University of Hartford Libraries

Costume and Fashion Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Cambridge Guide to Theatre
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/cupthea?institutionId=4005]
Information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Also available in print: Mortensen Library Reference [PN2035 .C27 1995]

Complete Fashion Sourcebook
Mortensen Library Reference [GT596 .P393 2005]

Contemporary Fashion, ed. Richard Martin. New York: St. James Press, 1995.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF TT505 A1 C66 1995]

Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=243055]
Coverage includes individuals--performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers, composers--theater companies, countries, trends and genres.

Costume Design: Techniques of Modern Masters
Mortensen Library Shelves [TT507 .P39 1999]

Costume Index: a Subject Index to Plates and to Illustrated Text
Allen Library Reference [Z5691 M75]

Lister, Margot. Costume: An Illustrated Survey from Ancient Times to the Twentieth Century. Boston: Plays, Inc., 1982, c1968.
[Mortensen Library Reference [REF GT513 L5 1968]

Costumes for the Stage: a Complete Handbook for Every Kind of Play
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2067 .J28 2001]

Davies, Stephanie Curtis, comp. Costume Language: A Dictionary of Dress Terms. Malvern: Cressrelles, 1994.
[Mortensen Library Reference [REF GT507 D38 1994]

Handbook of Stage Costume
Mortensen Library Shelves [PN2067 .B53 2006]

A Pictorial History of Costume: a Survey of Costume of all Periods and Peoples from Antiquity to Modern Times Including National Costume in Europe and Non-European Countries
Mortensen Library Reference [GT513 .B763 1973]

The Visual History of Costume Accessories
Mortensen Library Shelves [GT2050 .C86 1998]

What People Wore: a Visual History of Dress from Ancient Times to Twentieth-century America
Mortensen Library Oversized [GT513 .G6]

World Design: the Best in Classic Furniture, Fashion, Graphics and More
Mortensen Library Reference NK1166 .W67 2000


Careers

Career Opportunities in the Fashion Industry
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .V63 2007] and Mortensen Library Reference [TT507 .V63 2002]

Creative Careers in Fashion: 30 Ways to Make a Living in the World of Couture
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .H243 2007]


Dictionaries

Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients: Complete Information About the Harmful and Desirable Ingredients Found in Cosmetics and Cosmeceuticals
Mortensen Library Reference [TP983.A55 W57 2005]

Costume Language: a Dictionary of Dress Terms
Mortensen Library Reference [GT507 .D38 1994]

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/thca?institutionId=4005]
International in scope, it is an essential sourcebook for designers, students, collectors and enthusiasts.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?sol=0684314517&locID=a23uh&ci1=TI&cb2=AND&ste=3&n=10&cb1=AND&ci3=FT&ci2=KE]
Design and style of fashion and clothing throughout history.

Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3409099999&q=a23uh]
Search the full five volumes of the 2000 edition encyclopedia which presents signed articles on various aspects of US popular culture. Includes bibliographies, images, etc. UofH only.

Yarwood, Doreen. The Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Scribner, 1978.
Mortensen Library Reference [GT507 Y37]

The Pictorial Encyclopedia of Fashion, by Ludmila Kybalová et al.; trans. by Claudia Rosoux. Feltham: Hamlyn, 1968.
Mortensen Library Reference [REF GT513 K813]


Popular Culture

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th Century America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=a23uh&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE|9781414411811]
The hairstyles, slang terms, advertising jingles, pop music sensations, and all else described as popular culture is covered in this five-volume reference. Arranged chronologically by decade and by broad topics within each decade, this set focuses solely on the popular culture of the twentieth century, offering more detailed information on trends and fads than any other resource

Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcarabpe?institutionId=4005]
Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpochine?institutionId=4005]
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpopger?institutionId=4005]
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcindpope?institutionId=4005]
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.

Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abclampope?institutionId=4005]
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.

Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcrusspe?institutionId=4005]
A revealing look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?prodId=DLBC&userGroupName=a23uh]
Lengthy, full text biographical and critical essays on world literary figures from all eras and genres. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to close when finished searching.

Film & Television Literature Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=fah]
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of film and television theory, preservation, writing, production, technical aspects, and reviews. Abstracts with selected full text.

Film Literature Index
[http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/advancedSearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 1976-2001
Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television (coverage from 1976-2001).

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.


Subject Headings

Clothing and dress
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Clothing+and+dress]

Color in clothing
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Color+in+clothing]

Costume
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Costume]

Costume designers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:costume+designers]

Costume designers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:costume+design]

Dress accessories
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:dress+accessories]

Fashion
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Fashion]

Masks
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:masks]

Men's clothing
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:men%27s+clothing]

Shoes
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:shoes]

Women's clothing
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:women%27s+clothing]


Websites

ACE Academic Costume Code
[http://www.acenet.edu/news-room/Pages/Academic-Costume-Code.aspx]
The whys, hows, whens and wheres of cap and gown from the American Council on Education.

ArtPromote
[http://www.artpromote.com/]
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities

Costume Page
[http://www.costumepage.org/]
A comprehensive index of costume and costuming-related links. There are well over 2,000 unique links listed on these pages.

Fashion-Era
[http://www.fashion-era.com/]
Contains 750 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Costume and Fashion