University of Hartford Libraries

Buddhism Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Critical Terms for Religious Studies
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/uchicagors]
Essays dealing with all aspects of religion.

Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/uchicagobud?institutionId=4005]
Essays dealing with all aspects of Buddhism.

Hate Crimes
Mortensen Library Reference HV6773.52 .S768 2003


Dictionaries

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
[http://www.buddhism-dict.net/ddb/]
A compilation of Chinese ideograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. The Chinese-Japanese-Korean-Vietnamese/English Dictionary [CJKV-E] is a compilation of Chinese ideographs, as well as ideograph-comprised compound words, text names, person names, etc., found primarily in the Confucian and Daoist classics.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?vrsn=117&sol=0028659104&locID=a23uh&ste=3]
Search the full text of a two-volume encyclopedia describing the Buddhist world view, the teachings and practices of Buddhism, and different schools of Buddhism. Explores the history of Buddhism, the differrent forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how it has blended with other traditions.

Encyclopedia of Religion
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780028659978&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology


Periodicals

Journal of Buddhist Ethics
[http://blogs.dickinson.edu/buddhistethics/]
Online journal of Buddhist ethics.


Websites

The Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.ciolek.com/wwwvl-Buddhism.html]
Extensive and well-organized introduction to the complexity and richness of Buddhism with excellent supporting links.

Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
[http://virtualreligion.net/vri/]
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Buddhism