University of Hartford Libraries

Civil Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Concrete Construction Engineering Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA681 .C743 2008

CRSI Design Handbook (w/CD-ROM)
Mortensen Library Reference TA684 .C78 2008

Design & Construction of Wood Framed Building
Mortensen Library Reference TH1101 .N423 1995

Foundation Engineering Handbook: design and Construction with the 2006 International Building Code
Mortensen Library Shelves TA775 .D39 2005

Profiles of Engineering & Engineering Technology Colleges
[http://www.asee.org/publications/profiles/]
ASEE publishes the leading data on engineering colleges in the United States including both individual college statistics and national trends.

Reinforced Concrete Designer’s Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference TA683.2 .R48

Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain
Mortensen Library Reference TA407.2 .R6 1989

Wood Reference Handbook: a Guide to the Architectural Use of Wood in Building Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves TA419 .W663 2000


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction (Harris - McMillan)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhbuilding?institutionId=4005]
Broad coverage of terms that make up the basic language of architecture and construction.

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
Mortensen Library Shelves TD9 .W43 2000

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction
Mortensen Library Shelves NA31 .E59 1989

Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .B83 1998

Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary
Mortensen Library Reference TH9 .M4 2000

Sturgis’ Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture and Building: an Unabridged Reprint of the 1901-2 Edition
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .S93 1989

A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA31 .C44 1995


Encyclopedias

Building the World: an Encyclopedia of the Great Engineering Projects in History
Mortensen Library Reference T56 .I44 2006

Encyclopedia of Bridges & Tunnels
Mortensen Library Reference TG9 .J64 2002

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Mortensen Library Reference TA402 .E53 1986

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture
Mortensen Library Reference NA40 .I45 1991


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

ASCE Research Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ascelibrary.org/]
a comprehensive tool for locating online content across all disciplines of civil engineering. The 630,000-page Research Library contains the full text of more than 73,000 journal articles and proceedings papers, and can be accessed either through a current subscription or by downloading single articles. Approximately 4,000 new papers are added each year.

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://cedb.asce.org/]
Civil engineering database for bibliographic access to ASCE documents (journals, conferences).

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

IEEE Xplore
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/advsearch.jsp]
Years Covered: 2005 - Present
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Full Text Access may be limited to our journal subscriptions. Click on "What can I access?" link to see coverage.

National Institute of Standards and Technology Publication Portal
[http://www.nist.gov/nvl/nist_publications.cfm]
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

RITA (Research and Innovation Technology Administration) National Transportation Library
[http://ntlsearch.bts.gov/repository/index.do]
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation’s transportation system.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.

TRID - The TRIS and ITRD Database
[http://trid.trb.org/]
The TRIS/ITRD Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS/ITRD coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles.


Websites

General Resources

CMD First Source
[http://www.cmdfirstsource.com]
Information about building products, construction industry news, building codes, architecture firms, and links to trade publications. Some sections require free registration.

Digital Bridges: Bridges of the Nineteenth Century (Lehigh University Libraries)
[http://bridges.lib.lehigh.edu/]
Digital images from 19th Century American bridge engineering monographs, manuals and documents.

Earthquake Engineering (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Based on a text by V.V. Bertero, provides an illustrated introduction to earthquake engineering principles. Features photographs and an overview of recent research.

Earthquake Engineering Online Archive (University of California, Berkeley)
[https://nisee.berkeley.edu/elibrary/]
Over 500 photographs with annotations designed to illustrate particular facets of structural theory, response or design. Includes historic and modern structures.

Geologic Hazards Team (US Geological Survey)
[http://geohazards.cr.usgs.gov/]
Information and links to additional sources on landslides, earthquakes, geomagnetism and other phenomena. Includes interactive maps and news.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

Green Home Guide
[http://greenhomeguide.com/]
Learn all there is to know about environmentally friendly building and construction.

Green Building Guidelines
[http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/depart/cd/recycle/gbg/]
Green Building documents for download provided by the Contra Costa County Department of Conservation & Development in California.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

TechTutorials
[http://www.techtutorials.net]
Free online tutorials on hardware, software, applications, etc. Designed for the "IT professional". New tutorials added constantly.


Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Transportation
[http://www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp]
Wide variety of information about transportation, including long range plans, bike trails, public transportation, etc


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Civil Engineering