University of Hartford Libraries

Chemistry Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?spaceID=10093&BookID=735]
Seven volumes of searchable data and tables on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical and other properties of materials. Searchable PDF of the full text of the book, with hyperlinked index and interactive tables. UofH users only.

Knovel Critical Tables
Tables of properties for over 13,000 commonly used chemical compounds. Regularly updated with new interactive tables. UofH users only.


Biographies

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dicscientist]
One stop reference for the life and work of those who created science up to the present day.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmsciencedict]
Dictionary of all major concepts of science.

Collins Dictionary of Biology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbiology]
Dictionary of all major concepts of biology.

Illustrated Dictionary of Science, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andidsci]
Illustrated dictionary covering all the major scientific disciplines.

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mactox]
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

The Penguin Dictionary of Science
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinscience]
Comprehensive reference guide to all things science.


Encyclopedias

Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/estpolymer?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive overview of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers.

Encyclopedia of Science (Gale)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GVRL&inPS=true&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE%7C9781414428840&contentSegment=9781414428840]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals Search
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced]
Search the authors, titles, or text of articles from publications of the ACS. Search a single journal from the list, or the entire collection. Selected titles available back to 1879 in Archives. Full text articles are available.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

http://isihighlycited.com/
[http://www.isihighlycited.com/]
Search for the most influential researchers by name or institution. Biographical and bibliographical information. Currently covers chemistry, physics, engineering and neurosciences.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in life sciences. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950. Access to this database is made possible by Elisabeth R. Swain, PhD Endowment. Once you are in JSTOR, you are searching all of the University of Hartford owned JSTOR products.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

Public Library of Science
[http://www.plos.org/]
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

Science Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=sch]
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

WorldwideScience.org
[http://worldwidescience.org/]
Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.


Websites

General Resources

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

Biology Project
[http://www.biology.arizona.edu/]
Designed for high school and college biology students, this site has problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry, cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, mendelian genetics, and molecular biology. Some modules are available in Spanish.

C&EN-OBS
[http://chemistryjobs.acs.org/]
Job postings, company information, job hunting tips for chemistry and chemical engineering. Sponsored by the American Chemical Society. Optional account set-up.

CAS Science Spotlight
[http://www.cas.org/spotlight/index.html]
Bibliographic information about the most frequently requested, "most intriguing," and most cited documents in chemistry and related fields. Includes journals articles and patents.

Crystallography Online
[http://ww1.iucr.org/cww-top/crystal.index.html]
Extensive coverage of current and internet based information concerning conferences, data, databases, discussions, history, journals, news, software, projects, teaching, employment, etc.

Digital Ditch Unit Converter
[http://www.digitaldutch.com/unitconverter/]
Automatically calculates equivalent units of measure for area, density, force, mass, etc.

Educational Applets: Chemistry (University of California, Irvine
[http://www.chem.uci.edu/undergrad/applets/]
Simulations to explore scientific principles.

EPA ECOTOX Databases
[http://cfpub.epa.gov/ecotox/]
Hazardous substances list with hazard summary, identification, medical hazard, health risks, work place exposure limits, ecological effects, safety, precautions, etc.

Fundamental Physical Constants
[http://www.chemie.fu-berlin.de/chemistry/general/constants_en.html]
Lists of various constants, conversion of units, and Index General chemistry.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

Molecular Models
[http://www.molecularmodels.ca/]
Over 1100 molecular models. Search several index to identify and download models. Requires pdb.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
[http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/]
Site provides thermodynamic, ion energetics data (Standard Reference Data Program). Search by formula, name, partial formula, CAS registry number.

Organic Chemistry Resources World-wide
[http://www.organicworldwide.net/]
Provides Chemical information sources, databases, articles, patents, current books, guides to chemical literature and style guides.

Periodic Table Web Elements (Professional Edition)
[http://www.webelements.com/]
Point and click periodic table links to basic chemical information about the elements.

PubChem (National Library of Medicine)
[http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/]
Database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. Search for compound, substance, bioassay, or structure.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

SciCentral
[http://www.scicentral.com/]
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.

Science.gov
[http://www.science.gov/]
Searchable gateway to science and technology information from US government science agencies. Information available in fields including pure and applied sciences, health sciences, and science education.

Spectroscopy Now
[http://www.spectroscopynow.com/]
The just dedicated spectroscopy portal links to free articles and preprints from peer-reviewed science journals.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Visual Elements Periodic Table
[http://www.rsc.org/periodic-table]
Provides html and Flash versions of the Periodic Table plus historical information and information about each element.


Dictionaries

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Chemistry