University of Hartford Libraries

Creative Writing Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Opportunities for Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN151 .G84 2000


Dictionaries

The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/penrd]
Offers an astonishingly wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routlifewrite?institutionId=4005]
Encyclopedia explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured.

Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Princeton
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prpoetry]
Comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.


Databases

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

MLA Bibliography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/mlaib?accountid=11308]
International index of books and journals. Covers modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. For information about the periodicals included, consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals.


Websites

The Online Communicator
[http://www.online-communicator.com/toppage.html]
Annotated collections of links to practical information on film, video, audio, multimedia, writing for the media,etc.

OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
[http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/]
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Creative Writing