University of Hartford Libraries

Citation and Style Guides Subject Guide


Books

The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmcontempusage]
Authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style.

ANSI/NISO Z39.18 - 2005 (R2010) Scientific and Technical Reports - Preparation, Presentation, and Preservation
[http://www.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6497/Scientific%20and%20Technical%20Reports%20-%20Preparation%2C%20Presentation%2C%20and%20Preservation.pdf]
This standard outlines the elements, organization and design of scientific and technical reports, including guidance for uniform presentation of front and back matter, text, and visual and tabular matter in print and digital formats, as well as recommendations for multimedia reports.

Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
Mortensen Library Reference PN4783 .A83 2011

Chicago Manual of Style (full online version)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html]
Widely used style guide that can help answer advanced citation and style questions. Has searchable full text, a useful Q&A, and a citation guide summary. To see a table of contents (once your are in the web site), just click the title. A print version is also available.

Columbia.edu Editorial Style Guide
[https://ccit.college.columbia.edu/webguide/editorialstyle]
Based on the Columbia Guide to Online Style, provides general guidance and examples from humanities (MLA and Chicago) and scientific (APA and CBE) styles of citing electronic information sources.

Elements of Style by William Strunk
Online version of the original text of Elements of Style. Click "Check Status" for access.

Handbook for Deterring Plagiarism in Higher Education
Mortensen Library Reference PN167 .C37 2007

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition
Mortensen Library Reference LB2369 .G533 2008
Allen Library Writing Center LB2369 .G53 M53 2008

The Plagiarism Handbook : Strategies for Preventing, Detecting, and Dealing with Plagiarism
Mortensen Library Reference PN167 .H37 2001


Websites

AIP - Author Resource Center with AIP Style Manual (American Institute of Physics)
[http://publishing.aip.org/authors]
Full text (pdf) of the 4th edition of the official physics style manual.

AMA Style Guide (Western Oregon University)
[http://research.wou.edu/ama]
The AMA style provides a way to cite (give credit) to the web pages, articles, books and other sources used in research. This guide will help you with creating in-text citations and references, formatting your paper, and other useful information.

AMA Style Stat! (Dr. Abel Scribe)
[http://www.docstyles.com/amastat.html]
AMA Stat! is a quick reference to using the style of the American Medical Association in college research papers

APA Style from Nova Southeastern University’s Alvin Sherman Library
[http://library.hartford.edu/allenlibrary/ref_questions/form.asp]
This site from Nova Southeastern University’s Alvin Sherman Library is intended to help students’ understanding of APA style. For more information, please refer to to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.).

APA Style Guide Website
[http://www.apastyle.org/apa-style-help.aspx]
Official guidelines for citing electronic information sources, including EBSCOhost and other online databases. Official Site.

APA Style Resources
[http://www.psywww.com/apastyle]
Multiple sites providing guidance on APA style citations.

Chicago Manual of Style
[http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html]
Search the full text of the 15th (2003) edition. Free registration required.

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
[http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide.html]
Explanation and examples for basics of using Chicago or Turabian style citations.

Citation Style for Research Papers (CW Post, Long Island University)
[http://liu.cwp.libguides.com/sb.php?subject_id=13235]
Guidelines for APA, MLA, and other major style manuals. Color coded for easy navigation.

Citation Styles
[http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/online/citex.html]
Guidelines for MLA, APA, Chicago, Columbia styles for electronic resources.

Citeus Legalus
[http://citeuslegalus.com/]
The Legal Citation Generator for lazy law students.

Documentation Guidelines: Citing Sources in Your Paper (Duke University Library)
[http://www.lib.duke.edu/libguide/works_cited]
Basic guidance in using the major styles to cite printed and online sources.

Documenting Electronic Sources in Specific Disciplines
[https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/584/02/]
Links to basic style guides as well as specific guides for APA, MLA and Turabian style.

The Elements of Style (Bartleby)
[http://www.bartleby.com/141/]
Full text of William Strunk's classic guide to proper usage.

Guide for Citing Electronic Information
[http://www.ipl.org/div/farq/netciteFARQ.html]
Links to finding resources on citing Electronic Styles.

Guide to Grammar and Writing
[http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/]
Basic searchable, detailed guide to sentence structure, punctuation, and more. Includes an online dictionary and thesaurus, web links for writers, and even an interactive grammar advice column.

Guide to Harvard Referencing (Leeds Met University)
[http://www.lmu.ac.uk/lskills/open/sfl/content/harvard/]
Guide to citing print and electronic materials using a form favored in the sciences.

Karla's Guide to Citation Style Guides (University of Iowa)
[http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/journalism/cite.html]
Links to guides on citations of both print and electronic materials in several styles.

Modern Language Association (MLA)
[http://www.mla.org/]
Choose MLA style for guide to formatting citations based on MLA guidelines. Official Site.

OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
[http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/]
This site provides strong guidance in writing career related documents including resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters.

Resumesamples.info
[http://www.resumesamples.info/]
Samples and tips on how to write effective resumes.

Son of Citation Machine
[http://citationmachine.net/]
Citation Machine is an interactive web tool designed to assist high school, college, and university students, their teachers, and independent researchers in their effort to respect other people's intellectual property.

Writing Links from the University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing
[http://www.hartford.edu/academics/tutoring_assist/center_reading_writing/writing_links.aspx]
The University of Hartford's Center for Reading and Writing provides a list of links for help with MLA and APA guidelines, writing a thesis, and other resources for writers.

Zotero
[http://www.zotero.org/]
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Citation and Style Guides