University of Hartford Libraries

Art History Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Aesthetics A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/eupaes]
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

The Art of Black American Women: Works of Twenty-four Artists of the Twentieth Century
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 H45 1993

Artist Biographies Master Index
Mortensen Library Reference N40.A78 1986

Artists Communities: a Directory of Residencies That Offer Time and Space for Creativity
Mortensen Library Reference NX110 .A767 2005

Bloomsbury Guide to Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bga]
Comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bridgeart]
Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others.

Contemporary Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .C66 1999

Critical Terms for Art History
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/uchicagoah?institutionId=4005]
Critical Essays dealing with Art History and critical theories. Also own print Mortensen Library Shelves [N34 .C75 2003]

Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N6536.C8

Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .B47 1999

If the Paintings Could Talk
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngpt]
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.

Jacobsen's Biographical Index of American Artists: Artists Native to the United States or Working in the United States from 1606 to 2002
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .J33 2002

Latin American Women Artists of the United States : the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.H58 H46 1999

Looking at Greek and Roman Sculptures in Stone: a Guide to Terms, Styles, and Technique
Mortensen Library Reference NB85 .G76 2003

Mantle Fielding’s Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors & Engravers
Mortensen Library Reference N51.F45 1986

Myths & Legends
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngmyths]
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

Narrative
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngnarrative]
Familiarizes the modern viewer with some of the best or most intriguing examples of Western narrative painting.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008]

National Gallery companion guide
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngcg]
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.

Oxford Companion to Western Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Oxford Companion to Western Art and search Companion only.

The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Mortensen Library Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993

St. James Guide to Black Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .S78 1997

Who’s Who in American Art
Mortensen Library Reference N51 .W62

Women Artists and Designers in Europe since 1800: an Annotated Bibliography
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .M33 1997

Women Artists in the United States: a Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .W65 1990


Biographies

African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003

Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andbda]
Alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present.


Dictionaries

The Art Book
Mortensen Library Reference N33 .A575 1996 (Artists Dictionary with examples of their work)

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996

A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009

Dictionary of Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .D53 1997

Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thaa]
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thba]
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.


Encyclopedias

The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mheren]
World history during the Renaissance period.

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and search Encyclopedia only. Have 1998 Print edition in Mortensen Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998

The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routfolkart?institutionId=4005]
A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art.

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7560 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6502 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of World Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31.E56

Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7830 .F37 1972 (Also have one circulating copy)

The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thei]
All things about the Impressionist era.


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

Art Resource
[http://www.artres.com/]
Art Resource allows users to search for high quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the worlds major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Getty Research Portal
[http://portal.getty.edu/portal/landing]
An online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain.

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

History Reference Center
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=khh]
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
[http://lib.colostate.edu/posters/]
Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

MDID, the Art History Department's Digital Image Database
[http://mdid3.hartford.edu/]
A searchable database of over 16,000 images digitized for University of Hartford art history courses and lectures, available for research, study, criticism and journalism (educational use only, must have valid UH login and password).

National Gallery Collection (London)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ng]
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made

National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
[https://npg.si.edu/portraits/research]
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Periodicals

Journal of Antiques and Collectibles
[http://journalofantiques.com/]
Online Antique Journal.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
[http://www.19thc-artworldwide.org/about-the-journal]
An electronic journal of 19th century visual culture.


Websites

1200 anni di scultura italiana (1200 Years of Italian Sculpture)
[http://www.thais.it/scultura/default.htm]
An index of Italian sculptors from medieval to modern times. Search by period, artist, or location. The excellent images can be greatly enlarged. (If a warning appears on the screen, override it by clicking on X) Sometimes slow.

Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.aaa.si.edu/]
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.

Art History Resources on the Web (Sweet Briar College)
[http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html]
Arranged by period of art history, Chris Witcombe's informative, timely, and easy to use resource is the definitive search tool for art history (unavailable in Lynx).

Art Inventories Catalog (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.siris.si.edu/#ari]
Provides access to SIRIS, The Smithsonian Institution Research Information System, which includes a 300,000 record database maintained by the National Museum of American Art describing American paintings and sculptures.

Art Magick
[https://www.facebook.com/ArtMagickErgoSum/]
A virtual gallery of artists and art movements of the 19th and 20th centuries (Romantic, Symbolist, Pre-Raphaclite, Art Nouveau, etc.). Many forgotten or neglected artists' works.

ARTINFO: Art Sales Index
[http://artsalesindex.artinfo.com/asi/search.action]
ARTINFO.com is the online destination of Louise Blouin Media, the world’s leading cultural media group. Its mission is to provide unparalleled access to the world of art and culture.

Artist Index
[http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth/]
A part of the Web Museum. Quick reference for biographical information on selected artists of all times, plus examples of their work.

ArtPromote
[http://www.artpromote.com/]
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities

Asian Arts
[http://www.asianart.com/]
Exhibits, articles, and galleries for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.

ASKART.com
[http://askart.com/]
Comprehensive database about North American painters, sculptors, and illustrators. Biographies, images, book and periodical references, museums and exhibitions, dealers and auction records.

Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame
[http://images.library.pitt.edu/cgi-bin/i/image/image-idx?c=chartres]
The most comprehensive collection of images and descriptions of Chartres Cathedral. Over 3000 high resolution images detailing architecture, sculpture, stained glass windows, wall paintings and manuscript illuminations.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Docs Teach
[http://docsteach.org/]
An excellent Teaching Resource for History and the Social Sciences. Has ideas on lesson plans incorporating primary sources as well as links to many National Archives primary sources.

Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Digital Archive
[http://icaadocs.mfah.org/icaadocs/]
Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.

The Florence Art Guide
[http://www.mega.it/eng/egui/hogui.htm]
Explore Florence monuments, museums, historic periods, artists and images through its indexes, check current events, schedules, travel, and all sorts of tourist information.

Haltadefinizione
[http://www.haltadefinizione.com/en/]
The Haltadefinizione project was initially conceived from the idea of the digital picture: herewith a gallery of extremely high definition images of the greatest treasures in the history of art. Must subscribe, no fee.

The Huntington Art Collections
[http://www.huntington.org/WebAssets/Templates/content.aspx?id=202]
One of the most important specialized art collections in the country, devoted primarily to British art of the 18th and early 19th century. Excellent images. Searchable.

Le Louvre
[http://www.louvre.fr/]
View permanent and temporary exhibits, take a tour, find information about publications, etc. Some information available only in French

Making Sense of Modern Art (MSoMA)
[https://www.sfmoma.org/]
Interactive searching and learning tool for content at the Museum of Modern Art

The Medieval Page: Sources for Medieval Studies on the WWW
[http://www.efn.org/~acd/medievalpage.html]
Annotated links to websites on largely Western Medieval topics. Organized by subjects, including literature, religion, philosophy, art, history, women's and gender studies. From art history scholar, Adrienne DeAngelis.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
[http://www.metmuseum.org/]
In addition to information on exhibitions, program calendars, publications and holdings, this site offers access to the online catalogs for the museum's libraries and a selection of art links and access to over 400,000 high resolution images of their collection online for public use. In addition to keyword search, users may browse the collection by artist, method, geographic location, and date/era.

NYPL Digital Gallery
[http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm]
Browse or search The New York Public Library digital collection of 275,000 images (more coming) from primary sources and printed rarities, including illuminated manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and photographs ephemera, illustrated books, etc.

Research Guides: Art History (Rutgers University)
[https://libguides.rutgers.edu/cat.php?cid=25827]
Excellent guide to art reference both in print and online. Mortensen Library owns many of the reference works listed here. Numerous selected online resources organized by subject for easy retrieval.

The State Hermitage Museum
[http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/wps/portal/hermitage/?lng=en]
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Voice of the Shuttle: Art (Modern and Contemporary)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2707]
Extremely rich server covers general resources, museums, galleries and exhibitions, auctions, artists and work by chronology, cartography, design, art and technology, and more.

Voice of the Shuttle: Art History
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3404]
Extremely rich server covers general resources, museums, galleries and exhibitions, auctions, artists and work by chronology, cartography, design, art and technology, and more.

Web Gallery of Art
[http://www.wga.hu/]
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture between the years 1150 and 1800. Artists Index, biographies, guided tours.

WebMuseum, Paris
[http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/]
Extensive image-based resources with rotating special exhibits available exclusively at the WebMuseum.

World Art Treasures
[http://www.bergerfoundation.ch/]
The J.-E. Berger Foundation extensive slide database currently devoted to the art of J. Vermeer, Renaissance Gardens, S. Botticelli, Roman portraits from Egypt and much more.

World Wide Arts Resources
[http://www.wwar.com/]
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Art History