University of Hartford Libraries

Competitor Intelligence Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

1000 CEOs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkceos]
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

Annual Statement Studies (RMA)
Mortensen Library Reference HF5681.B2 R6

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Competitive Alternatives (KPMG)
[http://www.competitivealternatives.com/]
Detailed comparison of comparative business costs in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Covers 17 industry operations in 11 countries.

Dun and Bradstreet/Gale Industry Reference Handbooks
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .D78 1998

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414496276&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.

Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HF5410 .M35

The New Competitor Intelligence: the Complete Resource for Finding, Analyzing, and Using Information About Your Competitors
Mortensen Library Reference HD38.7 .F863 1995

The Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .P82

Researching Private Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HD2771 .H695

Service Annual Survey
[https://www.census.gov/services/index.html]
United States Government site for Service Industry statistics and information.

Service Industries USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference HD9981.3 .S47 1999

Skeptical Business Searcher: the Information Advisor's Guide to Evaluating Web Data, Sites, and Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HF54.56 .B4685 2004

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Mortensen Library Reference HG4961 .S78 I4

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and Regional Exchanges
Mortensen Library Reference HG4907 .S72

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)

The Value Line Investment Survey (online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://research.valueline.com/secure/research]
The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driverís seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.

World Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HD2757.15 .W67


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Professional Management: Authoritative, Comprehensive
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B364 1997


Directories

Encyclopedia of associations. National organizations of the U.S.
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gdl/infomark.do?sort=DocTitle&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GDL&searchType=AdvancedSearchForm&queryId=Locale(en,,):LQE=(LO,None,3)new:And:LQE=(UZ,None,4)nous$&type=search&version=1.0&source=gale]
Search Business Associations throughout the United States

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gdl/infomark.do?serQuery=Locale(en,,):FQE=(JX,None,59)%22Encyclopedia+of+Associations:+International+Organizations%22$&queryType=PH&CPUBValue=2MOX&tabID=T023&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GDL¤tPosition=1&type=pubIssues&version=1.0&source=gale]
Covers multinational and national organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership.

Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations. Volume 2, Northeastern States.
Mortensen Library Reference HS17 .G334

International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.


Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Business Ethics
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Entrepreneurship
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Management
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .E49 2000

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.


Databases

General Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.


Statistics

Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
[http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/marketsdata.html]
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.


Websites

American Marketing Association Marketing Power
[http://www.marketingpower.com/Pages/default.aspx]
American Marketing Association Websit.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/site/default.asp]
Information for the development and implementation of policies, strategies and programs all of which are designed to enhance Connecticut's communities and business and housing environments.

Connecticut Development Authority
[http://www.ct.gov/]
Provides debt financing and investment capital to help businesses grow in Connecticut.

The Corporate Library
[http://www.corporatelibrary.com/]
The American Corporation and the Economy. Includes a searchable library, research tools, and extensive links to more information.

EDGAR Database (SEC)
[http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml]
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Ernst and Young International
[http://www.ey.com/]
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

Internet Intelligence Index
[http://insights.fuld.com/internet-intelligence-index-fuld-and-company]
Links to sources of competitive intelligence information. Compiled by Fuld and Company, one of the leaders in the field.

Public Register's Annual Report Services
[http://www.prars.com/]
Fill out a form to have selected company's annual reports mailed to you. US mail address required.

Society of Competitive Intelligence Professionals
[http://www.scip.org/]
SCIP provides education and networking opportunities for business professionals working in the rapidly growing field of competitive intelligence.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Competitor Intelligence