University of Hartford Libraries

Conducting Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: a Translation and Commentary
By Hugh Macdonald. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 B51 G73]

Black Conductors
By Antoinette D. Handy. Allen Library Reference [REF ML402 H31 1995]

Cambridge Companion to Conducting
Edited by José Antonio Bowen. Allen Library Stacks [ML458 C36 B6]

The Compleat Conductor
By Gunther Schuller. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 S384 1997]

Composer's Advocate: A Radical Orthodoxy for Conductors
By Erich Leinsdorf. Allen Library Stacks [MT75 L53]

Concert and Opera Conductors: A Bibliography of Biographical Materials
By Robert H. Cowden. Allen Library Reference [REF ML105 68 1987]

Conductors on Conducting
By Bernard Jacobson. Allen Library Stacks [ML457 J17]

Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors
By Don V. Moses, Robert W. Demaree, Jr., and Allen F. Ohmes. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 M92 2004]

The Grammar of Conducting: A Comprehensive Guide to Baton Technique and Interpretation
By Max Rudolf. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 R91 1994]

Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music
By William Rehrig. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B2 R45 v.1-3]

The History of Orchestral Conducting
By Elliott W. Galkin. Allen Library Stacks [ML457 G35]

The Modern Conductor
By Elizabeth Green. Allen Library Stacks [MT85 G79 1997]

Orchestra Music: A Handbook
By David Daniels. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 D1 2005]

Performance Practice, Medieval to Contemporary: A Bibliographical Guide
By John Roland Jackson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 P43 J33]

Performing Twentieth-Century Music
By Arthur Weisburg. Allen Library Stacks [MT75 W45 P4]


Catalogs of Printed Music

American Orchestra Music: A Performance Catalog
By Richard Koshgarian. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 K67 1992]

Catalog of the American Music Center, vol.3: Music for Orchestra, Band and Large Ensemble
By The American Music Center Library. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 A5]

Edwin A. Fleischer Collection of Orchestral Music
By The Philadelphia Free Library. Allen Library Reference [REF ML136 P54F 1979]

Orchestral Music in Print
By Margaret K. Farish. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 N8 F 1994 IND and Suppl.]

Sacred Choral Music in Print 2nd ed., Suppl., Index. Philadelphia, PA: Musicdata, 1985, 1996.
By Gary S. Eslinger and F. Mark Daugherty. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 E 1985 & 1996 Suppl. & Index]

Secular Choral Music in Print. 2nd ed., Suppl., Index
By Mark F. Daugherty and Robert W. Cho. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C5 D3 1987 & 1996 Suppl. & Index]


Call Numbers

[REF] ML128 O5
Orchestral Music-Bibliography

M1000
Orchestral music

M1200
Band music

ML422
Conductors-Biography

ML457
Interpretation and performance practice

ML458
Conducting (Instruments and instrumental music)

ML1500
Choral music

MT70
Orchestra and orchestration

MT75
Interpretation and analysis (general)

MT85
Conducting-Instruction and study; Score reading

MT88
Choral conducting

MT733
Band-Instruction and study


Periodicals

American Choral Review

Choir and Organ

Choral Journal

Galpin Society Journal

Historical Performance

Journal of Band Research
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Journal+of+Band+Research+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

NSOA Bulletin

Overseas Musician

Symphony Magazine


Subject Headings

Band music

Choirs music

Choral conducting

Choral singing

Conducting

Conductors music

Instrumentation and orchestration

Interpretation phrasing dynamics etc.

Orchestra

Performance

Score reading

Sight reading music

Symphony orchestras


Websites

American Choral Directors Association
[http://acda.org/]
Includes festival list, conventions, forums, repertoire and standards, division and chapter information, and publications.

American Music Center
The American Music Center has merged with Meet the Composer to form New Music USA.

Musica Virtual Choral Library
[http://www.musicanet.org/en/]
A multilingual database of 135,000 entries which can be searched by composer, publisher, author of text, etc.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Conducting