University of Hartford Libraries

Business Ethics Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

1000 CEOs
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/dkceos]
Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

AICPA Code of Professional Conduct
[http://www.aicpa.org/Research/Standards/CodeofConduct/Pages/default.aspx]
The AICPA Code of Professional Conduct has been updated for all Official Releases through June 2008.

The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/elgarcrep?institutionId=4005]
Provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory.

Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/hodderepe]
An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.

Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sharpecs]
The book examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, including Arthur Andersen LLP, the Enron auditor that collapsed after it was accused of obstructing justice.

Index of Economic Freedom
[http://www.heritage.org/Index//]
Years Covered: 2006 - Present
For over a decade, The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, Washington's preeminent think tank, have tracked the march of economic freedom around the world with the influential Index of Economic Freedom.

A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyazcsr]
This is the world’s first complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries, from AA 1000 Series of Standards on Accountability to Zen, have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.


Dictionaries

BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource- Dictionary of Business and Management
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/ultimatebusiness]
Definitions of international business and management terms. Abbreviations and acronyms.

Collins Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbus]
Business reference covering business theory and practice.

Dictionary of Business
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/acbbusiness?institutionId=4005]
Basic vocabulary used in both British and American business.


Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Business Ethics
Mortensen Library Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

Business Cycles and Depressions: an Encyclopedia
Mortensen Library Reference HB3711 .B936 1997

Encyclopaedia of Business (Capstone)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/capstonebus]
Reference information of business.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3402799999]
Search the full two volumes of the 2nd edition (2001) Encyclopedia which presents information on a wide range of business issues. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of Public Choice
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/sprpubchoice]
Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410401&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2007 edition encyclopedia for small business owners. Includes financing, planning, marketing, human resources etc. UofH only.


Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/abicomplete/advanced?accountid=11308]
Thousands of the leading English language business and management journals. Full text and/or full image available for most articles after 1989. Indexing and abstracts from 1970. Also searches Hoover's Company Records for company and industry information. Made available by iCONN.org, the Connecticut Digital Library.

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Checkpoint (RIA)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://checkpoint.riag.com/login?iploc=univofhart]
Comprehensive full text database of tax information at the federal and state level. Includes codes, regulations, cases and other primary materials as well as secondary sources such as handbooks and other materials from RIA.

Emerald Fulltext
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.emeraldinsight.com/Insight/menuNavigation.do?hdAction=menu_ca_sb_quick_search]
Database of articles from approximately 200 journals covering business, management, and administration issues. Full text. Available in both PDF and HTML formats.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Global Financial Data
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://www.globalfinancialdata.com/GFDPlatform/Login.aspx]
LOGIN as ANONYMOUS to use full database or create your own user name and password to save searches, etc. Global Financial Data provides accurate, verified financial data and statistics. Compiled from original sources, the GF Database is an online collection of more than 20,000 data series, which span decades or even centuries of information, and cover more than 200 countries. It is accessible anytime, anywhere 24 hours a day. Offers daily close data for US stocks, daily stock market histories begin as early as 1962 for major US stocks, and delivers original end-of-day trading values for individual United States stocks. PLEASE NOTE: There is a 20 person seat limit. So please, LOGOUT, to end your session properly.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Mergent Archives
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentarchives.com]
Years Covered: 1909-2010
Online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.

Mergent Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.mergentonline.com]
Offers a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information.

Philosopher's Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=phl]
Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.


Websites

Applied Ethics Resources
[http://www.ethicsweb.ca/resources]
Links to codes of ethics of professional societies and organizations, an on-line discussion forum, and specific links to topics of professional interest.

Business Ethics Resources on WWW
[http://www.ethicsweb.ca/resources/business/]
Extensive lists of links to corporate or associations' codes of ethics, groups studying the topic, online publications of interest, etc.

The Conference Board
[http://www.conference-board.org]
Access to the most recent economics statistics and other information published by this business organization

Drucker Archives (Claremont Graduate University)
[http://www.druckerinstitute.com/project/drucker-archives/]
Biographical information and a searchable database of materials in the personal papers of the "father of management." Also includes bibliographies of his books and a few articles about Drucker.

ENTERWeb (Small Business Portal)
[http://www.enterweb.org/]
Selective, annotated meta-index to information on enterprise development, entrepreneurship, international trade, the economy, etc. International coverage includes developed and developing countries. Access by subject or geographic region.

Ethics in Computing (North Carolina State University)
[http://ethics.csc.ncsu.edu/]
Covering a wide variety of topics related to the ethical use of computers. Includes free speech, e-commerce, social issues, intellectual property, etc.

Ethics Resource Center
[http://www.ethics.org/]
Provides commentary and research on ethical behavior in both the private and public sector.

Institute for Business and Professional Ethics (DePaul University)
[http://commerce.depaul.edu/ethics/]
Provides a calendar of ethics conferences and workshops with diverse links to ethics resources in both business and the professions.

Knowledge @ Wharton (University of Pennsylvania)
[http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/]
Bi-Weekly e-zine for the latest in business. Includes interviews, current res4earch, conference reports, book reviews. Free registration is required.

Minority Business Development Agency
[http://www.mbda.gov/]
Resources to support the growth of minority owned businesses in the US. Includes business listings, online resources, statistics, etc. From US Department of Commerce.

Transparency International
[http://www.transparency.org/]
Organization reporting on international corruption issues. Press releases, links to related news stories. The "Knowledge Centre" provides access to full text reports and to a continuously updated bibliography of related information.

United for a Fair Economy
[http://www.faireconomy.org/]
Website devoted to corruption awareness in the economy, government, and community.

US Securities and Exchange Commission
[http://www.sec.gov/]
Current news, regulations, information from the SEC, including access to the official EDGAR site


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Business Ethics