University of Hartford Libraries

Artists Subject Guide


Books

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andbda]
Alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present.


Dictionaries

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thaa]
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thba]
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.


Databases

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
[http://lib.colostate.edu/posters/]
Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

National Gallery Collection (London)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ng]
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made

National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
[https://npg.si.edu/portraits/research]
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.


Websites

ARTINFO: Art Sales Index
[http://artsalesindex.artinfo.com/asi/search.action]
ARTINFO.com is the online destination of Louise Blouin Media, the world’s leading cultural media group. Its mission is to provide unparalleled access to the world of art and culture.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

The William Blake Archive
[http://www.blakearchive.org/]
An electronic archive of Blake's work with high quality images of his texts, paintings, drawings and illustrations. The site is searchable by text or image.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Artists