University of Hartford Libraries

Art Subject Guide


Books

General Resources

Aesthetics A-Z
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/eupaes]
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

The Art of Black American Women: Works of Twenty-four Artists of the Twentieth Century
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 H45 1993

Artist Biographies Master Index
Mortensen Library Reference N40.A78 1986

Artists Communities: a Directory of Residencies That Offer Time and Space for Creativity
Mortensen Library Reference NX110 .A767 2005

Bloomsbury Guide to Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/bga]
Comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/bridgeart]
Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts and many others.

Career Opportunities in Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .H35 2001

Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts
Career Services Shelves N8350 .C53 2006

Careers in Art: An Illustrated Guide
Mortensen Library Reference N6505 .B74 1999

Contemporary Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .C66 1999

Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N6536.C8

Dictionnaire Critique et Documentaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs et Graveurs de Tous les Temps et de Tous les Pays
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .B47 1999

Harlem Renaissance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780787693022&v=2.1&u=a23uh&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w]
This authoritative resource presents the people, places and times that defined an era and documents the launch of cultural development among African Americans in 1920s Harlem.

If the Paintings Could Talk
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngpt]
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.

Jacobsen's Biographical Index of American Artists: Artists Native to the United States or Working in the United States from 1606 to 2002
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .J33 2002

Latin American Women Artists of the United States : the Works of 33 Twentieth-century Women
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.H58 H46 1999

Looking at Greek and Roman Sculptures in Stone: a Guide to Terms, Styles, and Technique
Mortensen Library Reference NB85 .G76 2003

Mantle Fielding’s Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors & Engravers
Mortensen Library Reference N51.F45 1986

Museum Careers: A Practical Guide For Students And Novices
Mortensen Library Reference AM7 .S27 2008

Myths & Legends
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngmyths]
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection.

Narrative
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngnarrative]
Familiarizes the modern viewer with some of the best or most intriguing examples of Western narrative painting.

National Directory of Arts Internships
Allen Library Permanent Reserves [NX280 N3 2008]

National Gallery companion guide
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ngcg]
Introduces art lovers to one of the richest and most representative collections of Western European paintings in the world, The National Gallery - London.

The Official Museum Directory
Mortensen Library Reference AM11.M98 C5

Oxford Companion to Western Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Oxford Companion to Western Art and search Companion only.

The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Mortensen Library Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993

Pop Culture Arab World! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcarabpe?institutionId=4005]
Explores how Arab pop culture has succeeded in helping forge a pan-Arab identity, where Arab nationalism has failed.

Pop Culture China! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpochine?institutionId=4005]
From the modernization of traditional theater to the traditional uses of modern technology, this book presents a guide to the emerging culture of a country that will inevitably become increasingly influential in coming years.

Pop Culture Germany! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcpopger?institutionId=4005]
Offers a concise, in-depth overview of the evolution and impact of German media, arts, lifestyles, and recreation, written with a historical perspective.

Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcindpope?institutionId=4005]
Introduction to a diverse nation whose appetite for entertainment has led to some surprising twists and turns in recent history.

Pop Culture Latin America! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abclampope?institutionId=4005]
A survey of contemporary Latin American popular culture, covering topics that range from music and film to popular festivals and fashion.

Pop Culture Russia! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/abcrusspe?institutionId=4005]
A revealing look at contemporary Russian popular culture, exploring the historical and social influences that make it unique.

St. James Guide to Black Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N40 .S78 1997

The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thei]
All things about the Impressionist era.

Who’s Who in American Art
Mortensen Library Reference N51 .W62

Women Artists and Designers in Europe since 1800: an Annotated Bibliography
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .M33 1997

Women Artists in the United States: a Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986
Mortensen Library Reference N6536 .W65 1990

World Design: the Best in Classic Furniture, Fashion, Graphics and More
Mortensen Library Reference NK1166 .W67 2000


Biographies

African Americans in the Visual Arts
Mortensen Library Reference N6538.N5 O86 2003

Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/andbda]
Alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present.


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/hmabbr?institutionId=4005]
Definition for abbreviations across disciplines.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus
[http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/aat/]
Contributory Thesaurus provided by and updated by members of the Getty Museum. Also own Print 1990 edition at Mortensen Library Reference [Z695.1.A7 A76 1990]

The Art Book
Mortensen Library Reference N33 .A575 1996 (Artists Dictionary with examples of their work)

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and search Dictionary only

The Dictionary of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31 .D5 1996

A Dictionary of Art Terms: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Engraving and Etching, Lithography and Other Art Processes, Heraldry
Mortensen Library Reference N33.H14

A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Formerly Dictionary of Twentieth Century Art in Mortensen Library Reference N6490 .C5317 2009

Dictionary of Modern Design
Mortensen Library Shelves NK1165 .W66 2004

Dictionary of Women Artists
Mortensen Library Reference N8354 .D53 1997

Dictionary of Women in Religious Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7793.W65 A66 1998

Fashion, Costume and Culture, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3425599999&q=a23uh]
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day.

The Photography Book
Mortensen Library Reference TR139 .P49 2014 (2000 imprint on Mortensen Shelves at TR139 .P49 2000(Photographers Dictionary with examples of their work)

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thaa]
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/that]
Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thba]
Covers every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass.

The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/thir]
The literature, art, and culture of the Italian renaissance.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Part of Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber]
Search Oxford Art Online or check box for Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and search Encyclopedia only. Have 1998 Print edition in Mortensen Library Reference BH56 .E53 1998

The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routfolkart?institutionId=4005]
A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art.

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7560 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art
Mortensen Library Reference N6502 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of Postmodernism
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/title/routpostm?institutionId=4005]
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Mortensen Library Reference [REF PS153.N5 A24 2003]

Encyclopedia of World Art
Mortensen Library Reference N31.E56

Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science
Mortensen Library Reference TR9 .F6 2007

Miller's Antiques Encyclopedia
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/mae]
Information on materials and techniques, feature boxes containing information and marks, practical advice on how to identify a fake, and tips on caring for and displaying your collection.

Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
Mortensen Library Reference N7830 .F37 1972 (Also have one circulating copy)


Databases

Academic Search Premier
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aph]
Indexing and abstracts for over 8,000 journals in all subject areas, with full text of articles from nearly 4,600. Includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals.

Art Index and the Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=aai,air]
Years Covered: 1929-
Indexing of articles from over 270 international art publications. Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art. Limited number of simultaneous users. Be sure to logout/exit before closing your browser.

Art Index Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=air ]
Years Covered: 1929-1984
Provides users with Art Literature, covering fine, decorative and commercial art.

Art Resource
[http://www.artres.com/]
Art Resource allows users to search for high quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the worlds major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.

ArtBibliographies Modern
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=https://search.proquest.com/artbibliographies/advanced?accountid=11308]
Years Covered: 1960-Present
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ARTstor
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://library.artstor.org/]
Searchable database of over 300,000 images from museums around the world, and covering a wide range of cultures and time periods. New material added frequently. Requires Java and Flash. Cookies and popups must be enabled. See Quick Start Guide for technical information and basic searching guidance. Disable Pop Up Blocker before opening. Mac users must have OS 10.3 and use Firefox browser.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/International Bibliography of Art)
[http://primo.getty.edu/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=BHA]
This online resource provided free of charge from the Getty Museum is the complete index from 1991 to 2009. Mortensen Reference owns print from to 1991-1999 in Indexes and Abstracts Z5967 .B53

Essay & General Literature Index with Retrospective
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=egr,egi]
Years Covered: 1900-
Essay & General Literature offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. This resource also unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.

Getty Research Portal
[http://portal.getty.edu/portal/landing]
An online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain.

Google Art Project
[http://www.googleartproject.com/]
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

Google Scholar
[http://scholar.google.com]
Search for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Includes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, etc. Particularly strong in sciences and social sciences. Selected full text. Many links are to publisher's sites which sell access. ON Campus - links to U of H holdings are available. OFF Campus - U of H users should check our holdings and use Interlibrary Services as needed.

GroveArt (Now Oxford Art Online)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Humanities Abstracts
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=EHOST&defaultdb=hma]
Strong resource index for all aspects of the Humanities including: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology

The International Poster Collection (Colorado State University)
[http://lib.colostate.edu/posters/]
Includes a searchable database of posters presented at the Colorado State University Exhibitions and has artist biographies.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.jstor.org]
Searchable full text of articles from selected scholarly journals in fields including area studies, anthropology, ecology, economics, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, philosophy, political sciences, sociology and statistics. No current issues available. Historical coverage varies, but database includes some titles from before 1950.

National Gallery Collection (London)
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/book/ng]
The National Gallery Collection is comprised of high definition images from the National Gallery, London. Each entry includes a description of the work along with its artist, medium, dimensions, acquisition credit, and date made

National Portrait Gallery Portrait Search
[https://npg.si.edu/portraits/research]
survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad. The CAP encompasses portraits of American subjects or by American artists, generally limited to one-of-a-kind likenesses such as paintings, sculpture, drawings, miniatures, and silhouettes.

Oxford Art Online
[http://libill.hartford.edu:2048/login?URL=http://www.oxfordartonline.com]
Artists' biographies, essays on all cultures, civilizations, and art movements; articles on conservation and theory. A 720,000 item index includes all the visual arts with the exception of film. Links to related web resources and images. Full text available.

Web Urbanist
[http://weburbanist.com/2011/08/26/reading-revolution-14-marvelous-modern-libraries/]
Web Urbanist covers the collective life of our times through the lens of creative visual culture in the beating hearts of our cities. From urban design to individual homes, and subversive street graffiti to compelling works of gallery art, our authors scour the net to find the most innovative, compelling and cutting-edge artworks and designs in the world.

World Digital Library (WDL)
[http://www.wdl.org/en/]
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, digital images of significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Periodicals

International Journal of Arts Management
Online | Print:

Journal of Antiques and Collectibles
[http://journalofantiques.com/]
Online Antique Journal.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
[http://www.19thc-artworldwide.org/about-the-journal]
An electronic journal of 19th century visual culture.


Websites

Arts Management & Technology Laboratory (AMT Lab @ CMU)
[http://amt-lab.org/]
Information on the use of technology in arts management. Formerly called Technology in the Arts.

Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
[http://www.aaa.si.edu/]
A repository of primary materials: letters, diaries, scrapbooks, catalogues,documentation of all kinds. Helpful "How to" box at the top of the screen to allow to search, question, etc.

Art Crimes: The Writing on the Wall
[http://www.graffiti.org/index.html]
Graffiti from all over the world! The first and biggest, award winning site on the subject. Way over 3000 copyrighted images.

ARTINFO: Art Sales Index
[http://artsalesindex.artinfo.com/asi/search.action]
ARTINFO.com is the online destination of Louise Blouin Media, the world’s leading cultural media group. Its mission is to provide unparalleled access to the world of art and culture.

Artist Index
[http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth/]
A part of the Web Museum. Quick reference for biographical information on selected artists of all times, plus examples of their work.

ArtPromote
[http://www.artpromote.com/]
Search for websites, images and other information for Art, Science and Humanities

Arts and Letters Daily
[http://www.aldaily.com/]
A daily survey of "breakthrough" publications in philosophy, aesthetics, literature, and other humanistic disciplines.

ArtSource
[http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html]
Networked resources on Art and Architecture with links to art journals online, electronic exhibits, image collections, vendor and organizational information.

ASKART.com
[http://askart.com/]
Comprehensive database about North American painters, sculptors, and illustrators. Biographies, images, book and periodical references, museums and exhibitions, dealers and auction records.

Current Jobs for Graduates
[http://www.graduatejobs.com/]
National employment bulletin. Updated monthly. UH access only.

Designinform Research Guides
[http://www.designinform.co.uk/researchguides.htm]
Links to websites in all types of design, architecture and art forms.

Directory of Digitized Collections (UNESCO)
[http://www.unesco.org/webworld/digicol/]
Catalog of digitized heritage collections -- literature, art, history, etc - around the world. Keyword search or browse.

Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art Digital Archive
[http://icaadocs.mfah.org/icaadocs/]
Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.

The Florence Art Guide
[http://www.mega.it/eng/egui/hogui.htm]
Explore Florence monuments, museums, historic periods, artists and images through its indexes, check current events, schedules, travel, and all sorts of tourist information.

Getty Information Institute
[http://www.getty.edu/]
Provides search access to a number of Getty databases, among them: The Art and Architecture Thesaurus, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art .

A Guide to Harlem Renaissance Material
[http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/harlem/harlem.html]
Library of Congress resources on African-American expressions of writing, music and art during the 1920s and 1930s. Links to external Web sites on the subject and bibliography.

Haltadefinizione
[http://www.haltadefinizione.com/en/]
The Haltadefinizione project was initially conceived from the idea of the digital picture: herewith a gallery of extremely high definition images of the greatest treasures in the history of art. Must subscribe, no fee.

Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
[http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu/]
Indispensable guide to the Medieval world online, with extensive links to texts, images, and archival databases. A truly extraordinary resource.

Les Trés Riches Heures du Duc de Berry
[https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Tr%C3%A8s_Riches_Heures_du_Duc_de_Berry]
All 201 pages of one of the most beautiful illuminated manuscripts in existence are reproduced here. The images and many details may be greatly enlarged.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/]
Links arranged by subject. Quick and easy to use.

MIT Libraries: Rotch Visual Collections
[http://libraries.mit.edu/rotch/rotch-collections/]
Art, archaeology, architecture, photography, and more.

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources (Catholic University of America)
[http://www.netserf.org/]
Enjoyable, well-organized site for all things medieval. Extensive links to museum collections, primary source documents, and image archives.

Smithsonian National Museum of African Art
[http://africa.si.edu]
Highlights of temporary and permanent exhibits with extensive information.

SYMBOLS.com
[http://www.symbols.com/]
History, use, and meanings of thousands of Western signs and symbols. Graphic and word indexes. Based on Carl G. Luingman's Thought Signs.

UCLA E-Resources
[http://www2.library.ucla.edu/search/1486.cfm]
Selected internet Sources on various academic topics. A most comprehensive and thoughtfully organized collection of links.

Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
[http://virtualreligion.net/vri/]
Designed "to advance research in matters of religion," this cybercatalog "analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites." Developed at the Rutgers University Department of Religion, its coverage of the Christian Tradition is exemplary.

Voice of the Shuttle
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/]
Extensive links to every variety of Web site in the humanities, law, political science, anthropology, business and media studies.

Voice of the Shuttle: Art (Modern and Contemporary)
[http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2707]
Extremely rich server covers general resources, museums, galleries and exhibitions, auctions, artists and work by chronology, cartography, design, art and technology, and more.

Voices from the Gaps (University of Minnesota)
[http://voices.cla.umn.edu/]
Biographical and bibliographical articles on women writers of color from throughout the US. Searchable in several ways including by ethnic/racial identity.

Web Gallery of Art
[http://www.wga.hu/]
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture between the years 1150 and 1800. Artists Index, biographies, guided tours.

WebMuseum, Paris
[http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/]
Extensive image-based resources with rotating special exhibits available exclusively at the WebMuseum.

WetCanvas!
[http://www.wetcanvas.com/]
News and educational resource for visual artists. Art School online, tutorials, free virtual gallery space, product guides, competitions, exhibitions and workshops calendars, artlinks and chatroom.

World Art Treasures
[http://www.bergerfoundation.ch/]
The J.-E. Berger Foundation extensive slide database currently devoted to the art of J. Vermeer, Renaissance Gardens, S. Botticelli, Roman portraits from Egypt and much more.

World Wide Arts Resources
[http://www.wwar.com/]
Searchable site of one of the greatest museums of the world. Hundreds of high resolution, enlargeable images in a fast growing digital collection. Zoom in on details.

WWW Virtual Library
[http://www.vlib.us/]
Distributed subject catalog. Megasite, constantly updated.


The web version of this document can be found online at
http://library.hartford.edu/guides/guideprint.asp?subject=Art