University of Hartford Libraries

Composition Subject Guide


20th/21st Century Music

Books

The Craft of Musical Composition
By Paul Hindemith. Allen Library [MT40 H66 1970]

Fundamentals of Musical Composition
By Arnold Schoenberg. Allen Library [MT40 S37 1970]

Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory
By Joseph Straus. Allen Library [MT40 S87 I58]

Materials and Techniques of Twentieth-Century Music
By Stefan Kostka. Allen Library [MT40 K86 M38 2006]

The Technique of My Musical Language
By Olivier Messiaen. Allen Library [MT40 M58 E]

Techniques of the Contemporary Composer
By David Cope. Allen Library Stacks [MT40 C78 T4]

Twelve-Tone Tonality
By George Perle. Allen Library [MT40 P45 T 1996]

The Twentieth-Century Composer Speaks: an Index of Interviews
By Mari Nishimura. Allen Library Reference [REF ML118 N57 T]

See more books about 20th/21st century composition
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:((20th+century or 21st+century) and composition+music)?sort=pubyear%20desc]


Periodicals

20th Century Music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/306386]

21st Century Music
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=21st+century+music&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Contemporary Music Review
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Contemporary+Music+Review+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

New Music Connoisseur
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/270357]

Tempo: A Quarterly Review of Modern Music
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=tempo+quarterly+review&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

IRCAM
[http://www.ircam.fr/]
Provides access to their online library/archives catalogs; biographical information about contemporary composers; articles and analyses of music; their calendar of events; and useful links.


Electronic Music

Books

The Algorithmic Composer
By David Cope. Allen Library [MT56 C78 A5]

Audible Design: A Plain and Easy Introduction to Practical Sound Composition
By Trevor Wishart. Allen Library Mixed Media [MX ML3805 W57 A93]

The Cambridge Companion to Electronic Music
By Nick Collins and Julio d'Escrivan (eds.). Allen Library [ML1380 C36 E33]

Computer Music: Synthesis, Composition, and Performance
By Charles Dodge and Thomas Jerse. Allen Library [ML1092 D64 1997]

A Dictionary of Electronic and Computer Music Technology: Instruments, Terms, Techniques
By Richard Dobson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 E4 D6]

Electronic and Computer Music
By Peter Manning. Allen Library [ML1380 M28 E33]

Microsound
By Curtis Roads. Allen Library [ML3805 R63 M53]

New Digital Musical Instruments: Control and Interaction Beyond the Keyboard
By Eduardo Miranda and Marcelo Wanderley. Allen Library [ML1092 W24 N48]

See more books on electronic music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:(electronic+music or electronic+composition or computer+music or computer+composition)?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Periodicals

Computer Music Journal
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=computer+music+journal&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

Electronic Music Foundation
[http://www.emf.org/]
Provides information about electronic music concerts, festivals, conferences, workshops, and products. Includes a directory of educational institutions, artists, etc.


Form

Books

Basic Forms in Music
By Charles Walton. Allen Library [MT58 W23]

Form in Tonal Music: An Introduction to Analysis
By Douglass Green. Allen Library [MT58 G79 1979]

Musical Form and Analysis
By Glenn Spring and Jere Hetcheson. Allen Library [MT58 S67 M87]

Musical Form and Musical Performance
By Edward Cone. Allen Library [MT58 C74]

See more books about musical form
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:musical+form?sort=pubyear%20desc]


Browse the Shelves by Call Number

Musical Form
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(MT58* or MT59* or MT60* or MT61* or MT62* or MT63* or MT64) -guitar -electric+bass -zither -mandolin)]
MT58 - MT64


Harmony

Books

A Geometry of Music : Harmony and Counterpoint in the Extended Common Practice
By Dmitri Tymoczko. Allen Library [MT50 T95 G4]

Harmonic Practice
By Roger Sessions. Allen Library [MT50 S59]

Harmony
By Walter Piston. Allen Library Stacks [MT50 P67 H 1987]

Harmony and Melody
By Elie Siegmeister. Allen Library [MT50 S57 H37]

Tonal Harmony: With an Introduction to Twentieth-Century Music
By Stefan Kostka and Dorothy Payne. Allen Library [MT50 K86 2009]

See more books on harmony
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:harmony?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Browse the Shelves by Call Number

Harmony
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(MT50*) -saxophone -oboe)]
MT50


Notation

Books

Behind Bars: The Definitive Guide to Music Notation
By Elaine Gould. Allen Library [MT35 G68 B4]

Guide to Standardized Drumset Notation
By Norman Weinberg. Allen Library [MT35 W45 G85]

Music Manuscript Preparation
By Mona Mender. Allen Library Reference [REF MT35 M46M]

Music Notation in the Twentieth Century: A Practical Guidebook
By Kurt Stone. Allen Library [MT35 S87]

New Music Notation
By David Cope. Allen Library [ML431 C78]

Notations
By John Cage (compiler). Allen Library Closed Stacks [ML96 C13]

Perspectives on Notation and Performance
By Benjamin Boretz and Edward Cone. Allen Library [ML431 B73]

See more books about notation
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:musical+notation?sort=pubyear%20desc]


Orchestration

Books

Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: a Translation and Commentary
By Hugh Macdonald. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 B51 G73]

Instrumentation and Orchestration
By Alfred Blatter. Allen Library [MT70 B64 1997]

Orchestral Combinations: the Science and Art of Instrumental Tone-Color
By Gardner Read. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 R28 O72]

The Study of Orchestration. 4th ed. [Does not have CDs.]
By Samuel Adler. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 A23 2016]

The Study of Orchestration. 3rd ed. With 6 CDs.
By Samuel Adler. Allen Library Stacks [MT70 A23 2002 & MD MT70 A23 2002]

Textures and Timbres: An Orchestrator's Handbook
By Henry Brant. Allen Library [MT70 B82 T4]

See more books on orchestration
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:instrumentation+and+orchestration?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Browse the Shelves by Call Number

Orchestration and instrumentation
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(MT70* or MT73*) -MT730* -MT733* -MT735* -MT736* -MT737*)?sort=pubyear%20desc]
MT70 - MT73


General

Books

Artists & Writers Colonies: Retreats, Residencies, and Respites for the Creative Mind. 2nd ed.
Edited by Robyn Middlen [et al.]. Allen Library Reference [REF NX110 M53 A78]

Counterpoint
By Kent Kennan. Allen Library [MT55 K34 1987]

Craft of Musical Composition
By Paul Hindemith. Allen Library Stacks [MT40 H66 1970]

The Craft of Tonal Counterpoint
By Thomas Benjamin. Allen Library [MT55 B46 T65]

The Muse that Sings: Composers Speak About the Creative Process
By Ann McCutchan. Allen Library [ML430 M23 M8]

Sonic Design
By Robert Cogan and Pozzi Escot. Allen Library [MT6 C67 A]


Browse the Shelves by Call Number

Acoustics and physics
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(ML3805* or ML3806* or ML3807* or ML3808* or ML3809* or ML3810* or ML3811* or ML3812* or ML3813* or ML3814* or ML3815* or ML3816* or ML3817*))?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML3805 - ML3817

Aesthetics
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:ML3845*?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML3845

Biographies of composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:ML410*?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML410

Composition: instruction and study
MT40 - MT67

Counterpoint
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MT55*?sort=pubyear%20desc]
MT55

History and criticism of composition
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(ML430* or ML431* or ML432* or ML433* or ML434* or ML435* or ML436* or ML437* or ML438* or ML439* or ML440* or ML441* or ML442* or ML443* or ML444* or ML445* or ML446* or ML447* or ML448* or ML449* or ML450* or ML451* or ML452* or ML453* or ML454* or ML455*))?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML430 - ML455

Philosophy and physics of music
ML3800 - ML3920

Rhythm
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(rhythm MT42*)?sort=pubyear%20desc]
MT42

Writings of composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/(callnumber:(ML90*) -ML900* -ML901*)?sort=pubyear%20desc]
ML90


Find Books on Other Topics

Composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:composers?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Composition music
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Composition+music+?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Counterpoint
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:counterpoint?sort=pubyear%20desc]

Melody
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:melody?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]

Women composers
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:Women+composers+?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Periodicals

Canadian Composer
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/141776]

Leonardo Music Journal
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Leonardo+Music+Journal+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

American Composers Alliance
[http://www.composers.com/]
In addition to information about members' services, this site has a searchable composer database and the capability of renting or purchasing scores online.

American Composers Forum
[http://www.composersforum.org/]
The ACF connects communities with composers and performers. This site includes information and links about programs, chapters, opportunities, composer home pages, and guidelines for various commission deadlines.

American Music Center
The American Music Center has merged with Meet the Composer to form New Music USA.

Arsis Press: Concert Music by Women Composers
[http://www.instantweb.com/~arsis/]
Lists publications and biographical information about many women composers. Includes links to other sites useful to women in music.

ASCAP
[http://www.ascap.com/]
ASCAP is one of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources dealing with performing rights and licensing fees.

BMI
[http://bmi.com/]
BMI is one of the two largest performing rights organizations in the US. This website provides information and resources dealing with performing rights and licensing fees.

National Association of Composers
[http://www.music-usa.org/nacusa/]
NACUSA's home page provides information on concerts, competitions, members, announcements & inquiries, and related internet sites.

New Music Box
[http://www.newmusicbox.org]

New Music USA
[https://www.newmusicusa.org/]
New Music USA was formed in 2011 by the merger of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer. The website has information on programs and support for American composers of all kinds of music as well as reference services, referrals, publications, lending library of over 55,000 scores and recordings, artist member home pages, and other relevant links.

Society of Composers, Inc.
[http://www.societyofcomposers.org/]
The society's home page contains information about their conferences and performances, publications (including their monthly newsletter), CD series, member websites and email addresses, chapters, etc.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Composition