University of Hartford Libraries

Community Health Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Acne
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188705&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the causes of acne, who is at risk to have acne, how it is diagnosed, and the treatment options that are available.

AIDS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188712&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
A fact book on AIDS and HIV, written for young adults. Explores milestones in the history and treatment of AIDS including new drug therapies.

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide
Mortensen Library Reference RC81 .A543 2004

Anatomy of Exercise
Mortensen Library Reference GV461 .M36 2008

Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cupage]
Provides comprehensive, accessible and authoritative accounts of all the key topics in the field ranging from theories of ageing, to demography, physical aspects of ageing, mental processes and ageing, nursing and health care for older people, the social context of ageing, cross cultural perspectives, relationships, quality of life, gender, and financial and policy provision.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Older Adults
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .C65284 2006

Complete Health Resource - UXL
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693138&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues.

Current Population Reports: (All Series)
[https://www.census.gov/main/www/cprs.html]
Full text of all Population Reports by the United States Government.

Current Population Reports: Consumer Income (Series P-60)
[https://www.census.gov/prod/www/population.html]
Full text of Consumer Income Reports by the United States Government.

Current Population Reports: Special Studies (Series P-23)
[http://www.census.gov/prod/www/population.html]
Full text of Population Special Reports by the United States Government.

Directory of Schools for Alternative and Complementary Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .D59 1998

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659008&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Articles on the nature of addiction and its roots include advertising, genetics, families, and personal problems.

Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=a23uh&v=2.1&it=aboutBook&id=GALE%7C4698]
Provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity. It discusses the guidelines for physical activity in people of all ages and diverse fitness levels, including those with disabilities, chronic diseases, or other challenges

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estaging?institutionId=4005]
Provides a comprehensive summary and evaluation of recent research on the social aspects of aging.

Healing Power of Chinese Herbs and Medicinal Recipes
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 H68 2004

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Herbs, Spices, and Medicinal Plants
Mortensen Library Reference SB107 .H47 1986

Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukms]
Provides a systematic and accessible introduction to medical sociology.

Key Concepts in Public Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukph]
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Lifestyle Market Analyst
Mortensen Library Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54

Manual of Toxicologic Emergencies
Mortensen Library Reference RA1224.5 .G63 2007

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Mesothelioma: From Discovery to Treatment
[http://www.mesothelioma.com/ebooks/mesothelioma-from-discovery-to-treatment.pdf]
This short ebook offers insight into the history of mesothelioma, current treatment options, and the prognosis for patients.

Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbyherbs]
Provides the busy health care provider with detailed information for approximately 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements.

The Natural Pharmacy
Mortensen Library Reference RZ440 .N354 1999

The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hupwh?institutionId=4005]
Complete information on women's health concerns, physical and behavioral.

Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659909&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history.

Obesity
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188767&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses causes, treatments, living with obesity, and research.

PDR for Herbal Medicines
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 P37 2007

PDR for Nonprescription Drugs
Mortensen Library Reference RM671.A1 P48

Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference RA1215 .P65 2008

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009

The Royal Society of Medicine: Medicines
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/rsmmeds]
Containing many up-to-date descriptions of drugs, this is the most authoritative, comprehensive guide available.

SARS
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188774&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the symptoms and rapid infection rate, the initial cover-up by the Chinese government, and the response of health care workers and researchers from many nations.

Sexually Transmitted Diseases
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188781&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Discusses the impact of STDs on individuals and society, the research for new cures and treatments, and methods to prevent the spread of STDs by altering sexual behavior.

State of Health Atlas: Mapping the Challenges and Causes of Disease
Mortensen Library Reference RA777.6 .O3 2008

West Nile Virus
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781590188798&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
West Nile virus had never been seen in the Western Hemisphere before 1999. Now, it's everywhere in the United States. Find out more about this new health threat and what's being done about it.


Connecticut

Connecticut Municipal Profiles
Mortensen Library Reference HN79.C8 C6

Connecticut State Register and Manual
[http://www.ct.gov/sots/cwp/view.asp?a=3188&q=392636]
Interactive version of the "Blue Book" providing history, biographies, and directory information for state government and state congressional delegation from 1997. Have print in Mortensen Library Shelves JK3331 .A4


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

The Complete Medicinal Herbal The complete medicinal herbal
Mortensen Library Reference RM666.H33 O38 1993

Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients: Complete Information About the Harmful and Desirable Ingredients Found in Cosmetics and Cosmeceuticals
Mortensen Library Reference [TP983.A55 W57 2005]

Dictionary of Health Insurance and Managed Care
Mortensen Library Reference RA413 .D53 2006

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Mosby’s Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mosbycompmed]
A comprehensive glossary of numerous terms and 500 illustrations, along with 24 appendices, useful for any health professional in today's medical field.

Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pmd]
Covers the gamut of pharmaceutical medicine from drug discovery, development, trials, regulatory approval and marketing.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028658797&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.

Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7C9781573027359&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full four volumes of the 2014 edition encyclopedia which presents recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses for plants and herbs. Includes information on efficacy and analysis of acceptance by "traditional" doctors. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Mortensen Library Reference HQ767.84 .E52 2005

Encyclopedia of Cancer (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476018&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Diets - Gale
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414429946&contentSegment=9781414429946]
Covers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health.

Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476056&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Women's Health
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprwh]
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, the Encyclopedia offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

Mosby’s Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ehsmosbyherbs]
With the increased usage of herbal therapies enjoyed by individuals, this handbook is packed with easy-to-find herbal information and is a must-have for any clinician.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Statistics- United States

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .A37


United States - Statistics

Injury Facts (National Safety Council)
Mortensen Library Reference HA217 .A4

Places, Towns and Townships
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .P58

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
[http://permanent.access.gpo.gov/lps2647/]
Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans. Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .S84 (1979-1998)

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
[http://www.dartmouthatlas.org/]
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/hero/]
Sources dealing with risk assessment of humans and ecosystems deemed important by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment.

Household Products Database
[http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/]
Learn about what's in general household products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling of these materials.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

Medline Plus
[http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/]
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformed MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. Full text available.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
[http://nccam.nih.gov/]
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.


Periodicals

General Resources

Free Medical Journals
[http://www.freemedicaljournals.com/]
Listing with links to Free Medical Journals and a listing of any limitations


United States - Statistics

Monthly Vital Statistics Report
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/mvsr.htm]
Monthly and cumulative data on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces, and infant deaths for States and the United States are presented with brief analyses of the vital statistics.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
[http://www.ahcpr.gov/]
Research, statistics, news, etc. on health care policy. Searchable. Formerly Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (HHS).

AIDS Economics
[http://www.iaen.org/]
To increase the understanding of the economics of public policy surrounding HIV/AIDS.

AIDS Info
[http://aidsinfo.nih.gov/]
Free NIH site dealing with issues concerning AIDS, it's prevention, alleviation of symptoms and discussions concerning the disease.

Alzheimer's Association
[http://www.alz.org/]
General information about Alzheimer's disease.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Autism Information Center
[http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism]
Essential information about Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders for the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Center for Disease Control
[http://www.cdc.gov/]
Resources on diseases, health risks, prevention, guidelines and strategies information.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (HHS)
[https://www.cms.gov/]
Background, research, news, statistics, etc. from the federal agency that administers Medicare and Medicaid. Formerly Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)

Chemical Scorecard (Environmental Defense Fund)
[http://www.scorecard.org/]
Find information regarding type of chemicals released and the health risks associated. National ranking of polluters, maps locating toxic polluters by town, county and state, and includes regulatory controls.

The Commonwealth Fund
[http://cmwf.org/]
Research, publications, and other information from a health care policy group. Includes extensive related links.

Connecticut Department of Public Health
[http://www.dph.state.ct.us]
State of Connecticut Health Statistics and Information.

ConsumerLab.com
[http://www.consumerlab.com/]
The leading provider of independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
[https://www.dsld.nlm.nih.gov/dsld/index.jsp]
DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Food Safety - CDC
[http://www.cdc.gov/foodsafety/]
Food-related diseases affect tens of millions of people and kill thousands. Tracking single cases of foodborne illness and investigating outbreaks are critical public health functions in which CDC is deeply involved.

General Statutes of Connecticut
[http://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/statutes.htm]
Website that holds the Connecticut Statutes.

H1N1 Searchable Information Center
[http://h1n1.ebrary.com/home.action]
Regularly updated web site on current information regarding the H1N1 influenza.

Health hotlines : toll-free numbers from the National Library of Medicine's DIRLINE database
[http://healthhotlines.nlm.nih.gov/]
The National Library of Medicine is pleased to offer this online database of health-related organizations operating toll-free telephone services. The database also includes information on services and publications available in Spanish.

Healthfinder
[http://www.healthfinder.gov/]
A gateway to selected federal and nonfederal health information resources. Its intention is to organize and identify reliable consumer-level health information.

HealthLink Plus
[http://www.erlanger.org/]
Access to consumer health information. Includes section on how to evaluate health information on the internet.

HIV InSite
[http://www.hivinsite.com/]
Comprehensive text book on HIV disease. Additional chapters will be posted. Clearinghouse for AIDS related information for practitioners, patients, and others. Includes resources, social issues, state statistics, US map. Searchable.

HIV/AIDS Information - SIS - Specialized Information Services - from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health
[http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/hiv.html]
This government site contains information on HIV/AIDS treatment, drug information, clinical trials, and consumer health information. Book and journal article information link the user to MEDLINE, PubMed, and other reliable sources.

Hospice Net
[http://www.hospicenet.org/]
Guide to issues of life threatening illness. Addresses psychological, spiritual, and practical concerns of dying.

Hospital Compare
[http://www.hospitalcompare.hhs.gov/]
Patient Survey driven information collected by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

InteliHealth
[http://www.intelihealth.net/]
Partnership of Aetna with the Harvard Medical School and Columbia University College of Dental Medicine provides quality consumer health care information including access to articles on various health issues.

Johns Hopkins ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides
[http://www.hopkinsguides.com/hopkins/ub]
Delivers comprehensive, reliable and timely sources of information for ABX, HIV/AIDS, and Diabetes care providers.

Medicare and Medicaid at 40 (Kaiser Family Foundation)
[http://kff.org/medicaid/video/medicare-and-medicaid-at-40/]
Access to reports examining how these important health coverage programs were created and how they have changed over the years.

Medicare: The Official US Government Site for Medicare Information
[http://www.medicare.gov/]
Information for recipients and providers. Includes information, with comparisons, on managed care plans. Provides access to publications. Searchable.

Merck
[http://www.merck.com/]
Provides free full text access to the Merck Manual and a variety of other sources and products for both the health care professional and consumer.

National Council on the Aging (NCOA)
[http://www.ncoa.org/]
The NCOA site, free of ads, provides substantive information, especially I n the area of policy and legislative updates. Its many features include adult day services, health care, housing, and independent living.

NIDA: National Institute of Drug Abuse
[http://www.drugabuse.gov/]
Ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

PandemicFlu.gov
[http://www.pandemicflu.gov/]
Comprehensive information compiled by the National Institutes of Health, on avian flu and the dangers of a worldwide flu pandemic.

Patient Safety Network (Agency for Healthcare Research Quality)
[http://psnet.ahrq.gov/]
From an agency of the US Department of Health and Human Services, news and essential resources on patient safety. Includes links to research reports with search or browse capability. Coupled with AHRQ WebMM, a monthly journal with user-submitted cases, expert commentaries and perspectives on patient safety.

PDR.net for Consumers
[http://www.pdrhealth.com/home/home.aspx]
Huge resource of health-related sources. Free registration. Note: PDR and Stedman's Medical Dictionary require fees.

PSNet: Patient Safety Network
[http://psnet.ahrq.gov/]
Current issues in patient safety.

Quackwatch
[http://www.quackwatch.org/]
Website dedicated to "combating health related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies and misconduct" in the Health Sciences and Health Community.

TeenAIDS.org
[http://teenaids.org/]
Organization devoted to AIDS prevention in youth. Resources available on this site include a glossary of HIV/AIDS related terms, content in 14 languages, interactive forums, blogs, and personal stories from teens. TeenAIDS.org uses teen volunteers to help promote AIDS awareness and prevention in that age group.

Tobacco Information and Prevention Source
[http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/index.htm]
Includes Surgeon General's reports, research and data on tobacco and smoking, guides on how to quit, as well as educational materials.

UNAIDS
[http://www.unaids.org/]
Main advocate for global action on HIV/AIDS. Country-specific estimates and data available. Full text of report from Thirteenth International AIDS Conference.

US Department of Health and Human Services
[http://www.hhs.gov/]
United States Health Statistics and Information.

Virtual Hospital
[http://www.vh.org/]
This site provides educational content for patients, health care providers, and health science students. Users may search or browse by topic to find information about anatomy and physiology as well as conditions and diseases.


Connecticut

2-1-1 Connecticut (Connecticut's community resources database)
[http://www.211ct.org/]
Information for approximately 4,600 health and human service providers and 48,000 service-sites to help meet your needs.

State of Connecticut, Home Page
[http://www.ct.gov/]
Directories, subject index, and links to statewide agencies.


Dictionaries

medterms.com Medical Dictionary
[http://www.medterms.com/]
Search or browse a doctor-produced database of medical definitions. Terms are defined in brief, plain language paragraphs.


Directories

American Hospital Directory
[http://www.ahd.com/]
Selected data on hospitals that treat Medicare patients. Data supplied by HCFA. More comprehensive information available only to (fee paying) subscribers.


Statistics

Health United States
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm]
An annual report on trends in health statistics in the United States (1975-present).

National Center for Health Statistics
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/default.htm]
Provides accurate, relevant, and timely health statistics from the US Department of Health and Human Services.

State Health Facts Online (Kaiser Family Foundation)
[http://www.statehealthfacts.org/]
Single state or comparative data on demographics, health policy and financing, insurance coverage, legislation, etc. Also provides access to research conducted by the K.F.F.


Statistics- Connecticut

Connecticut Market Data
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd/cwp/view.asp?a=1106&q=251002]
(Dept. of Economic and Community Development) Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in PDF format.


Statistics- United States

County and City Data Books
[http://ccdb.lib.virginia.edu/]
Access to the electronic versions of the 1944 to 2000 Data Books.

Statistical Abstract of the US
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
Statistics on social, economic and international subjects. Separate links for most popular data. Most tables require Adobe Acrobat. Data back to 1878 edition available.


United States - Statistics

Census Data (2000)
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
All encompassing website for the data from the 2000 United States Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Community Health