University of Hartford Libraries

Career Exploration Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Alternative Teacher Certification Procedures and Professional Development Opportunities for Career and Technical Education Teachers
[http://www.nrccte.org/resources/publications/alternative-teacher-certification-procedures-and-professional-development]
PDF Full Text of document.

American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HD4973 .A67 (have 2001 and 2015 editions)

Artists Communities: a Directory of Residencies That Offer Time and Space for Creativity
Mortensen Library Reference NX110 .A767 2005

Best Cover Letters for $100,000+ Jobs
Career Services Shelves HF5383 .E477 2001

Book of Majors (The College Board)
Mortensen Library Reference LB2361.5 .B66 2015

Career Guide to Industries - 2011
[https://web.archive.org/web/20100706001256/http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/]
Provides information on different industries and career opportunities within them from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Career Opportunities for Writers
Mortensen Library Reference PN151 .G84 2000

Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations
Career Services Shelves HF5828.4 .F54 2005 and Mortensen Library Reference HF5828.4 .F54 2005

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001

Career Opportunities in Aviation & the Aerospace Industry
Mortensen Library Reference HD8039.A23 E285 2005

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
Career Services Shelves TP248.2 .F737 2008

Career Opportunities in Casinos & Casino Hotels
Mortensen Library Reference HV6711 .F54 2000

Career Opportunities in Conservation and the Environment
Career Services Shelves S945 .G74 2008

Career Opportunities in Health Care
Mortensen Library Reference R690 .F54 2002

Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry
Career Services Shelves KF297 .E245 2007 and Mortensen Library Reference KF297 .E245 2002

Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security & Protective Services
Career Services Shelves HV8143 .E34 2006 and Mortensen Library Reference HV8143 .E34 2006

Career Opportunities in the Fashion Industry
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .V63 2007] and Mortensen Library Reference [TT507 .V63 2002]

Career Opportunities in the Film Industry
Career Services Shelves [PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009]

Career Opportunities in the Music Industry
Career Services Shelves ML3795 .F497 2004 and Allen Library Stacks [ML3795 F54 C37] 2000

Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry
Career Services Shelves GV734.F545 F54 2010

Career Opportunities in the Travel Industry
Career Services Shelves G155.7 .C65 2004

Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006

Career Options for Women Emerging Opportunities / [DVD Videorecording]
Mortensen Library Circulation Desk DVHF3395 (vol. 14)

Careers for Bookworms and Other Literary Types
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/304315]
Career Services Shelves Z471 .E25 2009

Careers in Art: An Illustrated Guide
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .B74 1999

College Blue Book
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7C9780028661735&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

Creative Careers in Fashion : 30 Ways to Make a Living in the World of Couture
Career Services Shelves TT507 .H243 2007

Creative Careers in Fashion: 30 Ways to Make a Living in the World of Couture
Career Services Shelves [TT507 .H243 2007]

Dictionary of Occupational Titles
[http://www.occupationalinfo.org/]
Online Dictionary of Occupational Titles

The Everything Guide to Being a Paralegal: Secrets to a Successful Career!
Career Services Shelves KF320.L4 S365 2006

The Everything Guide to Careers in Health Care: Find the Job That's Right for You
Career Services Shelves R690 .Q36 2007

The Everything Guide to Careers in Health Care: Find the Job That's Right for You
Career Services Shelves R690 .Q36 2007

The Everything Guide to Government Jobs: a Complete Handbook to Hundreds of Lucrative Opportunities Across the Nation
Career Services Shelves JK716 .M233 2007

Federal Resume Guidebook: Strategies for Writing a Winning Federal Electronic Resume, KSAs, and Essays
Career Services Shelves JK716 .T73 2007

Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Grants, Scholarships, and Other Financial Resources
Mortensen Library Reference LB2337.4 .F47 2007

Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Internships and Summer Jobs
Mortensen Library Reference LC1072.I58 T87 2006

Financial Aid for African Americans
Mortensen Library Reference LB2338 .F5643 and Career Services Shelves LB2338 .F5643

Great Jobs for Theater Majors
Mortensen Library Reference [PN2074 .G66 2005]

Health care careers directory (American Medical Association)
Mortensen Library Reference R847 .D57 2012

How to Get Any Job with Any Major: Career Launch & Re-launch for Everyone Under 30, or, How to Avoid Living in Your Parent's Basement
Career Services Shelves HF5382.7 .A839 2004

Job Search
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5382.7 .L63 2005

Medical School Interview: Secrets and a System for Success
Mortensen Library Permanent Reserves R838.4 .F54 2006

Monster Careers: How to Land the Job of Your Life
Career Services Shelves HF5382.7 .T39 2004

Museum Careers: A Practical Guide For Students And Novices
Mortensen Library Reference AM7 .S27 2008

Occupational Outlook Handbook
[http://www.bls.gov/oco/]
Searchable text of the standard source of information about employment prospects for specific fields. Published by US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The Official Museum Directory
Mortensen Library Reference AM11.M98 C5

One Hundred and One Careers in Nursing
Mortensen Library Reference RT82 .A15 2003

Opportunities in Architecture Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves NA1995 .P5 2000

Opportunities in Chiropractic Careers
Career Services Shelves RZ236 .S32 2004

Opportunities in Commercial Art and Graphic Design Careers
Career Services Shelves NC1001.6 .G68 2004

Opportunities in Eye Care Careers
Career Services Shelves RE72 .A37 2004

Opportunities in Osteopathic Medicine Careers
Mortensen Library Reference RZ341 .S23 2001

Opportunities in Overseas Careers
Mortensen Library Shelves HF5549.5.E45 C32 2005

Opportunities in Paralegal Careers
Career Services Shelves KF320.L4 F56 2005

Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers
Career Services Shelves RS122.5 .G3 2004

Opportunities in Technical Writing Careers
Career Services Shelves T11 .G663 2008

Resume magic: Trade Secrets of a Professional Resume Writer
Career Services Shelves HF5383 .W46 2007

Resumes for Advertising Careers: with Sample Cover Letters
Career Services Shelves HF5383 .R43 2003

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009

Resumes for Performing Arts Careers
Career Services Shelves [PN1580 .R47 2004]

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414453422&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies.

Weddle’s Guide to Employment Sites on the Internet 2007/8: for Recruiters & HR Professionals, Job Seekers & Career Activists
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .W43 2011

What Color is Your Parachute?: a Practical Manual for Job-hunters and Career-changers
Career Services Shelves HF5382.7 .B64 2008 and Mortensen Library Shelves HF5382.7 .B64 (2005)


Business

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Directories

Directory of International Internships: Sponsored by Educational Institutions, Governmental Agencies, and Private Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference LC1072.I58 D575


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Mortensen Library Reference HF5381 .E52


Financial Aid

Financial Aid for African Americans
Mortensen Library Reference LB2338 .F5643 and Career Services Shelves LB2338 .F5643


United States - Statistics

Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62


Databases

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Glassdoor
[https://www.glassdoor.com/index.htm]
Glassdoor holds a growing database of more than 8 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. Unlike other jobs sites, all of this information is entirely shared by those who know a company best — the employees. Add to that millions of the latest jobs — no other site allows you to see which employers are hiring, what it's really like to work or interview there according to employees, and how much you could earn.

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Vault (Career Industry information and resources)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://access.vault.com/career-insider-login.aspx?aid=241123]
Extremely useful career resource with full text regarding industry PDF's of all Vault Career Guides. Must set up a one time account with a valid University of Hartford email.


Websites

General Resources

ABA approved law schools
[http://www.americanbar.org/groups/legal_education/resources/aba_approved_law_schools/in_alphabetical_order.html]
Alphabetical Listing of and links to ABA approved law schools.

Academic 360.com
[http://www.academic360.com/]
Link to hundreds of sites where jobs in higher education (teaching and administrative) can be found.

AIER Cost-of-Living Calculator
[http://www.aier.org/#cost-of-living]
Enter a dollar amount and years to convert that amount between. Uses Consumer Price Index to calculate cost of living changes.

All Engineering Schools
[http://www.allengineeringschools.com]
Search for engineering programs at all levels, including online programs. Includes online information request forms.

C&EN-OBS
[http://chemistryjobs.acs.org/]
Job postings, company information, job hunting tips for chemistry and chemical engineering. Sponsored by the American Chemical Society. Optional account set-up.

Career Path
[http://careerpath.com/]
Database of job postings from leading newspapers and employers' web sites. Includes place to post your resume, and links to additional sources. Provided by Career Builder.

Career Services Site (University of Hartford)
[http://uhaweb.hartford.edu/career/]
Information about services available to University students and alumni, and to prospective employers.

Careerjet.com
[http://www.careerjet.com/]
Search engine for jobs in the U.S. Search or browse by industry or function. Also links to job search engines in other countries.

CareerJournal.com
[http://online.wsj.com/public/page/news-career-jobs.html]
Current and past articles from Wall Street Journal and National Business Employment Weekly. Also, frequently updated, searchable job listings.

CareerLab
[http://www.careerlab.com/default.htm]
Job placement site. See especially the "Cover Letter Library" for hundreds of samples.

Careeronestop
[http://www.careeronestop.org/]
Your source for employment information and inspiration. The place to manage your career. Your pathway to career success. Tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor

Careers and Colleges Insider
[http://www.collegexpress.com/]
Search for a college, get advice on being admitted, find information on financial aid, etc.

CareerSite.com
[http://www.careersite.com/]
Confidential site to post your resume and search for jobs.

Certification Requirement for 50 States
[https://education.uky.edu/acadserv/pdac/certification-by-state/]
Teacher certification requirements for each state and links to position announcements are provided at this site.

College Majors 101
[http://www.collegemajors101.com/]
An education resource dedicated to one purpose and one purpose only. To teach students about different college majors in depth so that they can make more informed college and career choices.

College Reality Check
[https://collegerealitycheck.com/en/]
The goal of the Web site is to share facts and figures that students, parents, and counselors should weigh in making decisions about college.

Current Jobs for Graduates
[http://www.graduatejobs.com/]
National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

Education Online Search
[http://www.education-online-search.com]
Articles about careers and education, as well as a directory of educational institutions. Focus is on career education, including adult and distance education.

Employment Policy Foundation
[http://www.epf.org/]
Advocacy group providing economic analysis and other research on employment and workplace policies such as family leave, pension plans, etc.

escapeartist.com
[http://www.escapeartist.com/]
Job postings and information useful to those seeking employment outside the US.

Federal Student Aid
[http://studentaid.ed.gov/]
Easy to find information on college, financial aid, career planning, etc. from several federal agencies.

Financial Aid for Women
[http://www.learnhowtobecome.org/college/financial-aid-for-women/]
After years of women trailing behind men in college attainment, there are now more women graduating from college than men. However, the cost of attending college and graduate school has been steadily rising over the years – even after accounting for inflation – leading to higher levels of student debt. Many financial aid opportunities are created specifically for female students seeking higher education.

FlipDog
[http://www.flipdog.com/]
Job hunting and resume post site. See especially the Resource Center for links to sites for company research.

Government Job Finder
[http://www.federaljobsearch.com/]
Search thousands of Federal government jobs, government contractor, state and private sector jobs.

HigherEdJobs.com
[http://www.higheredjobs.com/]
Searchable postings of jobs at all levels on over 600 US college and university campuses. Also provides a place to post your resume.

Internet Job Source
[http://nyjobsource.com/jobs.html]
Access to listings of state and federal jobs, as well as rated links to job listing sites at major corporations.

Jammin Jobs
[http://www.jamminjobs.com/]
Search for jobs by category, keyword, location, etc.

Job Application Center
[http://jobapplicationcenter.com/]
Find exactly how, when and where to apply to almost every major U.S. company directly.

Job Hunters Bible (JobHuntersBible.com)
[http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/]
This site is designed as a supplement both to What Color Is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers (Career Services Shelves HF5382.75.U6 B65 2012), as well as the book, The Job-Hunters’ Survival Guide: How to Find Hope and Rewarding Work, Even When ‘There Are No Jobs.”

Job Search.com
[http://jobsearch.com]
Project of US Department of Labor and state employment services. Powerful search engine for job postings, economic information, employment outlook, etc.

Job-Hunt.org
[http://www.job-hunt.org/]
Link to job hunting sites by geography, industry. profession or type of site.

Jobstar Central
[http://jobstar.org/index.php]
Information regarding career opportunities. Excellent help with developing and writing resumes, curriculum vitae (cv's) and cover letters. Also has links to salary information, the "Hidden Job Market" and various jobs available on the West Coast.

Licensed Occupations Database
[http://www.careerinfonet.org/acinet/licensedoccupations/lois_state.asp?nodeid=16&by=occ]
Search by state, industry or occupation to find information about requirements for professional licenses in a wide variety of fields. Includes fee and contact information.

The Monster Board
[http://monster.com/]
Searchable database of jobs worldwide. Also provides information on how to look for a job online, as well as special links for students, etc.

Music Library Association, Employment and Education
[http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/?page=JobsAndCareers]
Includes a list of currently available jobs in academic, public, performing arts, orchestra, conservatory, media or radio libraries. Information about career resources and a directory of library schools.

O*NET Online
[http://online.onetcenter.org/]
Free occupation-specific website for job-seekers and prospective employers.

Occupational Job Descriptions
[http://stats.bls.gov/ocs/ocsjobde.htm]
List of occupations linked to definitions used by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics when conducting surveys.

Quintessential Career
[https://www.livecareer.com/quintessential]
Guide to resources for career and job hunting. Includes "Career Toolkit," information on education, etc.

Resumesamples.info
[http://www.resumesamples.info/]
Samples and tips on how to write effective resumes.

The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
[http://www.rileyguide.com]
Probably the best, most complete guide on the web. How to, where to, etc. Offers help with resume and cover letter writing, as well.

The Salary Calculator
[http://www.homefair.com/homefair/calc/salcalc.html]
Compare cost of living in US and international cities by entering a salary earned in one city and to calculate what salary would have the same buying power in another.

Scholarships and Grants (U.S.)
[http://www.scholarshipsandgrants.us/]
Provides essential Scholarship and Financial Aid Resources to students preparing for all types of careers.

Start Here, Go Places
[http://startheregoplaces.com/]
The American Institute of Public Accountants created this free site to connect students interested in business and accounting to career sites, scholarships, internship opportunities and colleges.

Telework (US Department of Labor and Office of Personnel Management)
[http://www.telework.gov]
Studies presented at an October 2000 symposium, providing "the most comprehensive review of the literature on telework now available."

US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
[http://www.eeoc.gov/]
Information about employment discrimination, including enforcement, information for small business, how to file a charge, etc.

US News Education
[http://www.usnews.com/education]
Addresses, statistics, web links, and additional information on such topics as financial aid, internships, school rankings (graduate and undergraduate), best workplaces and computers, and study abroad.

USA JOBS (Students and Recent Grads)
[https://www.usajobs.gov/StudentsAndGrads]
US government database of employment opportunities for high school and college students and recent graduates. Includes summer jobs, internships and volunteer opportunities.

USA Jobs (US Office of Personnel Management)
[http://www.usajobs.gov/]
Current job openings with the federal government. Includes online application.

What Color is Your Parachute: Job Hunting Online
[http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/]
Based on a chapter in the book, with advice, suggestions, and links to evaluated sources of more information.

Women'sJobList.com: Career Advancement for Professional Women
[http://www.womensjoblist.com/]
Job search and resume posting service especially for professional women. Includes career advice as well as searching capabilities.


Connecticut

CTJobs.com
[http://www.ctjobs.com/]
Job hunting in Connecticut including a place to post your resume, tips, FAQs etc. See also Hartford, Fairfield, and New Haven job sites.

Job and Career ConneCTion (Connecticut Department of Labor)
[https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/gendocs/JobSeekers.html]
Information, including full text of articles, on finding about occupations, about education and training opportunities, and about jobs and employers.

Neuvoo
[http://neuvoo.com/jobs/?k=&l=CT&f=&p=1&r=15]
Looking for a job? You will find on neuvoo all the jobs available in your region. Your job search starts here.


Statistics

National Compensation Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
[http://stats.bls.gov/ncs/home.htm]
Data on compensation on national, regional or local level, presented in occupational groups. Most data is in PDF form.


Statistics- United States

Occupational Employment Statistics
[http://www.bls.gov/oes/]
Statistics at the national, state or metropolitan area level including employment by job class and median earnings for that class.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Career Exploration