University of Hartford Libraries

Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
Career Services Shelves TP248.2 .F737 2008

Career Opportunities in Conservation and the Environment
Career Services Shelves S945 .G74 2008

Merck Manual of Medical Information: Second Home Edition
[http://www.merckmanuals.com/Home]
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, symptoms, how they're diagnosed, prevention, treatment, and prognosis

Resumes for Health and Medical Careers
Career Services Shelves R690 .R48 2009


Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary of Biology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/collinsbiology]
Dictionary of all major concepts of biology.

Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Wiley
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/wileydevbio]
Dictionary of terms, research, history, and notable people in the field of developmental biology and embryology.

Dictionary of Engineering Terms, Butterworth-Heinemann
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bhidet]
A comprehensive dictionary of terms for engineering students containing significant numbers of entries for all aspects of the Engineering Field

Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mactox]
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Terminology and keywords relating to science and technology. Mortensen Library Reference: Q123 .M15 2002

Photonics Dictionary
[http://www.photonics.com/Directory/Dictionary/Default.aspx]
The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations brought to you from the website of the Photonics Buyers Guide.

Slee’s Health Care Terms
Mortensen Library Reference RA423 .S55 2008

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Comprised of concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in medicine. Mortensen Library Reference: R121 .T18 2013; Mortensen Library Shelves: R121 .T18 2013.

Webster's New World Medical Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/webstermed?institutionId=4005]
Invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Energy
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/estenergy]
Provides easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, with articles written by leading international authorities, from Acid Deposition and Energy Use to World History and Energy

Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414476056&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
Search the full two volumes of the 2010 edition encyclopedia which presents information on conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies. UofH only.

Encyclopedia of the Human Genome
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/wileyhg]
Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as ethics and the law, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.

The Royal Society of Medicine health encyclopedia : the complete medical reference library in one A-Z volume
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/rsmhealth?institutionId=4005]
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Applied Science and Technology Index
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=asi]
Indexing of articles from over 400 English language journals covering technical fields, including engineering, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, physics, etc. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

CINAHL with Full Text
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=c8h]
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with links to selected full text articles. Indexes English language journals, books, dissertations, standards, research instruments, etc. Includes cited references. Selected items include abstracts. Offered to the University of Hartford through iconn.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.engineeringvillage.com]
Years Covered: 1969-present
The Engineering Village Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers.

Energy Citations Database
[http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/]
Searchable database of information on research sponsored by the US Department of Energy and its predecessors. Some full text online, ordering information for those not online.

E-Print Network
[http://www.osti.gov/home/scienceinfo]
Searchable gateway to documents in scientific and technical fields of concern to the US Department of Energy. Full text available.

FindArticles (Look Smart)
[http://www.findarticles.com/]
Searches for articles in approximately 900 magazines and journals. Emphasis on trade publications. Text only - no graphic content available. Some articles available to subscribers or for a fee only.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

MEDLINE
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=cmedm]
Years Covered: 1840-Present
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available.

ProQuest Biology Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/biologyjournals?accountid=11308]
The database includes over 300 biology titles, with more than 265 available in full text. ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

Proquest Science Journals
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/sciencejournals?accountid=11308]
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. ProQuest Science Journals features over 620 titles - with more than 500 available in full text.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/]
Comprehensive database of international literature, covering every aspect of medicine and healthcare. Accessible through two services. If one is busy, try another. Abstracts available with limited full text.

PubMed Central
[http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov]
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journals, maintained by the US National Institutes of Health. Some journals do not include current issues. Digitization program underway to build complete back files. Full text available.

ScienceResearch.com
[http://www.scienceresearch.com]
This site is a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Search for materials in the topics of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computers, environmental sciences, engineering, health and medicine, materials science, mathematics, physics, and social sciences. Full text. Also includes links to related sites.

SciFinder
[https://scifinder.cas.org/scifinder]
SciFinder Scholar is an application that provides access to the CAS databases, Chemical Abstracts and Registry. You must use your University email account to register (example: name@hartford.edu). Registration and use must occur on campus. Click this PDF for more detailed instructions:
SciFinder Instructions (PDF)

Link for registration: SciFinder Registration

Scitation (AIP) and SPIN - formerly Online Journal Publishing Service
[http://scitation.aip.org/]
Free access to this index (some full text or abstracts) of more than 40 professional journals and 1 million articles in physics, engineering and computer science including full text for Physical Review & Physical Review Letters. SPIN contains 1.5 million articles from leading Physics publications. You may search Scitation and SPIN in one search or separately.


Periodicals

BMC Biotechnology
[http://www.biomedcentral.com/bmcbiotechnol/]
Free, full-text online journal publishing information on the us of biological macromolecules/organisms for use in pharmaceuticals, experiments, and agrobiology.

Cytogenetic and Genome Research
[http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&pmid=27434]
Full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1996 - one year ago. University of Hartford users only.

Genome Research
[http://www.genome.org/contents-by-date.0.shtml]
Free, full-text online journal of genome research. Coverage is from 1997 - six months ago.


Subject Headings

Medical Subject Headings
[https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/]
Explanation of NLM's (Medline/Pubmed) MESH Subject Headings, how they work and how to use them.


Websites

General Resources

Actionbioscience.org
[http://www.actionbioscience.org/]
Examines such issues as biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, and evolution. Includes peer-reviewed articles, papers from outside sources, lesson plans correlated to the US National Science Education Standards (NSES) and related links.

American Institute of Biological Sciences
[http://www.aibs.org/]
News, programs, services and announcements of the Institute.

Annual Reviews
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.annualreviews.org/]
Search engine for all 26 of Annual Reviews' products with table of contents and abstracts.

BioMed Central
[http://www.biomedcentral.com/]
Provides rapid identification and reporting of research in biological sciences and clinical medicine. Provides service for authors wishing to publish research reports using either full peer-review process or a pre-print non-peer-reviewed deposition.

Institute for Biosecurity - St. Louis University School of Public Health
[https://www.slu.edu/public-health-social-justice/research/centers_institutes/institute_bsdp.php]
links to web sites, articles, government documents, and research reports from credible sources, such as academic institutions and professional organizations. Useful for those in the health professions, biology, and sciences.

CAS Science Spotlight
[http://www.cas.org/spotlight/index.html]
Bibliographic information about the most frequently requested, "most intriguing," and most cited documents in chemistry and related fields. Includes journals articles and patents.

GlobalSpec
[http://globalspec.com]
Specialized engineering information page. Find product and supplier information, or limit your search to "the engineering web" or specific types of engineering information on the web.

National Center for Biotechnology Information
[http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/]
GenBank - resources for human genome, gene sequence; Taxonomy; Structure - molecular modeling database.

PubChem (National Library of Medicine)
[http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/]
Database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. Search for compound, substance, bioassay, or structure.

ResearchGate
[http://www.researchgate.net/]
ResearchGate is a social and professional network for researchers and scientists with many features designed specifically for the sciences: a search engine that searches 7 major databases (e.g., PubMed, NASA, IEEE) and thousands of smaller Open Access ones, self-archiving, information on thousands of journals and publishers, an events board, job listings, file-sharing, a blogging platform, and much more.

SciCentral
[http://www.scicentral.com/]
Gateway to hundreds of sources of information in all areas of science. Arranged in broad subject categories. Searchable. Updated daily with science news.


Connecticut

CURE: Connecticut's BioScience Cluster
[http://www.curenet.org/]
Information, news, employment links, etc. on an organization linking private and public organizations involved in bioscience research and development in Connecticut.


Statistics

NRCSE - National Research Center for Statistics and the Environment
[http://www.stat.washington.edu/NRCSE/]
EPA funded cross-disciplinary research organization, specializing in statistical methodology.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Biomedical Engineering