University of Hartford Libraries

Counseling Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkbrain]
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcomppsyc]
Definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.

Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupcon]
After decades during which consciousness was considered beyond the scope of legitimate scientific investigation, consciousness re-emerged as a popular focus of research towards the end of the last century, and it has remained so for nearly 20 years.

Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupexpert]
The world's foremost 'experts on expertise' review our scientific knowledge on expertise and expert performance and how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of their development, training, reasoning, knowledge, social support, and innate talent.

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuppr]
Serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship in this dynamic field, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupphm]
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupsp]
The handbook integrates contributions of sociocultural specialists from fifteen countries, all tied together by the unifying focus on the role of sign systems in human relations with the environment.

Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupvba]
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research and thinking about the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Child Abuse: Law and Policy Across Boundaries
Mortensen Library Reference K5189 .H69 2007

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprhp]
Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology.

Deadly Lessons: School Shooters tell Why
[http://powerreporting.com/shoot.pdf]
This two-part, seven-article series from the Chicago Sun Times uses research done by the Secret Service to examine the phenomenon of random school shootings.

Death, Dying and the Ending of Life
Mortensen Library Reference R726 .D4413 2007

Domestic violence sourcebook : basic consumer information about intimate partner abuse, stalking, sexual harassment, and human trafficking, including facts about risk factors, warning signs, and forms of physical, sexual, mental, emotional, and financial abuse in women, men, adolescents, recent immigrants, elders, and other specific populations; along with facts about victims and abusers, strategies for preventing and intervening in abusive situations, guidelines for managing emergencies and making safety plans, interventions through workplaces and faith communities, tips regarding legal protections, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of resources for further information
Mortensen Library Reference HV6626.2 .D685 2013

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659008&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Articles on the nature of addiction and its roots include advertising, genetics, families, and personal problems.

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414412610&contentSegment=9781414412610]
Focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estaging?institutionId=4005]
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.

Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estforensic?institutionId=4005]
Provide professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings, or to better their understanding of the issues and debates in forensic psychology.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukdp]
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.

Key Concepts in Health Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukhp]
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Psychologists and Their Theories for Students
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414406459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis.

Youth violence and delinquency : monsters and myths
Mortensen Library Reference HV9104 .Y6854 2007


Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routbiopsy?institutionId=4005]
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on psychologists from all over the world from 1850 to the present day.

Key Thinkers in Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageuktp]
It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is 'psychology'.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyconfres]
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/willanfp]
Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system, designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners.

Dictionary of Mind and Body: Therapies, Techniques and Ideas in Alternative Medicine, the Healing Arts and Psychology
Mortensen Library Reference BF168 .W37 1996

Dictionary of Psychological Theories (Elsevier)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estpsyctheory?institutionId=4005]
Contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide to the Social Sciences
Mortensen Library Reference HA17 .V64 2005

The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinpsyc?institutionId=4005]
Explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008


Encyclopedias

The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileypsych]
Entries in all major categories of psychology.

Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/edinburghpsychoa]
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderdpsyc]
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology addresses all these issues and more, and is a core reference for any student of psychology. It is authoritative and accessible, and covers the basic curriculum content of a degree course along with more specialized material in areas of widespread interest

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estappliedpsyc]
Comprehensive and authoritative study covering the field of applied psychology.

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileycs]
Current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encyclopedia of Consciousness
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estcon]
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Mortensen Library Reference HA29 .S2363 2007

Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429908&contentSegment=9781414429908]
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Encyclopedia of Occultism & Parapsychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787677459&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Alcohol Studies Database
[http://www.scc.rutgers.edu/alcohol_studies/alcohol/]
This database contains citations of over 55,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. The database focuses on scholarly and professional materials on beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.

APA PsycNet
[http://psycnet.apa.org/#]
Full text, searchable access to articles and publications of the APA, NIMH, U.S. Center for Mental Health Services, and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

ProQuest Psychology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/psychologyshell?accountid=11308]
ProQuest Psychology Journals™ provides abstracts and indexing for more than 615 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text. Both students and mental-health professionals get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research from top psychology and related publications.

PsycARTICLES
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=pdh]
Years Covered: 1894-
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

Psychology Complete from Ebsco (PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh,pdh]
Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time gaining expanded coverage and one stop for much of your Psychology search needs.

PsycInfo
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=psyh]
International, multilingual index with abstracts of articles, books, and selected dissertations in psychology. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.


Periodicals

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations

German Journal of Psychiatry
[http://www.gjpsy.uni-goettingen.de/]
Free, English-language, peer-reviewed journal begun in 1998. Includes articles, case studies, and conference announcements. Early issues had studies on body image and eating disorders, depression among the elderly, and seasonal-affective disorders.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

American Psychological Association
[http://www.apa.org/]
The website of the leading professional a association in psychology is crammed with not only organizational and conference information, but also full text material, including articles from APA journals, position papers, reports, and more. Access through the Site Map or Latest News, since the search engine is poor.

AmoebaWeb: Psychology On The Web
[http://vanguard.edu/psychology/amoebaweb/]
Resources in Psychology capturing the best information on the internet.

APA Style Guide Website
[http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx]
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.

APA Style Resources
[http://www.psywww.com/apastyle]
Multiple sites providing guidance on APA style citations.

Asperger Syndrome, from Autism Speaks
[https://www.autismspeaks.org/what-autism/asperger-syndrome]
This description and guide to Asperger Syndrome from the website Autism Speaks discusses diagnosis, services and support, and advocacy options for people with Asperger Syndrome.

Association for Psychological Science (APS) - Home Page
[http://www.psychologicalscience.org/]
Includes links to electronic journals, graduate student and teaching resources.

Autism Information Center
[http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism]
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Child and Family WebGuide (Tufts University)
[http://ase.tufts.edu/cfw/]
Discusses and evaluates research-based websites on child development. Covered topics include child mental health, typical development, learning, and family/parenting issues.

Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations
[http://www.eiconsortium.org/]
Research related to EI topics, including self-awareness, optimism and empathy in the workplace. Includes links to full text of reports, information about model programs, a bibliography and links to related sources.

Drugs Fact Sheet (DEA)
[http://www.justice.gov/dea/druginfo/factsheets.shtml]
Provides information about effects and use of individual drugs. Includes statistics on illicit drug use in the US.

The Lock-Up Society
[http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org/features/lockup/]
"As the new millennium began, the number of Americans behind bars passed two million -- five times the inmate population in 1972. In these reports, American Radio explores some of the causes and ramifications of this unprecedented experiment in mass incarceration." RealAudio required.

NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
[http://www.drugabuse.gov/]
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
[http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/]
This site contains extensive reports on the state of drug enforcement and awareness in the United States.

Psychiatry Online
[http://www.priory.com/psych.htm]
An international peer-reviewed journal of articles, case reports, and briefs in such areas as transcultural mental health, child and adolescent psychiatry, and forensic psychiatry. Archives can be accessed through the Search button.

Psychology of Religion Pages (Georgia Southern University)
[http://psychwww.com/psyrelig/index.htm]
Extensive resources on the psychological aspects of religious belief and behavior. Includes essays, discussion groups, course syllabus collection, and list of links.

Psychology Web Links by Topic
[http://www.socialpsychology.org/psylinks.htm]
Subdivided into clinical, cognitive, cultural, developmental, personality, and social psychology; neuroscience; industrial-organizational; history of psychology.

Sexual Harassment Resources
[https://uncg.libguides.com/c.php?g=83098&p=538310]
This annotated list of resources on sexual harassment covers sites from the US government and military, educational institutions, and professional organizations. Topics included are date rape, cyberstalking, and hostile work environments, among others.

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
[http://www.teacch.com/]
Division TEACCH provides general information about autism, an overview of different educational and communication approaches, as well as information on research and professional training opportunities

Web of Addictions
[http://www.well.com/user/woa/]
Provides information about alcohol and other drug addictions. Includes a collection of fact sheets, links to other net resources, conference calendar, special topics, and a help "desk.

Writing Links from the University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing
[http://www.hartford.edu/academics/tutoring_assist/center_reading_writing/writing_links.aspx]
The University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing provides a list of links for help with MLA and APA guidelines, writing a thesis, and other resources for writers.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Psychology
[http://www.psychology.org/]
Links to psychology websites in such categories as "People and History", and "Environment Behavior Relationships".. Additional sites for career exploration and professional organizations.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Counseling