University of Hartford Libraries

College Guides Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Book of Majors (The College Board)
Mortensen Library Reference LB2361.5 .B66 2015

Directory of Schools for Alternative and Complementary Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R733 .D59 1998

Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Grants, Scholarships, and Other Financial Resources
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.4 .F47 2007

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

How to Pay for Your Degree in Journalism & Related Fields
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.2 .S365 2008

Managing the Price of College (US Dept of Education)
[http://www.eric.ed.gov/PDFS/ED448616.pdf]
Designed to illustrate how families with different income levels pay for college. Many tables for comparison.

Measuring Up: The State-by-State Report Card for Higher Education
[http://measuringup.highereducation.org/]
This is the first state-by-state report card for higher education, rating academic institutions on their performance in five categories: preparation, participation, affordability, completion, and economic and civic beliefs.

Petersonís MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414453422&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.


Financial Aid

Financial Aid for African Americans
Mortensen Library Reference LB2338 .F5643 and Career Services Shelves LB2338 .F5643


Websites

General Resources

Academic Info: Film Studies Gateway
[http://www.academicinfo.net/film.html]
Searchable directory of current college and research level internet resources, with priority given to digital collections and sites with unique content. Includes theory, genre study, world film, and film history sites.

All Engineering Schools
[http://www.allengineeringschools.com]
Search for engineering programs at all levels, including online programs. Includes online information request forms.

Business-Schools (Bloomberg/Business Week)
[http://www.bloomberg.com/business-schools]
General information, rankings, searchable database and more on business schools in the US and abroad.

Careers and Colleges Insider
[http://www.collegexpress.com/]
Search for a college, get advice on being admitted, find information on financial aid, etc.

Certification Requirement for 50 States
[https://education.uky.edu/acadserv/pdac/certification-by-state/]
Teacher certification requirements for each state and links to position announcements are provided at this site.

College Navigator: College Opportunities On-Line
[https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/]
Searchable database of information on over 9,000 colleges and universities in the US, gathered by the Department of Education.

College Reality Check
[https://collegerealitycheck.com/en/]
The goal of the Web site is to share facts and figures that students, parents, and counselors should weigh in making decisions about college.

College Results Online
[http://www.collegeresults.org/]
An interactive, user-friendly Web tool designed to provide policymakers, counselors, parents, students, and others with information about college graduation rates for nearly any four-year college or university in the country.

college.wsj.com
[http://college.wsj.com/]
Career and grad school advice and information from the Wall Street Journal. Not just for business students.

CollegeDegree.com
[http://collegedegree.com/]
Searchable index of colleges offering degrees by "distance learning". You can search by degree, certificate, or course.

Colleges & Universities in the United States of America
[http://www.univsearch.com]
Links to the homepages of American colleges and universities granting bachelor or advanced degrees, with an overview of institution type and degrees offered.

Education Online Search
[http://www.education-online-search.com]
Articles about careers and education, as well as a directory of educational institutions. Focus is on career education, including adult and distance education.

FastWEb: Financial Aid Search through the Web
[http://www.fastweb.com/]
Searchable database of over 400,000 scholarships, with more added daily. Also provides information on loans work-study and grant programs, as well as mailbox for custom updates.

Federal Student Aid
[http://studentaid.ed.gov/]
Easy to find information on college, financial aid, career planning, etc. from several federal agencies.

FinAid: The Financial Aid Information Page
[http://www.finaid.org/]
Huge collection of links to information on all aspects of student financial aid. Includes links to free services that help identify specific scholarships.

GovLoans.gov
[http://www.govloans.gov/]
Information about federal loan programs from five federal agencies.

Higher Education in the US of America and Canada
[http://www.univsource.com]
Directory by name or selected major programs of colleges and universities in the US and Canada.

Knowledge Network (The New York Times)
[http://www.nytimes.com/college/kn-index.html]
Stories from the Times of particular interest to college students and faculty. Search. Browse by subject/major. Free registration.

MIT OpenCourseWare
[http://ocw.mit.edu]
Materials from Massachusetts Institute of Technology faculty's courses, including lecture notes, reading lists, and problem sets from hundreds of courses in all academic disciplines.

Peterson's Distance Learning
[http://www.petersons.com/distancelearning/]
Searchable database of programs and courses, as well as financial aid information, hints and useful information for students.

Sallie Mae Home Page
[https://www.salliemae.com/]
Information and advice from the company that handles most government loan programs.

Scholarships.com
[http://www.scholarships.com/]
Information on college scholarships, loans, grants from government and private sources. Includes tips, FAQ, glossary. Free registration required.

Student Guide: Financial Aid from the US Department of Education
[https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/resources]
Information about applying for federal financial aid programs - grants and loans. Available in both html and pdf formats. Includes link to FAFSA application.

Student Loan Funding
[http://www.studentloanfunding.com/]
Information for those looking for loans.

Study Abroad Programs Directory
[http://www.studyabroad.com/]
Background information as well as searchable databases of programs available.

Tuition Break For New England Residents
[http://www.nebhe.org/programs-overview/rsp-tuition-break/overview/]
Directory of programs at public colleges and universities which provide a tuition break for students from other New England states.

US News Education
[http://www.usnews.com/education]
Addresses, statistics, web links, and additional information on such topics as financial aid, internships, school rankings (graduate and undergraduate), best workplaces and computers, and study abroad.

USA JOBS (Students and Recent Grads)
[https://www.usajobs.gov/StudentsAndGrads]
US government database of employment opportunities for high school and college students and recent graduates. Includes summer jobs, internships and volunteer opportunities.


Connecticut

Greater Hartford Area College Scholarship Directory (Hartford Foundation for Public Giving)
[http://www.hfpgscholarships.org/Scholarships/Home/tabid/305/Default.aspx]
Search or browse directory of scholarships available to students from or attending colleges or universities in Connecticut.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=College Guides