University of Hartford Libraries

Business and Economics Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

1000 CEOs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkceos]
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

American Salaries and Wages Survey: Statistical Data Derived From More Than 200 Government, Business & News Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HD4973 .A67 (have 2001 and 2015 editions)

Annual Statement Studies (RMA)
Mortensen Library Reference HF5681.B2 R6

Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
Mortensen Library Reference HF5691 .B73

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cuppeb]
Psychologists have been observing and interpreting economic behavior for at least fifty years, and the last decade, in particular, has seen an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics.

Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations
Career Services Shelves HF5828.4 .F54 2005 and Mortensen Library Reference HF5828.4 .F54 2005

Career Opportunities in Banking, Finance, and Insurance
Mortensen Library Reference HG173 .F55 2002

Career Opportunities in Casinos & Casino Hotels
Mortensen Library Reference HV6711 .F54 2000

Career Opportunities in the Travel Industry
Career Services Shelves G155.7 .C65 2004

Century of American Icons: 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture
Mortensen Library Reference [HF6161.B4 C46 2002]

Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook
Mortensen Library Reference [HC79.C6 G665 2003]

Dun and Bradstreet/Gale Industry Reference Handbooks
Mortensen Library Reference HF5035 .D78 1998

Economic Indicators (Forbes)
[http://www.investopedia.com/university/releases/]
Current Economic Indicator through Forbes web site including "Beige Book"

Economic Indicators (United States GPO)
[https://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current plus archive back to 1998 of United States Economic Indicators. Library has print (1967-1993, 1995-1997) Mortensen Library Periodicals HC101 .A186

Economic Report of the President Transmitted to Congress
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Current plus archive back to 1996 of Economic Report of the President. Library has print (1951, 1954-1975, 1978-1991, 1993-1994) Mortensen Library Shelves HC106.5 .A27

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

The Elgar Companion to Feminist Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarfe?institutionId=4005]
Reference guide to feminist economics.

Everyday Finance
Provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business.

Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecs]
The book examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, including Arthur Andersen LLP, the Enron auditor that collapsed after it was accused of obstructing justice.

A Financial History of the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpefhus]
American history from a financial perspective.

Guide to Economic Indicators
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpeei]
Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, from Average Weekly Earnings to Value of the Dollar, as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Handbook of Economic Sociology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/preconsoc]
The definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures. It is a must read for all faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates doing work in the field.

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/gwindicators]
Information on economic indicators and how they are calculated.

How Much is that in Real Money? A Historical Price Index For Use as a Deflator of Money Values in the Economy of the United States
Mortensen Library Reference HB235.U6 M39 1992

Index of Economic Freedom
[http://www.heritage.org/Index//]
Years Covered: 2006 - Present
For over a decade, The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Washington's preeminent think tank, have tracked the march of economic freedom around the world with the influential Index of Economic Freedom.

Index to USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
[https://pubs.nal.usda.gov/sites/pubs.nal.usda.gov/files/aer.htm]
This 2002 Internet-based index includes listings for printed USDA Agricultural Economic Reports and links to full-text USDA Agricultural Economic Reports on the Internet.

Key Concepts in Public Relations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sageukpr]
Provides students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines.

Lifestyle Market Analyst
Mortensen Library Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414496276&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=etoc&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.

Manufacturing Engineering Handbook
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/mhmeh?institutionId=4005]
Information on conventional and modern manufacturing processes and operations management. Also have older print edition in Mortensen Library Shelves [TS176 .M3615 2004]

Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HF5410 .M35

The New Competitor Intelligence: the Complete Resource for Finding, Analyzing, and Using Information About Your Competitors
Mortensen Library Reference HD38.7 .F863 1995

The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarnobel?institutionId=4005]
Careers and main published works of the Nobel laureates in economics. Also own print Mortensen Library Shelves [HB76 .V36 2005]

The Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
Mortensen Library Reference HG4501 .P82

Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)

QFinance: The Ultimate Resource
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/qfinance]
Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges, up-to-date country and industry data, summaries of the most popular finance titles, and, biographies of important people in the world of finance.

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routsocial?institutionId=4005]
Includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory.

Researching Private Companies
Mortensen Library Reference HD2771 .H695

Resumes for Advertising Careers: with Sample Cover Letters
Career Services Shelves HF5383 .R43 2003

Service Annual Survey
[https://www.census.gov/services/index.html]
United States Government site for Service Industry statistics and information.

Service Industries USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Organizations
Mortensen Library Reference HD9981.3 .S47 1999

Skeptical Business Searcher: the Information Advisor's Guide to Evaluating Web Data, Sites, and Sources
Mortensen Library Reference HF54.56 .B4685 2004

Social Security Handbook
[http://ssa.gov/OP_Home/handbook/handbook-toc.html]
Basic Guide to the Social Security Programs

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Mortensen Library Reference HG4961 .S78 I4

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and Regional Exchanges
Mortensen Library Reference HG4907 .S72

U.S. Census 2000 State
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/uscensus]
Contains a multitude of facts about people, business and geography. Gathered over a period of ten years and compiled by experts, the census is for the first time presented here as dynamic tables. Customization is quick and effortless, allowing bespoke views of the numbers which together make up the USA. The statistics may also be viewed in chart format, bringing to life this wealth of information.

The ultimate business library : the greatest books that made management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyultbuslib]
Summary of resources that have had the most significant impact on management thinking.

United States Mint Annual Report
[http://www.usmint.gov/about_the_mint/index.cfm?flash=yes&action=annual_report]
Annual Report of the United States Mint online from 1998 and in print 1964 Mortensen Library Shelves HG451 .U58

US Industry & Trade Outlook
Mortensen Library Reference HC106.82 .U16 (Have print of 2000, last printed)

The Value Line Investment Survey (online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://research.valueline.com/secure/research]
The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies.

Working Americans, 1880-2005
Mortensen Library Reference [HD8066 .D47]

World Market Share Reporter
Mortensen Library Reference HD2757.15 .W67


Biographies

A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgardiss?institutionId=4005]
Historical biographies of non-traditional economists.

A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarwe?institutionId=4005]
Historical biographies of women economists.

Exemplary Economists: Europe, Asia and Australasia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgareeeaa]
A selection of autobiographical essays written by significant economists whose work is generally recognized to be at the forefront of the discipline as we enter the twenty-first century.

Exemplary Economists: North America
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgareena]
Focuses on leading economists who were born, or have spent the greater part of their lives, in America.

Making of Modern Economics: The Lives and Ideas of Great Thinkers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpemodecon]
Provides an accessible introduction to the major economic thinkers of the past 225 years - including little-known and often amusing facts about their personal lives.

Who's Who in Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgarwwe]
Authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists.


Careers

The Best 296 Business Schools
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .B47 (2015 edition) and Mortensen Library Shelves HF1131 .B47 (2014 edition)

Peterson’s MBA Programs
Mortensen Library Reference HF1131 .P44 (2009 edition)


Connecticut

Connecticut Municipal Profiles
Mortensen Library Reference HN79.C8 C6


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/zedacd]
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.

Business French Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusfr]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of business: insurance, stock exchange, accounting, finance, and computing.

Business German Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusger]
Essential business vocabulary of German and English, with translations into the other language.

Business Spanish Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/pcpdbusspa]
Provides a specialist business vocabulary for translators, business people, secretaries, and students. Includes many entries providing comprehensive coverage of all aspects of general business, such as invoicing, insurance, and computing.

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Collins Dictionary of Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsecon]
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in the business world.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.

Dictionary of Conflict Resolution, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyconfres]
Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage.

A Dictionary of Econometrics
Mortensen Library Reference HB139 .D358 1994

Dictionary of Economics, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyecon]
supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge more than 2,200 economics-related terms.

Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/barronsfin]
Financial terminology.

Dictionary of Leisure, Travel, and Tourism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/acbleisure]
Terminology of the travel and tourism industry.

Dictionary of Professional Management: Authoritative, Comprehensive
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B364 1997

Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/cabidttt]
This dictionary provides definitions of terminology and ‘decodes’ acronyms and abbreviations for the world’s largest industry.

The Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgareq?institutionId=4005]
Thoughts and opinions of hundreds of individuals on issues relating to the economy.

Eponymous Dictionary of Economics: a Guide to Laws and Theorems Named After Economists
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E66 2004

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008

The New Penguin Business Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinbus?institutionId=4005]
General business terminology.

The Penguin Dictionary of Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/penguinecon?institutionId=4005]
Terminology of economics.

Wall Street Lingo: Thousands of Investment Terms Explained Simply
Mortensen Library Reference HG4513 .P48 2007

Wall Street Words: An A to Z Guide to Investment Terms for Today's Investor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hmwsw]
Contemporary finance terminology.


Directories

Encyclopedia of associations. National organizations of the U.S.
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gdl/infomark.do?sort=DocTitle&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GDL&searchType=AdvancedSearchForm&queryId=Locale(en,,):LQE=(LO,None,3)new:And:LQE=(UZ,None,4)nous$&type=search&version=1.0&source=gale]
Search Business Associations throughout the United States

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gdl/infomark.do?serQuery=Locale(en,,):FQE=(JX,None,59)%22Encyclopedia+of+Associations:+International+Organizations%22$&queryType=PH&CPUBValue=2MOX&tabID=T023&userGroupName=a23uh&prodId=GDL¤tPosition=1&type=pubIssues&version=1.0&source=gale]
Covers multinational and national organizations from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, including U.S.-based organizations with a binational or multinational membership.

Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations. Volume 2, Northeastern States.
Mortensen Library Reference HS17 .G334

International Directory of Company Histories
Mortensen Library Reference HD2721 .D36 (1998-2005), For current histories search Business and Company Resource Center in Databases.

O’Dwyer’s Directory of Public Relations Firms
Mortensen Library Reference HM263 .O37


Encyclopedias

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcamerecon?institutionId=4005]
History of the American economy.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Business Ethics
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Entrepreneurship
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Management Information Systems
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Business Cycles and Depressions: an Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HB3711 .B936 1997

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414435039&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414435015&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.

Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/elgarke]
features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes.

An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarme?institutionId=4005]
Terms, concepts, and ideological approaches to macroeconomics.

Encyclopedia of Management
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .E49 2000

Encyclopedia of Political Economy
Mortensen Library Reference HB61 .E554

Encyclopedia of Population (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3403999999]
Search two volumes of the 2003 Encyclopedia, providing up-to-date coverage of demographic issues and the broad topic of population studies, including population growth, low fertility rates, support for aging populations, environmental impact of dense population, etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414429861&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets.

Encyclopedia of Public Choice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprpubchoice]
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Mortensen Library Reference HV12 .E54 2006

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/abcgetlp]
This work is a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization- one of the hottest topics of the day.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/eToc.do?source=&etocId=GALE|CX3045399001&inPS=true&prodId=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh&tabID=&action=DO_BROWSE_ETOC&searchId=&searchType=BasicSearchForm&docId=GALE|9780028661179&contentSegment=9780028661179&isDownLoadOptionDisabled=true]
Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.


Statistics

Census 2000 gateway
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
Contains a multitude of facts and statistics about people, business and geography.

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What
Mortensen Library Reference HC110.C6 H68

The New Nonprofit Almanac and Desk Reference: the Essential Facts and Figures for Managers, Researchers, and Volunteers
Mortensen Library Reference HD2769.2.U6 N47 2002

World Economic Outlook: a Survey by the Staff of the International Monetary Fund
[http://www.imf.org/external/ns/cs.aspx?id=29]
IMF provides full text access to surveys dating back to 1993 with links to statistical database (1999-present). Library holds print (1981-2007) Mortensen Library Reference HC10 .W7979


Statistics - United States

Job Patterns for Minorities & Women in Private Industry
[http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/statistics/employment/jobpat-eeo1/]
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission requires periodic reports from public and private employers, and unions and labor organizations which indicate the composition of their work forces by sex and by race/ethnic category.


Statistics- United States

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .A37


United States - Statistics

Handbook of US Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data
Mortensen Library Reference HD8051 .A63 (2001, 2006) and Mortensen Library Shelves HD8051 .A63 (1997-2000) and (1947, 1968, 1970-1973, 1975-1978, 1980, 1983, 1989) HD8051 .A62

Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
Mortensen Library Reference HA202 .H57 2006

State Profiles: the Population and Economy of Each U.S. State
Mortensen Library Reference HA203 .S734


Databases

General Resources

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text articles are available.

ArXiv e-print Archive
[http://xxx.lanl.gov/]
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

BNA Tax Management Portfolios
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://taxandaccounting.bna.com/btac/]
The BNA Tax and Accounting Center offers practitioners a comprehensive array of analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting.

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature
[http://www.fcpubhub.net/gainknowledge/cnl/contents.html]
Citations for articles, books, media resources and grey literature from the nonprofit sector.

Checkpoint (RIA)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://checkpoint.riag.com/login?iploc=univofhart]
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

CQ Researcher
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/#.UmkuiL7D_cs]
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in the news. Published 44 times each year, with each report covering a single issue in depth. Reports consist of background and chronology, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key resources. Html and pdf versions available. with reports published since 2001 in color. Includes full text.

Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
[http://www.dartmouthatlas.org/]
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

FAOSTAT (Food and Agricultural Organization statistics)
[http://faostat.fao.org]
Years Covered: 1961-present
free and easy access to data for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the most recent year available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://uniworldonline.com/search]
One of two major business and career information databases offered by Uniworld. Foreign Firms Operating in the United States may be searched by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/start.do?prodID=GVRL&userGroupName=a23uh]
Search the tables of contents or full text of selected reference books in business, education, the environment, medicine biology, and the social sciences.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Historical Hartford Courant
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hnphartfordcourant?accountid=11308]
Fully searchable images of America's oldest continuously published newspaper, covering 1764 through 1922. Use ProQuest Newspapers for current (1992- ). No coverage is available between 1923 and 1991. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library. Full text available.

Historical New York Times
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/news/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=11308]
Full images of the complete New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Search by keyword, by date, etc. Images of specific articles or full pages available..

Hoovers Company Records
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/hooverscompany?accountid=11308]
Up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Full text available.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization: Laborsta Internet)
[http://laborsta.ilo.org/]
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

Music Industry Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://musicid.academicrightspress.com/]
Years Covered: 1953-present
Music Industry Data is a repository of historical and current sales rankings for classical and pop artists, albums, and singles. It includes rankings from over 20 countries. Formerly titled Academic Charts Online Music Data and Analysis.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
[https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/]
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

ProQuest Health Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/healthmanagement?accountid=11308]
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

ProQuest Newspapers
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/news/advanced?accountid=11308]
Search the text of major newspapers including the Boston Globe (1980- ), Christian Science Monitor (1990- ), Hartford Courant (1992- ), Los Angeles Times (1985- ), New York Times (1999- ), including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition (1984- ), and Washington Post (1987- ). Full text available.

Public Library of Law
[http://www.plol.org/Pages/Search.aspx]
Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is the largest free law library in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web. PLoL also includes free links to paid content on Fastcase. PLoL is already the Web's largest free law library, but with additional links from Fastcase, it is one of the most comprehensive law libraries in the world. Full text available.

SPIN (InfoEd International)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://spin.infoedglobal.com/Home/Search]
Searchable database of funding opportunities. Continuously updated. "Jump to GENIUS" to create a custom profile for updates. Made available by Office of Grants and Contracts, University of Hartford.

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://next.srds.com/nmp?newsess=y]
Advertising rates and other information on publications, searchable by title, keyword, or "class." Access limited to Consumer Magazine Media and Local Media by DMA (Designated Market Areas).

Uniworld
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://uniworldonline.com/linklogin/31302]
Contains two major business and career information databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. Search either database by specific country, region, state, keyword, zip code, NAICS industry code, revenue and number of employees. Full text available.

Women Working, 1870-1930
[http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/]
Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

World Bank Open Data
[http://data.worldbank.org/]
Vast collection of economic, social, population, and development data with no restrictions and at no cost.


Statistics

ArXiv e-print Archive
[http://xxx.lanl.gov/]
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. This site is maintained and operated by Cornell University. Papers are submitted by the author's and are subject to edits at any time. Full text available.

Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
[http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/marketsdata.html]
Free service containing more recent financial data for any recent business day than previously printed in the Wall Street Journal. Information and statistics on leading financial markets and national exchanges from across the globe. Trading stocks, options, commodities, benchmark indexes, etc. are included.


Periodicals

Strategy & Business
[http://www.strategy-business.com/]
Feature stories, articles, and other links of value for business. Sponsored by Booz, Allen and Hamilton.


Websites

General Resources

AIDS Economics
[http://www.iaen.org/]
To increase the understanding of the economics of public policy surrounding HIV/AIDS.

AIER Cost-of-Living Calculator
[http://www.aier.org/#cost-of-living]
Enter a dollar amount and years to convert that amount between. Uses Consumer Price Index to calculate cost of living changes.

America Antitrust Institute
[http://www.antitrustinstitute.org/]
Website dedicated to promoting antitrust as integral to national and international competition in business.

American Marketing Association Marketing Power
[http://www.marketingpower.com/Pages/default.aspx]
American Marketing Association Websit.

The Annual Reports Library
[http://www.zpub.com/sf/arl/]
Suggestions and advice on how to find and read annual reports. Also, guidance on how to create a good annual report, as well as educational resources and links to related information.

bizjournals
[http://www.bizjournals.com/]
Stories from approximately 35 business newspapers published across the US. Updated daily.

Business Women's Network Interactive
[http://www.bwni.com/]
The goal of this site is to provide "women with the real tools for financial success." This site serves business women, women entrepreneurs, and companies marketing to professional women with career information, a news and features section, information about conferences, meetings and seminars, updates on publications and a BWN directory.

Business-Schools (Bloomberg/Business Week)
[http://www.bloomberg.com/business-schools]
General information, rankings, searchable database and more on business schools in the US and abroad.

BusinessUSA.gov
[http://business.usa.gov/]
One stop access to compliance information, forms and contact for doing business with the government.

college.wsj.com
[http://college.wsj.com/]
Career and grad school advice and information from the Wall Street Journal. Not just for business students.

Connecticut Development Authority
[http://www.ct.gov/]
Provides debt financing and investment capital to help businesses grow in Connecticut.

The Corporate Library
[http://www.corporatelibrary.com/]
The American Corporation and the Economy. Includes a searchable library, research tools, and extensive links to more information.

Currency Converter (OANDA)
[http://www.oanda.com/converter/classic?user=pathfinder2]
View the exchange rate between any two currencies for any date since January 1,1990.

Current Jobs for Graduates
[http://www.graduatejobs.com/]
National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean (United Nations)
[http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN]
The public records of ECLAC, including press releases, speeches, and pdf versions of most publications. Available in Spanish and English.

EDGAR Database (SEC)
[http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml]
Searchable database of filings, definitions, documentation, etc. from the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Ernst and Young International
[http://www.ey.com/]
Access to analysis and reports from the accounting and consulting firm. Use Gateway to our Site to get to information from offices around the world. Ideas, Solutions, Results includes Ernst and Young publications. Searchable.

Eurostat
[http://ec.europa.eu/eurostat]
Eurostat’s mission is to provide the European Union with a high-quality statistical information service.

FT.com (Financial Times)
[http://www.ft.com/home/us]
International news, including searchable 30 day archive; London financial news and stock prices (20 minute delay). Free registration required.

The Gallup Organization
[http://www.gallup.com/]
Public opinion polls and selected special reports. The archive of polls back to March 1997 is arranged chronologically.

GovLoans.gov
[http://www.govloans.gov/]
Information about federal loan programs from five federal agencies.

Institute for Business and Professional Ethics (DePaul University)
[http://commerce.depaul.edu/ethics/]
Provides a calendar of ethics conferences and workshops with diverse links to ethics resources in both business and the professions.

International Business Etiquette, Manners,
[http://www.cyborlink.com/]
Provided by the International Business Center and staffed by University of Texas MBA students, this resource pulls together information to help communication flow for International business.

Internet Intelligence Index
[http://insights.fuld.com/internet-intelligence-index-fuld-and-company]
Links to sources of competitive intelligence information. Compiled by Fuld and Company, one of the leaders in the field.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Library of Economics and Liberty
[http://www.econlib.org/]
Online books and essays (mostly classics) in Economics as well as opinion, links to economic data and institutions, and other recommended links.

Loan Amortization Schedule
[http://www.loanamortizationschedule.org/]
Calculate how long it will take to pay off a loan and how much it will actually cost you.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

Mortgage Loan (Business Calculators)
[http://www.mortgageloan.com:80/calculator/]
Online business calculators for mortgages, other loans, CD and investments, debt and credit, tax, retirement, etc. Very handy free services from the Mortgage Loan company.

Polling Report.com
[http://www.pollingreport.com/]
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.

Public Register's Annual Report Services
[http://www.prars.com/]
Fill out a form to have selected company's annual reports mailed to you. US mail address required.

ReliefWeb
[http://reliefweb.int/]
Source for timely, reliable and relevant humanitarian information and analysis

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (University of Connecticut)
[http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/]
Searchable database of the largest library of public opinion data in the world. International coverage.

Society of Competitive Intelligence Professionals
[http://www.scip.org/]
SCIP provides education and networking opportunities for business professionals working in the rapidly growing field of competitive intelligence.

Start Here, Go Places
[http://startheregoplaces.com/]
The American Institute of Public Accountants created this free site to connect students interested in business and accounting to career sites, scholarships, internship opportunities and colleges.

Subject Resources (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
[http://library.lanl.gov/infores/]
Links to a wide variety of web-based information resources. Includes databases and e-journals (some of which are restricted to LANL staff). Arranged by subject.

Television Bureau of Advertising
[http://www.tvb.org/]
Statistics and analysis of television markets and advertising.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Unemployment and Recovery Project
[http://www.urban.org/urban-wire/highlights-urban-institutes-unemployment-and-recovery-project]
Builds knowledge about the nation’s social and fiscal challenges, practicing open-minded, evidence-based research to diagnose problems and figure out which policies and programs work best, for whom, and how.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Wall Street Executive Library
[http://executivelibrary.com/]
Massive collection of links to business information sources, including news, government, company and industry, marketing, financial markets, job hunting, etc.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


Connecticut

Connecticut Economic Resource Center, Inc.
[http://www.cerc.com/]
Gateway to business services offered by state agencies.

Connecticut Technology Council
[http://www.ct.org/]
Resources for technology-based business, including news, directories, and events calendar.

Hartford Economic Development Commission
[http://www.hedco-ghbdc.com/]
News, information, and services for businesses already established or considering locating in Hartford. HEDC, a public-private partnership, provides support to corporations and small businesses.


Dictionaries

EurekAlert!
[https://www.eurekalert.org/bysubject/education.php]
List of articles and public releases scientific disciplines, geared toward education. Searchable.

Washingtonpost.com Business Glossary
[http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/business/specials/glossary/index.html]
Searchable business dictionary with links from definitions to terms used in the definition.


Directories

Chamber of Commerce International Directory
[http://chamber-of-commerce.com]
Searchable database of information from and about Chambers of Commerce and cities/states/provinces around the world.

Inc. 5000
[http://www.inc.com/inc5000/]
Searchable. Includes related articles, benchmark data and access to previous lists.


Statistics

Consumer Price Index
[http://www.bls.gov/cpi/]
Inflation at the consumer level, compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Employment Characteristics of Families
[http://stats.bls.gov/news.release/famee.toc.htm]
1999-2000 report from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, outlining employment statistics by race, sex, marital status, presence of young children, etc.

The Gallup Organization
[http://www.gallup.com/]
Public opinion polls and selected special reports. The archive of polls back to March 1997 is arranged chronologically.

Polling Report.com
[http://www.pollingreport.com/]
Continuously updated collection of public opinion on topics in politics, business and the American Scene drawn from US sources. Browse or search.

Statistics Resources on the Web
[http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=30070&sid=220066]
Huge collection of links to statistical resources arranged by subject.


Statistics- Connecticut

CT Dept of Economic and Community Development
[http://www.ct.gov/ecd]
Statistical information about Connecticut and its markets for products and services. Most presented in pdf format.


Statistics- International

Country Briefings (Economist Intelligence Unit)
[http://www.economist.com/countries/]
Recent articles from the Economist, as well as new, background, forecasts, and statistics. Some information only available for a fee.

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/]
Full text of book length studies of some 100 countries. Includes analysis of political, economic, social, and national security systems.

Economic Commission for Latin American and the Caribbean (United Nations)
[http://www.eclac.cl/default.asp?idioma=IN]
The public records of ECLAC, including press releases, speeches, and pdf versions of most publications. Available in Spanish and English.

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.

FreeLunch.com (Economy.com)
[http://www.economy.com/freelunch/]
Economic and financial data presented as charts or tables. Most data coming from U.S. government publications. Search or browse by category.

IMF Staff Country Reports in Full Text
[http://www.imf.org/external/pubind.htm]
In depth reports on economic and related information for selected countries. Very large .pdf files load and print slowly. Scroll down on right hand column to find all of the years for the reports and much more.

National Statistics (UK)
[http://www.statistics.gov.uk/]
Key statistics for the UK with selected figures for regions. Supplied by the Government Statistical Services, with links to other governmental departments, and related web sites.

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
[http://www.offstats.auckland.ac.nz/]
Links to sources of social, economic and general data. International list arranged by country and by topic.


Statistics- United States

Bureau of Labor Statistics Home Page (US Department of Labor)
[http://www.bls.gov/]
Provides access to economic and employment statistics at national and regional levels.

County and City Data Books
[http://ccdb.lib.virginia.edu/]
Access to the electronic versions of the 1944 to 2000 Data Books.

County Business Patterns
[http://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/cbp.html]
Detailed statistics, arranged by state, on business - employment, payroll, number of establishments, etc. Requires Adobe Acrobat.

Economic Indicators of the United States
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the US Census Bureau.

Economic Report of the President
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Searchable text of the annual report on economic conditions. Available since 1996.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room
[http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/briefroom/BriefRm]
Current Federal economic indicators from a number of agencies.

Economic Time Series Page
[http://www.economagic.com/]
Data and charts for over 68,000 economic indicators, some providing data back to the 18th century. Services include government, traditional associations, etc.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics
[http://www.federalreserve.gov/Releases/]
Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually released data from the Fed, gathered in one place. Selected historical statistics also available.

FedStats
[http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/]
Easy to use search or browse access to statistics from over 100 government agencies. Selected regional as well as comprehensive national statistics.

FreeLunch.com (Economy.com)
[http://www.economy.com/freelunch/]
Economic and financial data presented as charts or tables. Most data coming from U.S. government publications. Search or browse by category.

State and County QuickFacts (Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/table/PST045216/00]
Easy access to tables of population and business statistics for states or counties. Also links to similar data for the whole country.

State Tax Collection Data by State
[https://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/]
Summary information on tax revenues of the 50 state governments, as well as D.C. Annual since 1992.

Statistical Abstract Home Page (U. S. Census Bureau)
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
A wealth of statistical data including state rankings and state and county profiles. Data back to 1878 edition available.

Statistical Abstract of the US
[https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html]
Statistics on social, economic and international subjects. Separate links for most popular data. Most tables require Adobe Acrobat. Data back to 1878 edition available.

US Census Bureau
[http://www.census.gov/]
Official source of demographic and economic statistics for the US Selected international statistics also available. Includes links to other government statistics sources.

US Economy at a Glance (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
[http://stats.bls.gov/eag/]
Easy to navigate site summarizing economic data for US regions, states, selected metropolitan areas. Current as well as older statistics available.


United States

Economic Report of the President
[http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP]
Searchable text of the annual report on economic conditions. Available since 1996.


United States - Statistics

Census Data (2000)
[http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html]
All encompassing website for the data from the 2000 United States Census.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Business and Economics