Center
[http://www.parc.info/]
This information clearinghouse tracks the race, ethnicity, and gender of those who are stopped and/or searched by the police.

TRAC FBI Website
[http://trac.syr.edu/tracfbi/]
Comprehensive data about the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Free Registration is required to access statistics, graphs and concise history of the Bureau.

United States Courts
[http://www.uscourts.gov/]
Provides information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.

WWW Virtual Library: Law
[http://vlib.org/Law]
Excellent site which provides legal information by topic and organization type. Links to search tools and other comprehensive sites.


Connecticut

2-1-1 Connecticut (Connecticut's community resources database)
[http://www.211ct.org/]
Information for approximately 4,600 health and human service providers and 48,000 service-sites to help meet your needs.


Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics
[http://www.bjs.gov/]
Comprehensive federal stats on the justice system. Special topics and related stats provide gateways to other federal departments.


Statistics- Connecticut

Uniform Crime Reports Connecticut
[http://www.dir.ct.gov/dps/ucr/ucr.aspx]
Reports prepared by the Crime Analysis Unit of the Connecticut State Police. Selected years also provide a separate report on family violence.


Statistics- International

National Statistics (UK)
[http://www.statistics.gov.uk/]
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.


Statistics- United States

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
[http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/]
Nationally recognized criminal justice statistics reference book, now available online. Adobe Acrobat required. May be downloaded from site (1994-present). Also have print on Mortensen Library Shelves HV6787 .S68 (1977-1993)


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Criminal Justice