University of Hartford Libraries

Brass Music Subject Guide


Horn

Books about the French Horn

The Early Horn: A Practical Guide
By John Humphries. Allen Library [ML955 H86]
A guide to 18th- and 19th-century horn playing, including practical insights on performance practice.

The Horn
By Kurt Janetzky & Bernhard Bruchle. Allen Library [ML955 J33 H67]
A history of the french horn from its origins to the mid-20th century.

The Horn Handbook
By Verne Reynolds. Allen Library [MT420 R49]
In addition to chapters on practicing and teaching, a large section of this book is spent providing advice on the performance of many prominent horn works as well as how to play in a variety of instrumental combinations, such as with piano, in a woodwind quintet, and in a brass quintet.

Horn Technique
By Gunther Schuller. Allen Library [MT420 S38]
A relatively short, but valuable resource on horn playing. Covers areas such as tone production, articulation, warm-ups, practicing, repertoire, and more.

See more books about the french horn
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:horn+musical+instrument?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer.

Horn Bibliographie
By Bernard Bruchle. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H8 B]
Listing of works that include at least one french horn. 2 volumes, in German.

The Index of French Horn Music
Edited by Wayne Wilkins. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 H8 W]
Listing of works that include at least one french horn. Be sure to read the explanation of abbreviations and symbols found at the beginning of the book.


Finding French Horn Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

French horn and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M255%20or%20M256%20or%20M257%20or%20M258%20or%20M259?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M255 - M259

French horn concertos (with orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1028%20or%20M1029?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1028 - M1029

French horn concertos (with string orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1128%20or%20M1129?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1128 - M1129

French horn solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M80%20or%20M81%20or%20M82%20or%20M83%20or%20M84?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M80 - M84

Method Books - French Horn
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT422%20or%20MT423%20or%20MT424%20or%20MT425?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT422 - MT425

Orchestral Excerpts - French Horn
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT426?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT426


Periodicals

Horn Call
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Horn+Call&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

British Horn Society
[http://british-horn.org/]
This site includes news, events, and links to French horn and classical music sites on the web.

International Horn Society
[http://www.hornsociety.org]
The IHS online includes news, resources, and online articles.


Trombone

Books about the Trombone

A Modern Guide for Trombonists and Other Musicians
By Richard Begel. Allen Library [MT460 B44 M6]
Covers topics such as breathing, tone quality, intonation, auditions, trombone care and cleaning, and more.

The Trombone
By Trevor Herbert. Allen Library [ML965 H47 T76]
A comprehensive history of the trombone, from its origins through the 20th century.

The Trombone: Its History and Music, 1697 -1811
By David Guion. Allen Library Stacks [ML965 G96 T7]
An examination of the trombone in the 18th century, focusing on 18th-century writings on the trombone, the trombone and its music in France, and the trombone in choral music, opera, and the concert orchestra.

See more books about the trombone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:trombone?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Annotated Guide to Trombone Solos with Band & Orchestra
By Vern Kagarice. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T84 K]
Provides duration, difficulty level, range, and a description for a large number of concertos and other works for trombone with large ensemble.

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer.

French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography
By Mark J. Thompson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 T46]
Lists and describes solo and pedagogical music for low brass instruments. Description includes information such as duration, range, difficulty, special performance techniques, and more.


Finding Trombone Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Method Books - Trombone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT462%20or%20MT463%20or%20MT464%20or%20MT465?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT462 - MT465

Orchestral Excerpts - Trombone
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT466?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT466

Trombone and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M262%20or%20M263?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M262 - M263

Trombone concertos (with orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1032%20or%20M1033?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1032 - M1033

Trombone concertos (with string orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1132%20or%20M1133?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1132 - M1133

Trombone solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M90%20or%20M91%20or%20M92%20or%20M93%20or%20M94?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M90 - M94


Periodicals

ITA Journal
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?kw=ITA+Journal+&q=switch&sid=76148354&id=8684&SF=Titles&limit=mc-ccode%3APERIODICAL&lang=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Electronic]

Online Trombone Journal
[http://www.trombone.org/articles/browse.asp]


Websites

International Trombone Association
[http://www.trombone.net/]
The ITA site has information about the organization and its festivals, awards, and scholarships.


Trumpet

Books about the Trumpet

The Trumpet
By Edward Tarr. Allen Library [ML960 T37 T76]
Overview of the history of the trumpet, from its origins in ancient history to the mid-20th century.

Trumpet Pedagogy: A Compendium of Modern Teaching Techniques
By David Hickman. Allen Library [MT440 H62 T78]
A combination of the author's own thoughts on trumpet pedagogy as well as those of many other experts on trumpet playing. Includes section on technique, physical attributes, psychology, types of trumpets, and more.

The Trumpeter's Handbook
By Roger Sherman. Allen Library [MT440 S55]
Discusses many aspects of trumpet technique, including hand position, breathing, embouchure, articulation, vibrato, and more. Also has chapters on equipment, audition preparation, practicing, etc.

See more books about the trumpet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:trumpet?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer.

Twentieth -Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra
By Norbert Carnovale. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T87 C1]
Provides descriptions for over 300 works for solo trumpet with orchestra. Also lists a number of works for multiple trumpets with orchestra.


Finding Trumpet Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Method Books - Trumpet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT442%20or%20MT443%20or%20MT444%20or%20MT445?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT442 - MT445

Orchestral Excerpts - Trumpet
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT446?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT446

Trumpet and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M260%20or%20M261?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M260 - M261

Trumpet concertos (with orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1030%20or%20M1031?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1030 - M1031

Trumpet concertos (with string orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1130%20or%20M1131?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1130 - M1131

Trumpet solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M85%20or%20M86%20or%20M87%20or%20M88%20or%20M89?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M85 - M89


Periodicals

ITG Journal
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/306423]


Websites

Downloads: Brass Music
[http://uhaweb.hartford.edu/lichtmann]
Jay Lichtmann's home page provides music for trumpet solo and ensemble, brass quartets, quintets, and ensembles available for free download.

International Trumpet Guild
[http://www.trumpetguild.org/]
A good site that includes news, graded concert lists, employment opportunities, an index to ITG journals, links to other sites, etc.

TPO: Trumpet Player Online
[http://trumpetplayeronline.com/]
A source for news, links, and forum discussions on the trumpet.


Tuba/Euphonium

Books about the Tuba/Euphonium

The Low Brass Guide
By John Griffiths. Allen Library [MT339 G85]

Program Notes for the Solo Tuba
By Gary Bird (ed.). Allen Library [ML973 B57 P]
Provides program note-style descriptions for 88 significant works for tuba, mostly written by the composers.

A Treatise on the Tuba
By Donald Stauffer. Allen Library [MT480 S79]
Primarily an examination of the many different types of tubas, but also discusses the general mechanics of the tuba, some technique, a few prominent tubists, and more.

The Tuba Handbook
By J. Kent Mason. Allen Library [MT480 M39]
This resource discusses tuba technique, including breathing, embouchure, articulation, fingering, instrument selection, and more.

The Tuba Source Book
Compiled by Winston R. Morris and Edward R. Goldstein. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T88 M]
In addition to material that has been updated in Guide to the Tuba Repertoire (see Books for Finding Music below), this book includes a series of essays on doubling for tubists, jazz tuba, the free-lance tubist, and several on how to compose for the tuba.


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer.

French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography
By Mark J. Thompson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 T46]
Lists and describes solo and pedagogical music for low brass instruments. Description includes information such as duration, range, difficulty, special performance techniques, and more.

Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire
By Lloyd Bone and Eric Paull (eds.). Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B24 G854]
Lists and provides brief descriptions of a large number of works that include euphonium, as well as method books and orchestral excerpt books. Also includes lists of suggested repertoire, an extensive discography, a bibliography of euphonium literature, short biographies of composers of euphonium music, and more.

Guide to the Tuba Repertoire
By Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 T88 M 2006]
Lists and provides brief descriptions of a large number of works that include tuba, as well as method books and orchestral excerpt books. Also includes an extensive discography.


Finding Tuba/Euphonium Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Euphonium and Piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M271?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M271

Euphonium concertos
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1206%20or%20M1035?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1035 (with orchestra) & M1206 (with band)

Euphonium Solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M110 E8 ?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M110 E8

Method Books - Tuba
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT482%20or%20MT483%20or%20MT484%20or%20MT485?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT482 - MT485

Orchestral Excerpts - Tuba
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/MT486?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
MT486

Tuba and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M264%20or%20M265?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M264 - M265

Tuba concertos (with band)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1206?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1206

Tuba concertos (with orchestra)
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M1035?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M1035

Tuba solo
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M95%20or%20M96%20or%20M97%20or%20M98%20or%20M99?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M95 - M99


Periodicals

ITEA Journal
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/294210]


Websites

International Tuba-Euphonium Association
[http://www.iteaonline.org/]
Official website of the ITEA.

Tuba-Euphonium Forum
[http://www.dwerden.com/talk/forum/]
Active discussions of euphonium- and tuba-related topics

TubeNet Forums
[http://forums.chisham.com/]
An active forum of discussion among tuba players about all things tuba.


General Brass

Books about Brass Instruments

Brass Anthology
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8]
A large collection of relatively brief articles from the journal Instrumentalist about brass instruments.

Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments
By Mark J. Fasman. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 F3]
Bibliography to aid in locating resources on the topics of history and music literature, pedagogy, acoustics and construction, and more for all brass instruments.

The Brass Player's Cookbook
Allen Library. [MT418 B737]
A series of brief articles about a wide variety of practical issues relating to brass instruments, written by a number of significant brass instrument performers.

See more books about brass instruments
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/subject:brass+instruments?fq=collection:BOOK&sort=pubyear%20desc]


Books for Finding Music

Brass Music Guide
Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 B8 A3]
Includes two volumes: Solo and Study Material in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 S] and Ensemble Music in Print [REF ML128 B8 A3 E]. Both volumes list thousands of works for brass instrument, organized by instrumentation and composer.

Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
By Carolyn Rabson. Allen Library Reference [REF ML128 O5 R2]
Indicates in which books excerpts for particular works can be found.


Finding Brass Music in the Library

Click links below to search for items in the library catalog, or use the call numbers below to browse the shelves at the Allen Library.

Other wind instrument and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M270%20or%20M271?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M270 - M271

2 wind instruments and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M315%20or%20M316%20or%20M317%20or%20M318%20or%20M319?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M315 - M319

3 wind instruments and piano
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M415%20or%20M416%20or%20M417%20or%20M418%20or%20M419?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M415 - M419

Brass quartets
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/search/M487%20or%20M488%20or%20M489?fq=collection:SCORES%20OR%20itemtype:SCORECD]
M487 - M489


Periodicals

Brass Bulletin
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/146286]

Historic Brass Society Journal
[https://hartford.waldo.kohalibrary.com/app/work/186653]

Instrumentalist

International Musician
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=International+Musician+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]

Medical Problems of Performing Artists
[http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?txtKeyword=Medical+Problems+of+Performing+Artists+&SF=Titles&id=8684&sid=76148354&LH=&lang.subject=&lang.menu=&cmdSearchSubmit=Search&optPages=1]


Websites

Acoustics of Brass Instruments (The University of New South Wales)
[http://www.phys.unsw.edu.au/jw/brassacoustics.html]
An examination of the acoustics of brass instruments, including a number of explanatory graphics.

Historic Brass Society
[http://www.historicbrass.org/]
The society's homepage listing events, publications, and related resources.

Robert King Music Sales
[https://robertkingmusic.com/]
This site includes The Brass Players Guide, a searchable online database of more than 28,000 brass titles from various publishers worldwide from which you can order music.


Instrumentation Searching

Searching by Instrumentation
You can search the catalog for works of a particular instrumentation. Simply use the "Subject" and "Scores" limiters. See sample terms below. .



Subject terms generally follows a pattern, regardless of the instrument. Below are some sample terms that could be used in your search. Just replace the listed instrument(s) with the instrument(s) you want.
  • trumpet music [use this for a solo work, without any accompaniment]
  • sonatas trumpet
  • trumpet with piano [use this for solo work with accompaniment
  • trumpet and trombone music [use this for duets with different instruments]
  • trumpet music trumpets 2 [use this for duets for the same instrument]
  • concertos trumpet
  • Brass quintets [five brass instruments in a variety of combinations]
To determine other appropriate subject headings, look at the "related subjects" field in the catalog record for an an item with that instrumentation.


Omit all parentheses and dashes before searching. In the above example, you would search for brass quintets horn trombone trumpets 2 tuba.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Brass Music