University of Hartford Libraries

Chamber Music Subject Guide


Books

Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print
By Paul Anderson and Lisa Ormston Bontrager. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]

Catalogue of Chamber Music for Woodwind Instruments
By Roy Houser. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C4 H8]

Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd Ed.
By John H. Baron. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C4 B37 2010]

Chamber Music: An International Guide to Works and Their Instrumentation
By Victor Rangel-Ribeiro and Robert Markel. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C4 R35 1993]

Cobbett's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music
By Walter Willson Cobbett. Allen Library Reference [REF ML102 C654]

Guide to Chamber Music
By Melvin Berger. Allen Library Stacks [ML1100 B49]

Kammermusik Katalog
By Johannes Friedrich Richter. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C4 R]

Kammermusik Literatur
By Wilhelm Altmann. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 C4 A6]

The Literature of Chamber Music
By Arthur Cohn. Allen Library Reference [REF ML1100 C74 L5]


Call Numbers

M217-239
String Instrument and Piano

M240-254
Woodwind Instrument and Piano

M255-271
Brass Instrument and Piano

M284-285
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M284%20or%20M285?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Percussion Instrument and Piano

M286-287
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M286%20or%20M287?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Two String Instruments

M288-289
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M288%20or%20M289?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Two Wind Intruments

M298-299
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M298%20or%20M299?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Duets with Percussion

M310-314
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M310%20or%20M311%20or%20M312%20or%20M313%20or%20M314?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Trios, Piano and Strings

M310-386
Trios, Inclusive

M315-319
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M315%20or%20M316%20or%20M317%20or%20M318%20or%20M319?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Trios, Piano and Winds

M349-353
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M349%20or%20M350%20or%20M351%20or%20M352%20or%20M353?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Trios, String

M355-359
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M355%20or%20M356%20or%20M357%20or%20M358%20or%20M359?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Trios, Wind

M385, M390, M392, M395
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M390%20or%20M385%20or%20M392%20or%20M395?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Trios, Percussion

M410-414
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M410%20or%20M411%20or%20M412%20or%20M413%20or%20M414?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quartets, Piano and Strings

M410-486
Quartets, Inclusive

M450-454
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M450%20or%20M451%20or%20M452%20or%20M453%20or%20M454?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quartets, String

M455-459
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M455%20or%20M456%20or%20M457%20or%20M458%20or%20M459?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quartets, Woodwind

M485, M490, M492
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M490%20or%20M485%20or%20M492?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quartets, Percussion

M487-489
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M487%20or%20M488%20or%20M489?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quartets, Brass

M510-514
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M510%20or%20M511%20or%20M512%20or%20M513%20or%20M514?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quintets, Piano and Strings

M510-586
Quintets, Inclusive

M550-554
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M550%20or%20M551%20or%20M552%20or%20M553%20or%20M554?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quintets, String

M555-559
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M555%20or%20M556%20or%20M557%20or%20M558%20or%20M559?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quintets, Woodwind

M585, M590-592, M594
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M590%20or%20M585%20or%20M591%20or%20M592%20or%20M594?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quintets, Percussion

M587-589
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M587%20or%20M588%20or%20M589?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Quintets, Brass

M610-614
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M610%20or%20M611%20or%20M612%20or%20M613%20or%20M614?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Sextets, Piano and Strings

M610-686
Sextets, Inclusive

M650-654
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M650%20or%20M651%20or%20M652%20or%20M653%20or%20M654?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Sextets, String

M655-659
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M655%20or%20M656%20or%20M657%20or%20M658%20or%20M659?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Sextets, Woodwind

M685, M690-692
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M690%20or%20M685%20or%20M691%20or%20M692?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Percussion sextets

M687-689
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M687%20or%20M688%20or%20M689?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Sextets, Brass

M710-714
Septets, Piano and Strings

M710-786
Septets, Inclusive

M750-754
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M750%20or%20M751%20or%20M752%20or%20M753%20or%20M754?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Septets, String

M755-759
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M755%20or%20M756%20or%20M757%20or%20M758%20or%20M759?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Septets, Woodwind

M785, M790, M792
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M790%20or%20M785%20or%20M792?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Septets, Percussion

M787-789
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M787%20or%20M788%20or%20M789?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Septets, Brass

M810-814
Octets, Piano and Strings

M810-886
Octets, Inclusive

M850-854
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M850%20or%20M851%20or%20M852%20or%20M853%20or%20M854?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Octets, String

M855-859
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M855%20or%20M856%20or%20M857%20or%20M858%20or%20M859?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Octets, Woodwind

M885, M890, M892
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M890%20or%20M885%20or%20M892?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Octets, Percussion

M887-889
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M887%20or%20M888%20or%20M889?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Octets, Brass

M910-914
Nonets and larger ensembles, Piano and Strings

M910-986
Nonets and larger ensembles, Inclusive

M950-954
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M950%20or%20M951%20or%20M952%20or%20M953%20or%20M954?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Nonets and larger ensembles, String

M955-959
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M955%20or%20M956%20or%20M957%20or%20M958%20or%20M959?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Nonets and larger ensembles, Woodwind

M985
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M985?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Nine or more solo performers

M987-989
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M987%20or%20M988%20or%20M989?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Nonets and larger ensembles, Brass

M990, M992
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M990%20or%20M992?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
Nonets and larger ensembles, Percussion

ML120
Chamber Music Dictionaries

ML1100-1165
Chamber Music History and Criticism

MT728
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/callnumber:MT728*?fq=collection:BOOK OR collection:THESES]
Ensemble Playing


Periodicals

Some periodicals may only be available online or through ILL.

Amateur Chamber Music Players Newsletter
Located in the newsletter cabinet

Chamber Music Magazine

CMA Matters
Located in the newsletter cabinet


Subject Headings

Chamber Music

Duets

Ensemble Playing

Quintets

Sextets

String Quartets

Trios


Websites

ACMP The Chamber Music Network
[http://www.acmp.net/index.php]
Connect with other musicians of varying levels who are looking start chamber groups, or just to read. It also has a number of useful online resources for the field of music in general in addition to chamber music.

Chamber Music America
[http://www.chamber-music.org/]
Online resources and discussion forums for those with a vested interest in chamber music.

European Chamber Music Teacher's Association
[http://www.ecmta.eu/]
Provides an extensive collection of links as well as information on chamber music pedagogy.

The Music Chamber
This site has been shut down as of August, 2015. Includes an extensive list of repertoire from the Classical period onwards, mainly for strings and piano.

Questia
[http://www.questia.com/library/music-and-performing-arts/music/music-genres-and-styles/chamber-music.jsp]
Online resource with books and articles available in full text.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Chamber Music