University of Hartford Libraries

Clinical Lab Science Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmmedicaldict]
Provides students, health care professionals, and general consumers interested in medical vocabulary with a comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Black's Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/blackmed]
Impressive medical dictionary for all Health Science practitioners.

Collins Dictionary of Medicine
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsmed]
Covers all subjects required by current clinical and scientific medical practice.

Dictionary of Medical Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbmedterm?institutionId=4005]
This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary - from A to zymotic - currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations.

Genetic Terms: Talking Glossary
Recorded audio clips elaborate on the words' pronunciations and meanings.

Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ehsacron]
Medical dictionary for important abbreviations.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Cancer (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476018&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476056&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&docId=CX3451699999&tabID=T002&actionString=DO_DISPLAY_ABOUT_PAGE&version=1.0&source=library&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL]
Search the full five volumes of the 2nd edition (2002) encyclopedia which presents information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article presents causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and related topics. UofH only.

Medical Encyclopedia Index
[http://www.umm.edu/ency/index/eng_index.htm]
Part of the University of Maryland's Medical Reference section. Available in both English and Spanish.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
[http://nccam.nih.gov/]
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). NCCAM sponsors and conducts research using scientific methods and advanced technologies to study CAM. CAM is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine. Full text is available.

PolySearch Energy
[http://www2.hawaii.edu/~jacso/extra/egyeb/poly-energy.htm]
Search for abstracts (and occasional full text of articles) across up to 15 databases related to energy science. Results from each database display in a separate window.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/nursing?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.


Periodicals

Cytogenetic and Genome Research
[http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&pmid=27434]
Full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1996 - one year ago. University of Hartford users only.

Genetics
[http://www.genetics.org/content/by/year]
Free, online access to full-text of a peer-reviewed journal. Print available in Mortensen Library. Online coverage is from 1916 - 3 months ago.

Genetics, Selection, Evolution
[http://www.gse-journal.org/]
Free full-text online journal. Coverage is from 2000 to one year ago.

Genome Research
[http://www.genome.org/contents-by-date.0.shtml]
Free, full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1997 - six months ago.


Websites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
[http://www.ahcpr.gov/]
Research, statistics, news, etc. on health care policy. Searchable. Formerly Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (HHS).

genome.gov
[http://www.genome.gov/]
Official site of the National Human Genome Research Institute.

USP (US Pharmacopeia)
[http://www.usp.org/]
Searchable database of descriptions, precautions and side effects of over 750 generic drugs. Contains information on standard development for drugs and dosage, accidental poisoning, understanding medications, tampering tips, etc.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Clinical Lab Science