University of Hartford Libraries

Computer Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

ANSI/NISO Z39.18 - 2005 (R2010) Scientific and Technical Reports - Preparation, Presentation, and Preservation
[http://www.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6497/Scientific%20and%20Technical%20Reports%20-%20Preparation%2C%20Presentation%2C%20and%20Preservation.pdf]
This standard outlines the elements, organization and design of scientific and technical reports, including guidance for uniform presentation of front and back matter, text, and visual and tabular matter in print and digital formats, as well as recommendations for multimedia reports.

Artificial Intelligence
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189146&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A factbook on the development and uses of intelligent robots that utilize artificial intelligence. An overview of how researchers simulate brain processes in these machines, and the variety of uses the machines/robots have.

Computer Graphics Companion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cgraphicscomp]
A comprehensive collection of articles written by selected specialists and spanning a wide range of topics and applications in computer graphics.

Internet and Personal Computing Fads
Mortensen Library Reference HM851 .B454 2004

Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukgis]
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.

Princeton Companion to Mathematics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/prcm]
Surveys the most active and exciting branches of pure mathematics, providing the context and broad perspective that are vital at a time of increasing specialization in the field.

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.

Virtual Reality
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590189252&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Explores how computer graphics, sound, and touch are used to simulate reality. Describes the uses of this technology beyond entertainment, such as in engineering, training and business applications.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Computing (Collins)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbcomp?institutionId=4005]
Guide to the language and jargon of computing.

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Glossary of Computing and ICT
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bcscompict]
This study aid and reference tool has newly updated entries and is divided into themed sections.

Photonics Dictionary
[http://www.photonics.com/Directory/Dictionary/Default.aspx]
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.

Webster's New World Computer Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/webstercom]
Clear and concise definitions for a significant number of up-to-date computer terms.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Computer Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/encyccs]
The definitive reference in computer science and technology.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
[http://dl.acm.org/dl.cfm]
An extensive database containing more than 350,000 citations of core works in computing from 1985 forward, including books, journals, proceedings, and theses. Citations for articles available in the ACM Digital Library are available full text.

AMS - MathSciNet
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/search.html]
Over 500,000 mathematical Reviews on the net. Searchable by author, title, classification, publication year and more. Provides abstracts.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

ArXiv e-print Archive
[http://xxx.lanl.gov/]
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

ProQuest Computing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/computing/advanced/science/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Full text available.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

TechXtra Information Search
[http://techxtra.tradepub.com/]
Find articles, websites, books, industry news, and more in the engineering, mathematics, and computer sciences.


Periodicals

DMTCS: Discrete Mathematics & Theoretical Computer Science -
[http://www.dmtcs.org/dmtcs-ojs/index.php/dmtcs]
"A high standard peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to rapid publication of innovative research which favors the intersection of these two fields." Includes abstracts and full text of articles from issues back to 1997.


Subject Headings

Computer sound processing


Websites

American Mathematical Society Website
[http://ams.org/]
Official website of the American Mathematical Society

Association for Computing Machinery
[http://www.acm.org/]
Sample resumes, careerlines, scholarships, publications. Lynx users go to text-only home page..

Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
[http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/]
Collection of information about published research. Updated monthly. Some citations link to full text of papers. Search or browse.

Computer Science (University at Albany Libraries)
[http://libguides.library.albany.edu/csci]
Annotate links to valuable sources of computer science information. Arranged in broad categories. Some available only to University at Albany students.

Computing Research Repository
[https://arxiv.org/corr/home]
Access to e-prints in all areas of computer science. Joint project of ACM, Los Alamos e-print archive, and National Computer Science Technical Reference Library. Browse or search pages, some as far back as 1993.

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)
[http://ergo.human.cornell.edu/]
Faculty and student research focused on enhancing usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces.

eg3.com
[http://www.eg3.com/]
Extensive links to a wide variety of resources for design engineers.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

Human-Computer Interaction Lab (University of Maryland)
[http://www.cs.umd.edu/hcil/]
Links to research and information on human-computer interaction.

ITProPortal
[http://www.itproportal.com/]
Beta version of a search engine specifically pointed at IT sites. Includes news, reviews, downloads, etc.

MAA Online (The Mathematical Association of America)
[https://www.maa.org/]
Official website of The Mathematical Association of America. Provides mathematicians with the best expository articles, engaging problems, and articles devoted to teaching collegiate mathematics.

Nanowerk
[http://www.nanowerk.com]
Current news and information (including links and a Nanomaterial Database) covering all aspects of nanotechnology

National Center for Women and Information Technology
[https://www.ncwit.org/]
Promotes women's involvement in IT by providing links to information about training, books, news articles, speakers, etc.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
[http://www.nctm.org/]
Official website of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

SOCR: Statistical Online Computational Resource
[http://www.socr.ucla.edu/]
Interactive statistical learning tool. Free access.

TechTutorials
[http://www.techtutorials.net]
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.

Virus Encyclopedia
[http://www.avgthreatlabs.com/us-en/virus-and-malware-information]
Concise resource on malicious programs including viruses, Trojans, worms, and other malware.

Women in Technology International (WITI)
[http://www.witi.com/]
An international resource for women in science and technology. Includes information on career opportunities.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Computer Engineering